We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for a long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sourwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sourwood Inn
Save
You added Sourwood Inn to your Saves list
810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy., Asheville, NC 28804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Sourwood Inn for 8 years. Every trip is an absolute delight. The innkeepers and their staff are exceptional. We feel so welcome and a part of their family. Dinner Thursday through Sunday is always fantastic with lots of local ingredients and great flavors. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for the nice words! We love your visits to Sourwood. Thank you to for encouraging your friends and family to come as well. Cheers until next time:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
106
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

When I travel, I always try for new experiences. I'm not the type of person that would go to the same place twice; however, I will need to make this place an exception. Off in the mountains, Sourwood is a great place to reconnect with your significant other while having the option of a short drive to Asheville. I love Asheville: It's a city with a lot to do without being too touristy, but you needn’t leave the inn. Sourwood is a gorgeous building. The staff was a perfect blend of helpful and friendly while preserving our 'couple time.' Our dinner there was excellent comparable to the nicest restaurants where I’ve eaten. The ONLY downside was that the two days we stayed it was over 100F. The second night our room was still over 80F at 3AM. When we go back, it will be in fall to take in the beautiful foliage and have a glass of wine by the fireplace.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello and Thank you so much for the nice review, especially on such an unusual weekend. The temperatures were crazy. We since have returned to more normal summer temps. We so appreciated all the great guests! We look forward to lighting the fireplaces for you in the fall.

Thank you!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottekill, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I spent the first week of June in Asheville, and we stayed at the Sourwood Inn. The inn is just as beautiful and well-maintained as the pictures look on their website. The Sourwood Inn is an unpretentious, arts and crafts style structure that blends beautifully with the environment. All of the rooms are filled with light, facing out into the surrounding woods. The place is so relaxing, whether you in your room, the living room, dining room, library, on one of the porches, or in any other room in this very special building. We always felt comfortable, cared for, and totally relaxed.

The owners and the staff were warm, helpful, and just plain delightful. Everything was so well thought out in designing this inn and setting it up, so we never felt the need to ask for anything; it had already been provided. We used the fireplace in our room almost every night; and it was great having a working fireplace across from our bed. My wife hasn’t slept this good in a long time.

The inn wasn’t far from the city center, yet you felt as if you were in another world, surrounded by nature, totally comfortable and relaxed. We recommend this wonderful place, and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay here and reconnecting with Asheville. We certainly enjoyed getting to know you both. THANK YOU!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have just returned home from a long weekend in Asheville, NC where we chose to stay at The Sourwood Inn because we enjoy the bed and breakfast atmosphere, and were intrigued by the reviews that we had read about this property. We arrived at the inn mid afternoon on a Thursday. The road up the mountain is indeed curvy, but not to the point of being scary, except perhaps at night or during inclement weather. We did not attempt it in either of those situations and found it to be scenic and lovely. Elizabeth greeted us when we arrived, checked us in, and showed us around the Inn. My husband and I stayed in Room 12 which had a small private hallway entrance which was great for setting up our evening cocktail bar and cooler for cold adult beverages. Our friends were on the other side of the staircase in Room 9. Both rooms had wood burning fireplaces which were set up each day for use again in the evening. There are no TV's or refrigerators in the rooms, no wifi on the property. It's very quiet and peaceful. Cellphone usage is limited to the point of being frustrating. Just don't bother! The bathrooms are amazing. The shower set up was my favorite EVER! There is a lounge area upstairs, and several areas downstairs for sitting, reading, relaxing, chatting, or just looking out into the woods. The breakfast is very good, and different each day, and not served until eight, which is perfect if you don't like getting up too early when you're away from home. There are two dinner seatings, at 6:30 and 7:30. Dinners were $30/pp and they post each morning (and on the web site) what will be served. If you like wine with dinner you need to bring your own. We got ours at the Ingles grocery store at the bottom of the hill on the way up. They have a good selection, and also carry all the local Biltmore wines. Be sure to check out the game room in the basement of the Inn. There is a pool table, ping pong table, dart board, and a flat screen TV. By the time we checked this area out we were over our need to watch TV.............I can't say enough nice things about Susan and her staff. Just amazing. And the building is beautiful, spacious and well planned out. We don't know when we will be back in Asheville, but cannot really imagine staying anywhere else. Autumn would be stunning there, when the leaves are changing........................

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you don't like stairs you might want to ask for room 1,2,3, or 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Wow! Thank you for for the nice review. Kind words like these are so helpful to Sourwood. Thanks for the new pictures too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Sourwood Inn is a beautiful, comfortable inn located in a beautiful location with a very warm and knowledgable owners and staff. Our second floor room was very roomy and comfortable with a balcony that looked out over the tree line to the Blue Ridge Mountains that are not far away. With the windows open cool breezes came through the windows and across our balcony all day and night. My wife and I wanted somewhere to kick back and relax and we found it, whether on our balcony or the ground floor porch in comfortable rocking chairs. The dinner on Sunday night was a pasta with a simple fresh and delicious sauce. The breakfasts were ample and delicious, especially the oatmeal pancakes. Adequate shopping and site seeing are nearby. Blue Ridge Parkway 10 minutes, Asheville-15 minutes, Hendersonville- 45 minutes, Saluda- 60 minutes, Weaverville-15 minutes, so you are not as isolated as you feel. The only negatives about the Sourwood Inn that I can think of is that dinner is only served on weekends so going and coming requires driving up or down very twisting roads that are not for the fainthearted after dark. It was very cool outside while we were there and I am not sure how comfortable it is in the hot summer months with no air conditioning.

Room Tip: the view of the mountains is not as good from the first floor rooms as the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

At the Sourwood, there is no wi fi and no televisions in the rooms. It is just you, your loved one and the beautiful inn and surroundings. We spend too much time half aware thanks to our pervasive "connectivity-orexia". Thank you Sourwood for allowing us to just "be" in such a wonderful place.

Jason and Nancy Bellush

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We loved having you stay at Sourwood. Please keep us up to date with your move. Go Catamounts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Beautiful public areas, rooms and location. A short drive to the center of Asheville and all things fun and interesting around Asheville. A short drive to the town of Weaverville for great food at Stoney Knob restaurant, Well-Bred Bakery, and Blue Mountain Pizza, as well as art and gift shops.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Manager at Sourwood Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for spreading the word! I am glad your stay was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sourwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourwood Inn

Address: 810 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy., Asheville, NC 28804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourwood Inn, constructed of cedar and trimmed with stone, sits on one hundred acres of hilly terrain at an elevation of 3,200 feet. Each of Sourwood Inn's guest rooms has a private balcony overlooking the Reems Creek Valley, a wood-burning fireplace, and a tub with a view. It was created to provide a retreat where our guests can experience the delights of the Blue Ridge and still easily access the arts and sophistication of downtown Asheville.Outdoor activities in the Asheville area include hiking, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, mountain biking, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourwood Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sourwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.