We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Biscuit Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Save
You added Sweet Biscuit Inn to your Saves list
77 Kenilworth Rd, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Weekday Discounts
Ranked #7 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great B&B Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend during our first visit to Asheville. We had a wonderful time, and couldn't have been more pleased with the Sweet Biscuit Inn.

Our hosts were so gracious and accommodating! The food served at breakfast every morning was so delicious! They offered several suggestions for things to do around Asheville. Also, with no curfew limits and your own key to the house, it was very easy to come and go as you please.

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The house has a lot of charm and character, and is very close to downtown Asheville and other attractions. We weren't sure what to expect, having never stayed at a B&B before, but our expectations were exceeded by far! If we ever make it over to Asheville, we will definitely stay at the Sweet Buscuit Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jake L,
thank you for taking the time to write a review, we very much appreciate it.
It was a pleasure to watch how you enjoyed exploring Asheville, and we were glad to help finding the interesting places. All the best for the "big change" in April, and we will welcome you all back, when everything is settled.
Take care,
Claudia and Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    30
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
112
174
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I recently stayed at the Sweet Biscuit Inn for a weekend away and the entire experience was excellent. Claudia's cooking was such a wonderful treat that we vetoed brunch options in town in favor of her offerings. She and Christian both were accommodating and generous hosts allowing just the right balance between over-friendly and intrusive. Their house is beautiful, clean and quiet, everything we were looking for in a bed and breakfast. I would highly recommend staying here and enjoying a cup of coffee in the large leather chairs on the stair landing. We had a fantastic trip, due in large part to the Sweet Biscuit Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear m0rgatr0n,
thank you so much for choosing the Sweet Biscuit Inn as your "Meeting Point" and for writing this wonderful review! We so much enjoyed having you, and watching you experiencing Asheville.
Hopefully next time we can have a glass of wine on the porch together.
Take care,
Christian and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This is going to be a long review but I cannot make it concise and still tell you about all of the little details and extra touches that make Sweet Biscuit Inn exceptional.

My toddler son has a heart defect and we are very careful about where we stay and we do not go on trips without him. Imagine my surprise when I found a B&B within a weekend getaway distance that was part of an article by the Today Show and it stated that it catered to children. Most B&Bs do not allow them or they have to be over 12 or 14 years of age. Our son is a good traveler but he can occasionally cry at night in a new place so I first contacted Christian and Claudia about rooms and explained that we didn't want to bother other patrons and what would be a good room choice. They got back to us promptly and even offered a bigger room at the lower price (because it was off-season and not too busy__super bowl Sunday weekend) to accommodate our son.

After speaking to them about birthday arrangements for my husband, they were extremely nice taking my reservation over the phone. They even delayed their outing to a function to get my payment information.

The day of our arrival, Christian called us to ask of our approximate arrival time and to let us know he would be there to show us the house.

Upon arrival, we found that we were minutes from everything at Biltmore village and downtown but we were away from the busy roads and in a residential neighborhood. It made it feel as if we were just visiting friends at a new home.

Christian greeted us and made sure to speak to our son and treat him just as much as a valued guest (that is high on my list of positives). There was some remodeling going on and he apologized for some materials on the porch but I didn't notice with all of the great seating on one side and the smell of homemade chocolate chip cookies at the door. Because of the remodeling, Christian had again upgraded us to room 7 (the bird song suite) and it was perfect. You are greeted by a large staircase as you enter the home and at the top of the landing, you are welcomed with huge windows, a grand piano, ceiling to floor bookshelves, two large leather seats and a bench seat with stuffed animals for young readers. Up another small set of stairs from the library area, was our suite. The house was built in 1915 and it still has the old world charm mixed with modern conveniences. I especially liked the windows and the pull chain light sconces.

As we entered our suite, the door held a blackboard sign that welcomed our family. We walked into a cozy room with high windows and ceilings, gorgeous area rug, and comfy seating. The bathroom had a large claw foot tub that made it feel as if it were my birthday instead of my husbands. The tub had a waterfall shower head that was as decadent as the tub. Claudia and Christian had added two, rubber duckies for Ryan to play with in the bath.
The first room had a large closet with wooden shelves and hangers. It had a bookshelf with books for us and children's books for Ryan. They had wooden puzzles and cars and all sorts of toddler-appropriate things in this room. They had a child-size wooden chair with a teddy bear. The pack-n-play crib was set up with several fluffy blankets and linens. (Compare this to a hotel we stayed in over Christmas that didn't give us the crib we reserved upon booking until we asked for it and then they just brought it to us in a bag unassembled....and no linens to go with it.)

Our bedroom had a nice queen bed with lovely furniture and six windows to allow for lots of natural light. Each room had a flat screen tv. The room had two maps of Asheville, a list of popular restaurants and notes on their cuisine and whether or not you should call ahead for reservations. They also included a list of attractions and a separate list of child-friendly attractions. On that list, they mentioned they had a game closet and playground on their premises for children and gave directions to two parks that were in walking distance from the house.

Many reviews have commented on the scrumptious breakfast and I am afraid mere words can't compliment it enough. However, it was the small touches that made a big difference for me. They had eight different types of tea to choose from. They had fresh flowers and candles lit each morning with soothing classical music playing in the background. They had a high chair with pooh dishes and silverware for Ryan and he dined on fruit while we had a decadent three-course meal service. The host inquired if we had any plans and if he could be of service answering questions. When our son got tired of sitting at the table, Claudia and Christian both got some wooden toys from the lobby and sat down to play with him briefly between serving courses. The breakfast courses were completely different each morning. Our last morning was my husband's birthday. They had a special red candle lit at his place. When the third course breakfast arrived, they had a small candle accent to commemorate his special day. My husband doesn't like to call attention to himself on his birthday or any other day but it was just enough attention to make him feel valued and I appreciated it greatly. When our son became restless, Claudia compelled us to stay and take our time and enjoy our meal and she took Ryan to play with a wooden train and puzzles in the foyer.
Finally, I would like to comment on their politeness. Christian gave us our bill the day before we left stating his apologies that he would be going out of town and that he would not be able to tell us goodbye. He thanked us and said goodbye as if we were friends visiting his home instead of a paid guest. Also, our son got sick for the first time on the way home from an outing. This was the first time he had vomited ever and he was very scared. After bathing him and cleaning our car, he was sick again on the bed. Claudia was very polite about it and gave us trash bags for our car and took the soiled linens without complaint. He seemed to just have some food that didn't agree with him and was over the nausea quickly but she checked on us later and made the bed with new linens when we went out to dinner.

If you just want a place to land after going out, get a hotel room but if you want something special and be treated like royalty, go to the Sweet Biscuit Inn. My only caution is that you may find it hard to leave your room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear bcre8tiv,
THANK YOU - it's hard to find words for your wonderful and outstanding review! Thank you for taking the time, even during your stay, to memorize all the details. Nothing was too much or hard to do, because you and your "two men" were delightful to have, and a joy to talk with. Ryan was a pleasure to have, he is so interested and well educated. I know this week is difficult for you, and we keep our fingers crossed that everything went well, and no further surgery is necessary.
Hopefully we will see you coming back in a warmer season where Ryan can enjoy the playground and the yard.
All the very best, thinking of you,
Claudia and Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I booked two nights at the Sweet Biscuit Inn as my boyfriend's Christmas gift, and we both had a great time. Claudia and Christian were fantastic hosts and gave us some great tips about where to eat and visit around Asheville. Both breakfasts were delicious, but we especially liked Claudia's crepes! I would absolutely recommend this B&B to other people!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Rachaelwonderlin,

thank you for your warm words. We enjoyed having you and we were glad to "put the bow on your gift" with the two room suite. Hopefully you can manage to come in a warmer season, when you can sit on the porch and enjoy the southern feeling.
Stay warm and healthy,
Claudia and Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our first visit to this inn with the new owners was delightful. Their renovations to the décor are lovely. The entire inn is cozy and welcoming. Our room was spacious, creatively decorated and comfortable. Christian greeted us warmly upon arrival and succinctly offered useful dining advice. At breakfast the next morning he offered maps and helpful tips on area attractions. The inn is located in a charming and quiet residential neighborhood but just minutes away from downtown and the Biltmore House. Claudia's breakfasts are unsurpassed. Table side crepe service is just one of the highlights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear MGandC,
how nice of you to take the time and write the review, thank you so much.
It was great to host you and to see how much you contributed to the discussions at the breakfast table.
Thank you for choosing the Sweet Biscuit Inn and we hope you can manage to come back soon.
Take care, stay warm,
Christian and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Sweet Biscuit Inn on a last minute visit to check out Asheville and felt so welcome there. The hosts were so attentive to our every need. They were very helpful with some of the spots we wanted to check out and suggestions too.Great location to get around anywhere there. The room was lovely and the breakfasts are divine,I truly wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear csueann,
thank you for taking the time to write the review. We enjoyed supporting you both to get to know Asheville and seeing how much you enjoyed it.
Hopefully it won't be too long till we see you again.
All the best,
Christian and Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I spent four days in Asheville as a mini-vacation after Christmas to celebrate our anniversary. We loved everything about Sweet Biscuit Inn - the hosts were delightful and available but never intrusive; the house was beautiful and the rooms were comfortable; the breakfasts were delicious! They even kept some items for us in their freezer and prepared a nice tray for our anniversary, much more than we expected! You can tell they really enjoy their house and having a BnB, and that made us enjoy our stay even more. If we are in Asheville again, we'll definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia and Chr... H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Andrea H,
thank you for choosing the Sweet Biscuit Inn to celebrate your anniversary! We were glad to complete your diligent planning and help to make your stay special.
Hopefully the time will pass quick till we see you again,
all the best,
Claudia and Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Biscuit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Biscuit Inn

Address: 77 Kenilworth Rd, Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sweet Biscuit Inn is an elegant seven-bedroom Bed and Breakfast Inn with a Carriage House located in Asheville, North Carolina's quiet wooded neighborhood of Kenilworth. Centrally located, this magnificent 1915 Colonial Revival home offers lodging with urban sophistication and a flair for comfort and friendliness. Our B&B lodging is only 1 1/2 miles south of downtown Asheville's shops, galleries, restaurants and cafes, and only a 1/2 mile north of the Biltmore Estate entrance. The Sweet Biscuit Inn is convenient to all of Asheville's attractions. Whether you are visiting Asheville for the diverse cultural charm, the opulence of the Biltmore Estate, or the spectacular Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina, your visit with us will make you smile. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Biscuit Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.