We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Biscuit Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Save
You added Sweet Biscuit Inn to your Saves list
77 Kenilworth Rd., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inn-sider’s Holiday Pass
Ranked #8 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend away about a year ago. This was a wonderful place to stay! We chose it in the first place because we don't like 'frilly' B&Bs, which so many of them seem to be. The house is simply but stylishly furnished; we didn't feel like we were in our Grandma's house. Our hosts, Claudia and Christian were perky and accommodating. Our room was the perfect size, impeccably clean, and very comfortable. The only thing that could have made our stay better would have been a full shower in the room we had (I think we chose the most simple room offered). It was a tub with a 'hand shower'. It got the job done, but a full shower would have been great. That said, we would definitely, definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    28
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
158
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Upon arriving we were greeted warmly by Christian and shown to our beautiful room. There were homemade cookies and hot tea available any time of the day and evening which made our stay very homey and comfortable. Christian and Claudia provided lots of information about things to do in the area even sharing their favorite antique store with us, which we loved. We were spoiled by a delicious breakfast each morning that was both delicious and abundant. We look forward to visiting again and would heartily encourage our friends to stay at the Sweet Bisuit Inn. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We loved the title of your review: "Relaxing in peace" is what we are constantly trying to offer to our house guests. It is always a huge pleasure to us if we know we succeeded.

Sharing with our guests what we love about the Asheville area is what is supposed to make a B&B stay special. We are glad to learn that we apparently appreciate the same things. And to serve culinary delights to someone like you who visibly enjoyed fine food is an added benefit to US, your hosts.

We look forward to hosting you again -- and your friends.

Thank you so much for your review,
Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My room was lovely, well appointed and spotlessly tidy. Upon my arrival later than expected, I was given lists of restaurants which would still be open - both on paper and by the owner as well. Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of food and filled me up until afternoon. I sat with a lovely couple over breakfast and thus, it was truly the entirety of whole bed and breakfast experience. I plan on going back to stay again in the future and would highly recommend the Sweet Biscuit Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

We are so happy that our efforts to make your stay with us a plesant one worked for you. It has been a pleasure to have you as a guest and to spoil you for breakfast. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you for being so clear in recommending the Sweet Biscuit Inn to other travelers!

Kind regards,
Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Claudia and Christian were the greatest host any one could ever ask for. They helped us make the most of our days there. The Sweet Biscuit Inn is one of the greatest B&B experiences I have ever had. My girlfriend and I were just blown away by the attention we received from our hosts.I Breakfast in the morning was exquisite and involved three AMAZING courses with more than you could possibly take in, well worth getting up early for.
Room #3 was very spacious for two and included a lovely private bathroom with a tub and, yes, a rubber ducky. The location of the Sweet Biscuit Inn is convenient; with the Biltmore Estates and downtown less than a five minute drive away. I hesitated as well looking for B&B for our trip and all I have to say is..."STOP HESITATING" :-). The Sweet Biscuit Inn is well worth the money and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Room #3 is not considered their largest room but we found it suffice for a couple. Very Private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for the stars! We're glad that you and your lovely fiancee (!) had such a wonderful stay, and were especially flattered to read your compliments about our breakfast. That's one part we put a lot of passion into, and your kind words are affirmation of all our hard work.

We're glad that you decided to stay with us, and hope that you'll come back sometime soon—no hesitations! Thanks again, and take care.

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The inn keepers are very nice people and they are doing a lot good work with the upkeep of the building and keeping things pleasant. I came here for an interview - the program paid for my stay. A lot of us where there, which can be overwhelming. However, our breakfast was a biscuit, fruit salad, granola and a sweet bun. No protein!! Little coffee!! Bad bun!! I was starving after breakfast and barely survived my interview.

Suggestion: breakfast that includes eggs, perhaps a meat (and little bits of bacon in a bun doesn't not count as 'meat') and coffee available throughout the day...this had been my experience in other b&bs and have made the trip pleasant. Otherwise, I'll stay at the hampton inn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Doctoring,

We are saddened and appalled that you felt your breakfast experience alone gave you no other choice than to give us an overall “poor” rating. Our ultimate goal is to provide a pleasant B&B experience to our guests, and the other generally most positive TripAdvisor reviews made us believe we were on a good track.

You were aware that you were an invited guest whose entire stay was paid for by the hosting “Mountain Area Health Education Center”—at a dramatically reduced rate, I may add, serving as our contribution to assuring sufficient supply of qualified family practitioners to the region. MAHEC also determined the scope and extent of our services. We are providing exactly what they had requested: a light, but tasty and hearty breakfast that can be taken in a relatively short time. Most of the candidates we are hosting are way too nervous or tired at 7:15am to take our habitual sumptuous three-course breakfast, so what MAHEC ordered seems to be perfectly adapted. More so, when we clear the table we usually see plenty of left-overs. And we know that candidates are being served a second breakfast at 10:30am for the first interview break.

For other readers I need to correct some of the factual misrepresentations in your review. What you have been served was a copious amount of home-made biscuits, some plain to go with the home-made fruit preserves we put on the table, some with bacon in them. We cater to the fact that an unusually high number of young MAHEC candidates request a vegetarian diet. To the side you found large bowls with fresh seasonal fruit cut into a fruit salad the same morning, and home-made granola from organic rolled oats that came out of the oven just the night before. And for desert we freshly bake generous amounts of sticky buns, again made from entirely organic ingredients. Yes, there were no eggs and meat patties, but that has not been asked for. When we cleared the table after YOUR breakfast, more than half of what we had served was still left.

And for beverages we serve “endless” amounts of Italian coffee (we keep brewing until everyone is gone), orange juice and a collection of 11 different flavors of tea, including a decaffeinated variant. We fail to understand you complaint about the lack of “coffee available throughout the day”. You were at the inn only a few nightly hours, so you could not even know that we do offer tea and coffee whenever desired.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you our famous 3-course gourmet breakfasts at the occasion of a regular, non-interview visit in the future.

Sincerely,
Christian Hickl, Owner
Claudia Hickl, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are a family of 4 who recently had our 2nd stay here. We 1st learned of the inn after reading this article: http://todaytravel.today.com/_news/2012/07/17/12773533-bed-and-breakfasts-are-for-kids-too?lite

Having 2 small children we were excited to see that family-friendly B&Bs exist, and that one was only an hour and a half away in one of our favorite cities to visit. We booked our 1st stay for October 2012 for 2 nights in room #7, which is perfect for a family of 4 with the 2 rooms.

Our 2nd stay was for 3 nights over the New Year holiday, and joining us were a set of grandparents from out of state (we bragged so much after the October visit they wanted to check it out). We reserved room #7 again and also room #6 for the grandparents. This was a perfect arrangement, as the rooms are right across from each other and even offer a hallway door so we could shut ourselves off from the rest of the inn but leave our doors open to walk back and forth between the 2 rooms. We considered the carriage house, but I think this arrangement worked better because it gave us 2 bathrooms instead of 1 for everyone to share, it gave us some time away from the grandparents, and it allowed us to enjoy the inn itself.

The breakfast each morning of both visits was amazing! Claudia definitely has a talent for cooking! We have some food preferences and they were more than accommodating to those needs. Christian is a terrific host. You couldn't ask for better service than from both of them.

The inn is truly accommodating for children/families. They had kid-friendly cups and utensils, fun rubber ducks in the bathrooms, the trundle bed was perfect, toys and kids books throughout the inn, and a playground outside. Our kids loved the visits and want to go back again!

Location of the inn is excellent.....minutes from the Biltmore Village, Biltmore Estate, and downtown Asheville. Christian is also very good at recommending restaurants for your other meals and even has a list printed up in the room for you.

One possible suggestion would be mini-fridges in the rooms. One of our children is on a medicine that needs to be kept in the fridge, and they were gracious enough to allow us to use their fridge and access it whenever we needed it, which we appreciated. But the kitchen is technically an employee only area, and really this is their home, so I felt bad that we did have to intrude in their space to keep up with the medicine. It would also be nice to keep a couple of bottles of water or drinks cool in the room, especially with kids. A stronger wi-fi signal would also be good. But these are suggestions, not complaints, because we love it! We hope to visit many times over the years! We're very grateful to have stumbled across that article!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. M,

Thank you so much for your positive and kind review! We are impressed that you were willing to spend the time for such a detailed description of your stay with us.

Let me assure you that the pleasure to have you was entirely ours. Not only were we happy to greet you as returning guests, we were particularly delighted to get to meet your parents. With your continued friendliness you all displayed you make it easy for any host to provide any service you need and deserve.

Thank you for your extra suggestions; they fall on open ears. In fact, the mini-fridge idea is something we are already working on. And I will look into strengthening our Wi-Fi signal.

Given your words we are looking forward to many happy returns of your family to the inn, and we are hopeful for Lorick that he will be able to enjoy his next stay without the need for medication.

All the best,
Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My family had a wonderful stay at the inn just before Christmas. The location was great to take advantage of the Asheville attractions. The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was wonderful esp the crepes! Claudia and Christian were very welcoming and were esp welcoming to our 8 year old son. We hope to visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We hope you'll visit again, too! It was a treat hosting you and your family just before Christmas, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience with others. Little Aidan in particular was a pleasure to have around. Thank you so much, and take care!

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Biscuit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Biscuit Inn

Address: 77 Kenilworth Rd., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sweet Biscuit Inn is a comfortable seven bedroom Bed and Breakfast Inn with a Carriage House located in Asheville, North Carolina's quiet wooded neighborhood of Kenilworth. Centrally located, this magnificent 1915 Colonial Revival home offers lodging with urban sophistication and a flair for comfort and friendliness. Our B&B lodging is only 1 1/2 miles south of downtown Asheville's shops, galleries, restaurants and cafes, and only a 1/2 mile north of the Biltmore Estate entrance. The Sweet Biscuit Inn is convenient to all of Asheville's attractions. Whether you are visiting Asheville for the diverse cultural charm, the opulence of the Biltmore Estate, or the spectacular Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina, your visit with us will make you smile. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Biscuit Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.