We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Great Experiences!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Biscuit Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Save Saved
You added Sweet Biscuit Inn to your Saves list
77 Kenilworth Rd., Asheville, NC 28803   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Upgraded, Remodeled Baths
Ranked #10 of 42 Asheville B&B and Inns
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 Great Experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We are a family of 4 who recently had our 2nd stay here. We 1st learned of the inn after reading this article: http://todaytravel.today.com/_news/2012/07/17/12773533-bed-and-breakfasts-are-for-kids-too?lite

Having 2 small children we were excited to see that family-friendly B&Bs exist, and that one was only an hour and a half away in one of our favorite cities to visit. We booked our 1st stay for October 2012 for 2 nights in room #7, which is perfect for a family of 4 with the 2 rooms.

Our 2nd stay was for 3 nights over the New Year holiday, and joining us were a set of grandparents from out of state (we bragged so much after the October visit they wanted to check it out). We reserved room #7 again and also room #6 for the grandparents. This was a perfect arrangement, as the rooms are right across from each other and even offer a hallway door so we could shut ourselves off from the rest of the inn but leave our doors open to walk back and forth between the 2 rooms. We considered the carriage house, but I think this arrangement worked better because it gave us 2 bathrooms instead of 1 for everyone to share, it gave us some time away from the grandparents, and it allowed us to enjoy the inn itself.

The breakfast each morning of both visits was amazing! Claudia definitely has a talent for cooking! We have some food preferences and they were more than accommodating to those needs. Christian is a terrific host. You couldn't ask for better service than from both of them.

The inn is truly accommodating for children/families. They had kid-friendly cups and utensils, fun rubber ducks in the bathrooms, the trundle bed was perfect, toys and kids books throughout the inn, and a playground outside. Our kids loved the visits and want to go back again!

Location of the inn is excellent.....minutes from the Biltmore Village, Biltmore Estate, and downtown Asheville. Christian is also very good at recommending restaurants for your other meals and even has a list printed up in the room for you.

One possible suggestion would be mini-fridges in the rooms. One of our children is on a medicine that needs to be kept in the fridge, and they were gracious enough to allow us to use their fridge and access it whenever we needed it, which we appreciated. But the kitchen is technically an employee only area, and really this is their home, so I felt bad that we did have to intrude in their space to keep up with the medicine. It would also be nice to keep a couple of bottles of water or drinks cool in the room, especially with kids. A stronger wi-fi signal would also be good. But these are suggestions, not complaints, because we love it! We hope to visit many times over the years! We're very grateful to have stumbled across that article!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Owner at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. M,

Thank you so much for your positive and kind review! We are impressed that you were willing to spend the time for such a detailed description of your stay with us.

Let me assure you that the pleasure to have you was entirely ours. Not only were we happy to greet you as returning guests, we were particularly delighted to get to meet your parents. With your continued friendliness you all displayed you make it easy for any host to provide any service you need and deserve.

Thank you for your extra suggestions; they fall on open ears. In fact, the mini-fridge idea is something we are already working on. And I will look into strengthening our Wi-Fi signal.

Given your words we are looking forward to many happy returns of your family to the inn, and we are hopeful for Lorick that he will be able to enjoy his next stay without the need for medication.

All the best,
Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    25
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
91
134
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My family had a wonderful stay at the inn just before Christmas. The location was great to take advantage of the Asheville attractions. The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was wonderful esp the crepes! Claudia and Christian were very welcoming and were esp welcoming to our 8 year old son. We hope to visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We hope you'll visit again, too! It was a treat hosting you and your family just before Christmas, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience with others. Little Aidan in particular was a pleasure to have around. Thank you so much, and take care!

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great find! Christian was great and Claudia is wonderful in the kitchen. Breakfast was delicious and a relaxing treat! Only complaint would be the rooms which could be outfitted with warmer comforters, etc for these cold months!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We're glad you found us! It was a treat for us to host you, and we appreciate you continuing to lend your support for us with such a great review. The comfort of our guests is our number one concern, so we'll certainly heed your feedback about the comforters too. We hope to welcome you back soon! Until then, take care.

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I had our first bed and breakfast experience at the Sweet Biscuit Inn. We went mainly to go to the Biltmore for the Christmas experience:) We loved our stay at the SBI! It was so neat to stay in such a "homey" environment. Christian and Claudia were wonderful hosts who treated us like old friends. We stayed in Room 5..I specifically picked it out for it's decor and it was awesome. We felt like we were staying with family there. The breakfast was amazing..um...you get dessert at breakfast!!! We are still talking about our Nutella crepes we got on Sunday:) Thanks Christian and Claudia! We can't wait to come back and bring others to enjoy SBI and Asheville!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
You're welcome, Crystal! We're pleased that we could make your first-ever B&B experience a wonderful one. Amiable guests like you and Brooke make it easy on us to treat you like friends and family. The pleasure was entirely ours.

Good call picking Room 5, too. We know we shouldn't pick favorites, but it's definitely one of ours.

Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again! Until then, take care.

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friend and I decided on an impromptu getaway for a Friday night in Asheville. We chose Sweet Biscuit based soley on the reviews and the kindness of the owner, Christian. His follow up by email was very friendly and very patient as we worked out the logistics of our short trip. We were able to check in early and get the most out of the little time we had to spend. The inn was beautiful - cozy and original. The bed was wonderful! The breakfast the next morning was beyond words. Claudia, Christian's wife, was kind enough to let me have access to the coffee early! Her cooking skills were not only great but a joy to watch as she made us real french crepes right in the dining room. It was like art in motion. So much fun and would definitely stay again! Thank you both so so much.

Room Tip: The bed in room #5 was fantastic to sleep in - the bathroom was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
You're truly welcome, Mindy! We're glad that you and Judy decided to join us, as it was truly a treat having you both here. Did you get a chance to explore some of the downtown area? Thank you so much for the lovely review. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raeford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My mother and sister shared the Birdsong Suite while visiting over the Thanksgiving holiday. They had a wonderful visit and I had such peace of mind knowing that they were being treated so good and had such a fabulous place to stay. Making reservations was so easy and Claudia and Christian were the perfect hosts. My daughter and her husband live right down the street from the inn and her house was full, this was perfect for quiet time and rest but close enough to be part of all the boisterousness of the family holiday fun. We felt like we were neighbors! What a great addition to the Kenilworth neighborhood. So close to downtown and Biltmore House. Mom's car never left the driveway for 4 days!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the five-star review! It was a treat welcoming in your family, and we are pleased to hear that they enjoyed their stay. It was an exceptional joy for us hosting these lovely ladies! We appreciate you sharing their terrific experience with others. It means a lot to us! Until next time, take care.

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As a military family, we lived in Europe awhile..Fell in love with the mountains, pace of life, charm, flavor of Europe...What a blessing to find Sweet Biscuit Inn, right in the heart of Asheville with that "European" charm.The couple, Claudia and Christian who host and own the Inn, welcomed us as if we were family, it was wonderful..We spent 4 nights there and from our spacious windowed rooms, the view awesome of mountains and the beautiful neighborhood..Breakfast was awesome and different each morning, extra special there too was the biscuits and cookies.."to die for"..Wonderful conversations at breakfast with other guests, also Claudia and Christian shared their information and hopes of life too with us...I want to go back just to rest and read their many books and explore the Inn..I feel like I left "family" there and had a touch of "Old European Charm" with Claudia and Christian, go and enjoy any season as each is "dressed" up so differently...Ruby C.

Room Tip: We had an up stairs, very spacious, suite with many windows, sun was wonderful in the rooms...the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, Christian, Owner & Claudia, Owner & Chef at Sweet Biscuit Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful, five-star review Ruby! You were definitely the star of that weekend at the Sweet Biscuit Inn. We enjoyed hosting you and Coleen, and are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay.

We're glad that you fell in love with Asheville, as we look forward to welcoming you back. Lots of books to be read, after all! Thanks again, and take care.

Best wishes,

Christian, Owner
Claudia, Owner & Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Biscuit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Biscuit Inn

Address: 77 Kenilworth Rd., Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sweet Biscuit Inn is a comfortable seven bedroom Bed and Breakfast Inn with a Carriage House located in Asheville, North Carolina's quiet wooded neighborhood of Kenilworth. Centrally located, this magnificent 1915 Colonial Revival home offers lodging with urban sophistication and a flair for comfort and friendliness. Our B&B lodging is only 1 1/2 miles south of downtown Asheville's shops, galleries, restaurants and cafes, and only a 1/2 mile north of the Biltmore Estate entrance. The Sweet Biscuit Inn is convenient to all of Asheville's attractions. Whether you are visiting Asheville for the diverse cultural charm, the opulence of the Biltmore Estate, or the spectacular Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina, your visit with us will make you smile. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Biscuit Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.