We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pizza & full menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
50 Broadway Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
(828) 236-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good pizza & full menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stopped for lunch and split one of their small pizzas and I had a bottle of Jamaican style extra ginger ale. Coming from NY we usually are not happy with the pizza crust when we travel, but this was very good, medium thick, and crispy. Nice seating inside or outside right on Broadway where all the shops are. The menu offers a nice selection of items and if we go back I would happily try another choice from the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    150
    41
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Incredible Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a great funky restaurant with some of the best pizza I have ever tried. I sat on the patio under a beautiful spring day in Asheville and enjoyed some great local music, cold Pinot Grigio and incredible pizza. The service was a pretty slow but the pizza was well worth the wait.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Recently had lunch at Mellow Mushroom. Had a great meatball sandwich. My friend had the cheesesteak. We both loved the food. Good iced tea too! Will definitely return next time!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Costa Rica
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lots of fun with our large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was great pizza, and a really fun atmosphere. We had a VERY large group, 22 people or so, and they handled it beautifully. We all enjoyed the great and creative pizza options and the decor was super fun. I would highly recommend a meal here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We came with a group of 19, and our server was awesome! We were seated fairly quickly, within 10 minutes, and with a large group, that isn't so common anywhere unless you call ahead. The restaurant was busy, with people sitting inside and outside. The live music added a great vibe. Our food was ready in a timely manner, all delicious. Will definitely be back next time we're in Asheville.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.