We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pizza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
50 Broadway Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
(828) 236-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 626 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The pizza was decent - good but not extraordinary. Good beer selection. One night the service was mediocre and they even misled us on pizza sizes, causing us to order more than we needed. The next night the service was great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    178
    126
    40
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“clean? not so much”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Allows dogs on the patio, which is nice. Waitress rubbed my dog and laughed, "I'm not supposed to handle the dogs without washing my hands"... not such a good policy to announce you are breaking with. Pizza was slow (>30 minutes), messy which I imagine people think means handcrafted and pretty average. Staff was spacey/inattentive to us (though the dog did all right). Kids had two sodas before the salad was served. Refills were brought to them without asking. Won't be back even though we are local.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delish Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Our server Gretchen was awesome. Best pizza I've ever had. Amazing beer and drink selection. Can't wait to come back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just wish they had one closer to me in in the south Orlando area..... Frequent the Asheville, NC location a lot when in town there, and also one in Peachtree City, GA, when visiting family there. The crust is just awesome, and I love the big assortment of pies. Their marinara sauce is yummy and we always have to order the garlic bread with the sauce on the side. YUM! Funky, fun, and fabulous pizza!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best pizza crust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had never eaten at one so we gave it a try. We dined outside on a beautiful October evening and they were quite busy. Service was a bit slow and refills were slower but it was vacation so not a big deal. We split a pie with half pepperoni and onion and half mushroom and onion. We're talking very good pizza. The onions appeared to be sauted and plenty of everything else but the star of the show was the crust. We have been known to leave the outer crust when doing pizza but we enjoyed every bite of this. The secret appeared to be buttering it and applying parmesan after coming out of the oven. Who knew that could make such a difference? We don't have one close to us but if we see one when traveling we'll definitely cruise in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.