We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a Super 8. Modest. Somewhat out-of-the-way but fine.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Asheville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Asheville to your Saves list
Super 8 Asheville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   180 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805 (Formerly Ramada Limited)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Its a Super 8. Modest. Somewhat out-of-the-way but fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Its a Super 8 like all others. It took us about 20 minutes to check in because the reception was unmaned and it took a guy 20 minutes to show up. We parked in the rear so that our car was below the room - we were on a room in the rear in the back. I would have preferred a room in the front, because the rear is slightly isolated and I was less than certain of the guests on the ground floor. But there was no issue - my car was full of stuff. I prefer the parking in the front, so I parked there on the 2nd day.

Cheaper hotels in Asheville are in this neighborhood. We wanted to see Chimney Rock, which is about 30 minutes away. For that, I would have preferred a hotel closer to the place, but this was the cheapest place. The entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway is not far away, about 3 miles which was perfect for me after I had checked out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    186
    84
    18
    12
See reviews for
131
171
48
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Our room was VERY dark and dingy compared to the room photos on the website. Also, service is pretty poor... there were several times we called the front desk during normal business hours and nobody answered. Also, the wireless service is TERRIBLE... it constantly crashes, is very slow, and does not work with most browsers. The best thing about this hotel is that the provided breakfast is better than what most budget motels offer. We booked this hotel during a promotion, so I feel like it was ok for the price we paid, but I would not pay over $55 per night to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

While not terrible, even for a low rate hotel this one really lacked. The toilet was not attached to the floor and wobbled. It is a noisy location made worse by someone parking a motorcycle outside our door. I've stayed at worse places but this one certainly is near the bottom. If I were you I'd spend a little extra money and stay somewhere else. You'll be glad you did. I wish we did.
However, the guy at the front desk when we checked in was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011 via mobile

Very nasty from the carpet to the bathrooms, and no service ice machines.
Very poor water pressure ( can't even wash hands ).
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed here on my way to Orlando, Florida. Got there kind of late, but there were plenty of rooms available. Quiet and comfortable. No noise what so ever, considering it was just off the highway. Will stay again if needed

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

My king smoking room was large and the TV offered about 70 channels. It had no easy chair. The bath/toilet area was arranged very oddly--the toilet and bath were crammed into one side of the small area, while the tiolet paper was on the opposite side--if you needed to use it and didn't have the arms of a gorilla, you risked falling off the stool! The shower head did not deliver a good quantity of water and it was not terribly hot. Bathroom linens were elderly but certainly sufficient and absorbent. The continental breakfast was sketchy--cereal, bagels and toast only--but there was a plentiful supply of breakfast beverages and they offer a discount coupon for a nearby IHOP, if one likes that kind of thing. The location on the east side of town was somewhat inconvenient but Asheville is small enough that this was not a major issue. There is no pool. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Over all, this is a decent place to stay and good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010 via mobile

Really clean and well taken care of for this kind of hotel. Awseome location with lots of restaurants, etc. close by. Only one exit from downtown. Ask for a room on the backside away from the road noise. The mex restaurant next to the hotel looks good but we wanted something more eccentric. IT IS ASHEVILLE AFTER ALL!! --grin-- Tip: Rosetta's is a veggie restaurant one exit away from this location. Drive is 5 minutes MAX and the place looks like San Francisco. Get the miso broth.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Asheville

Address: 180 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#17 Business Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#23 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Asheville Hotel Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.