We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was wonderful. Very clean, beds were wonderful and bath room was amazing. Etched glass doors for the toilet area and for the shower. Huge bathtub as well. Located within walking distance of the Biltmore Village, I didn't eat at the restaurant but had a nice smoothie and muffin for breakfast.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room away from the main street side of the building...can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    161
    70
    30
    9
See reviews for
104
412
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Conveniently located in Biltmore Village, this very cool hotel is just steps from shopping, dining and art galleries. The decor is funky- European hunting lodge decor. Antlers abound. The room presented a comfortable king size bed with the amenties that you would expect in a high end hotel; coffeemaker, safe, expensive water bottles and a large television. The bathroom was roomy with a great shower and a large tub. If however, you chose to use their bubble bath the price tag was $20. I resisted the urge. We thoroughly enjoyed dining in the Red Stag restaurant for both dinner and breakfast- very good food and service. If you are planning to visit Biltmore Estates you couldn't ask for a better location. One small issue.... the train comes through at 3 a.m. and it sounds like it is bed with you.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was here for a meeting in June and wow! I travel a lot for business and this was a great hotel. Very clean spacious rooms, fantastic bathroom with jetted tub and separate shower. Bed was extremely comfortable with great linens and towels. The staff was great, always very polite and asking if you need anything. The bar and restaurant in the lobby has great food, cocktails and selection of beer. Also the hotel is located right outside the Biltmore and within walking distance to shoppes and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Grand Bohemian is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. From the moment we arrived, every staff member we encountered displayed genuine southern hospitality. The hotel is the opposite of every cookie cutter hotel we've stayed in. It is done in a European hunting lodge motif with hunting trophies everywhere. The hotel is decorated with original artwork. Suraces are covered in stone and rustic woods. Our room was large and had both a soaking tub and a tile lined shower. The bed was delightful and the AC barely audible.

My only complaint is that the hotel has busy roads on each side and some of the noise does intrude into the room. We use a white noise app in hotels which drowned out the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We could not help but notice that you have completed 97 reviews on TripAdvisor and must travel often so we are very appreciative of you saying that Grand Bohemian Hotel is one of the nicest hotels you have stayed in. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Asheville. Have a wonderful July 4th weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were a little surprised to have a room located in an 'annex' building across the street from the main building, but excited nonetheless. Other than the obvious hassles associated with valet service and parking...it was kind of nice being out of the mainstream of a bustling hotel. Beware and ask which building your room is prior to booking it. Top notch service, comfortable bed, and pleasantly surprising room amenities. No train horns, whistles, or rumblings on our 3 night stay, but we were gone all day and not facing the tracks.

Room Tip: Ask which building and where room window faces to ensure a pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, In
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a corner suite for this hotel and it was spectacular. The furnishings were definitely on the funky side, a cross between hunting lodge and urban sleek (think southern Germany). Never heard the train that was commented on in other reviews and we had an exceptional stay. The bed was super comfortable and the rooms were understated luxury. I almost never use the whirlpool tubs in hotel rooms, because you just never know what is lurking in the lines between guests. I made an exception with this hotel as the room was extremely clean. I was glad I did. Our son slept on the pull-out bed in the living room and said it was not as nice as the bed we slept on, so that was our only negative. We had breakfast the next morning in the restaurant and that was terrific as well. Fresh North Carolina blueberry preserves on orange scented waffles were the bomb (also swiped some of hubby's potatoes, which were great, and I don't usually like potatoes). Very friendly staff and valet. Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wanted to love this hotel, but there were too many missing or odd elements. First and foremost is its proximity to the train tracks. I can't believe more people don't write about this in their reviews - because of that missing information it took us by surprise. I kinda knew we were in trouble when I found the list of amenities offered by guest services and it included earplugs. At any rate, the midnight train to Georgia came rambling through with its loud whistle, only to be followed about 15 minutes later by another, and another train interrupted our sleep a couple of hours later. Ugh. Notice that previously I said I "found" the information - there was no book in our room explaining the layout of the hotel, how to check out, or where to find ice. After opening all the drawers in the room I finally found the list of amenities available from guest services and a room service menu, but that was it. In fact, I just read today in another posting about the coffee in the morning and beverage in the afternoon - WHAT? Never saw it and never was told about it.

We stayed in the manor house across the street from the main hotel. It's a little inconvenient trying to cross the street every time you want to go over to the main building. I believe they will bring your car over if you request it, but we just walked over to retrieve it when needed. The room itself was clean and the shower was awesome, but as some have said, the decor takes some getting used to. The lobby of the manor house has purple velvet tufted furniture. 'Nuf said. The combination TV/computer in the room was unique and very cool.

Though we did not eat in the restaurant, we did have room service one morning and it was delicious. A hefty gratuity (22%) and delivery fee are included, but those charges are pretty common these days. The one oddity was that the coffee literally came in one cup - not a carafe to keep it warm, which is what I usually see provided by room service. The locationof the hotel, if you are visiting Biltmore, is perfect, and getting around town on foot is no problem.

As I said, I really wanted to love this property, but I'm not sure I'd stay there again. Perhaps it was the difference between staying in the manor house vs. the main hotel. The staff and management were exceptionally friendly, from front desk to valets. I just wish I'd been more informed about where to find things, what was offered, and what to expect.

Room Tip: Ask about proximity to the railroad tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#10 Business Hotel in Asheville
#12 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.