We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Asheville hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not your typical Asheville hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at The Grand Bohemian (and other Kessler hotels) several times. Each one we've stayed at has been amazing. They all have their own personalities and this one is sort of an edgy European hunting theme. Not the typical hunting lodge theme, though, so don't let that sway you if you don't like that type of thing. From the lobby to the rooms, top notch. Everything is elegantly done and the menu in the restaurant (also amazing) reflects the theme. The rooms are very modern, large and well appointed. The overall decor in the hotel is really cool and we always enjoy at least grabbing a drink at the bar when we're in town. You should definitely check this place out, even if you don't stay there overnight. And be sure to ask to look at one of the menus in the restaurant, even if you don't eat there. Surprise! And ladies, there's lots of good shopping right across the street, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel so you can avoid crossing the street to eat, have a drink, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    211
    90
    34
    12
See reviews for
136
527
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

However, the room cleaning service knocked on our door three times after we explained we would have a late checkout. Very annoying. We also waited too long for bell hop to get our bags the day of departure. But would stay again:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend our anniversary in Asheville so we splurged and chose the Grand Bohemian Hotel. One word: AMAZING. The staff were all extremely courteous, friendly, helpful, etc. When we told them we were celebrating they delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room! The room was immaculately clean. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. We stayed on the top floor and had no problem with nose from the street or hotel hallway.

Basically, we've been spoiled and ruined for all the more moderate hotels in our typical price range lol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The GBH in Asheville, NC is certainly a one-of-a-kind hotel. It is beyond your imagination in luxury, attention to detail and decor. Never seen anything like it.

We were attending a wedding, so did not savor the groceries. But the menu looked fabulous.

The room appointments were everything you'd expect from a top flight hotel. The service was impeccable. The common areas were a delight to the eye.

If you're headed to Asheville and have only on night to spend, the GBH is a delightful experience that you will not forget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

After visiting the mansions in Newport, RI my husband and I wanted to visit Biltmore. We arrived on Thursday after visiting the Biltmore estate. We'd had a long day and we were treated by friendly staff, a quick check in and a BEAUTIFUL suite! The front desk directed us to a delicious Mexican restaurant for dinner. Upon our return our bed had been turned down, window shutters closed and lovely music was playing on the Bose. If you're going to go to the Biltmore you may as well stay in style and the Grand Bohemian will not disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed at this property for his birthday. We stayed for 2 nights, though I wish it could have been longer. The property is gorgeous and the pictures don't do it justice. I'll address a few points of interest:
Room:
We stayed in room 221 in the main building. The room itself was beautiful and the bathroom was terrific! I noted that many people had made negative references to the bathroom because it lacked a door. I didn't understand that because our room had wooden french doors that closed off the bathroom, as well as wooden doors that closed off the window looking into the tub area. Also, we were never bothered by traffic noise as some people mentioned. The room was very quiet and peaceful despite being surrounded by streets.

Staff:
We were greeted warmly upon check-in and given a glass of champagne as we were taken to our room. The front desk clerk, bellman and valet attendants were all extremely welcoming and helpful. I had called ahead and requested that chocolate covered strawberries be placed in our room upon arrival and they were delivered promptly after we checked in along with a complimentary bottle of champagne for my fiances birthday. Also, the valet staff were terrific. Any time we needed our vehicle, they retrieved it very quickly.

Spa:
We had a couples massage at the hotel spa and LOVED it. The spa is very small, but the service was wonderful and the massage was perfect. Very well priced as also.

Restaurant:
We dined at the Red Stag the first night we were there and had the Chef's Tasting. It consisted of 4 courses each paired with a wine. Though our server was a little lacking in personality, the overall experience was great. We really enjoyed the food. Prices are a little higher than your average restaurant, but we didn't want an "average" dinner, so we were pleased. We also ordered room service for breakfast the next morning and really enjoyed it!

Location:
Location was PERFECT. Directly across the street from the entry gate of Biltmore and within walking distance of all the Biltmore Village shops, etc.

Overall, we were thrilled with our choice to stay at the Grand Bohemian and will definitely stay there again when in the area. Thank you for making it such a special birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms within the main building are more convenient, so be sure to request one when making a reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here a couple times a year for the past few years. We have season passes to the Biltmore and love to come down to the mountains to see the Biltmore and surrounding area. The Grand Bohemian is our favorite place to stay. They really treat you special and since it is right outside the gate of the Biltmore it is very convenient. My wife enjoyed a spa treatment, their valet parking is convenient, and they treat everyone like honored guests. Check-in is more like dealing with a concierge than a traditional impersonal front desk. Their restaurant (the Red Stag) is a perfect place to celebrate any special occasion. The quaint village in the blocks around the hotel have a number of neat little shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.