We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great location with great restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow! Great location with great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family of four stayed here the Saturday before Christmas to enjoy the Biltmore house. While Biltmore was a treat, let me suggest staying at the Bohemian. This hotel is only 3 years old. The lobby is breathtaking with a four-sided fireplace in the center. Rooms immaculate. Two queen room has huge bathroom. BEAUTIFULLY appointed. A very posh with all the decorations having a hunters lodge wth chandeliers! Just great! Would do it again. Stayed on second floor main building.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. We pride ourselves in delivering a great guest experience. We are delighted that you could enjoy the holidays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    182
    78
    32
    10
See reviews for
119
464
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I wanted to take a short holiday trip and decided on Asheville. After researching hotels in the area, we selected the Grand Bohemian and were extremely happy with our choice. The location of the hotel is perfect…just across the street from Biltmore Estate and an easy drive to downtown. The area does have a lot of traffic, but we did not find it disturbing. From the time we pulled into the valet area, until the time we left, our experience was 5-star all the way. We loved the hunting lodge décor with the warm wood walls, comfy furniture, big fireplace and original artwork. It was enjoyable to stroll the hotel looking at the paintings. I thought it was nice to sit at a desk to check-in instead of standing behind a counter. Check-in was a breeze with helpful suggestions and dinner reservations. The concierge staff was professional and always ready to help. The room décor is beautiful and it was well appointed and spotless. The bathroom is large with a single sink vanity, big tub and separate shower. I thought the bathroom was too dark until I found a dimmer switch right outside the door. Our room was in the main building on the 3rd floor conveniently located around the corner from the spa where we both enjoyed a wonderful massage. The Red Stag restaurant serves delicious food and we had a lovely table by the window looking down the entrance to Biltmore Estate. The bar area is warm and inviting and had a pianist in the evening. We enjoyed visiting with Ann at the bar and really appreciated her recommendation that we go downtown and stroll the shops. The valet service was always quick and friendly. We experienced great service from the entire staff.

This was our first stay at a Kessler Collection hotel, but it will not be our last. We look forward to returning to the Grand Bohemian Asheville and also trying their other locations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This wonderful hotel is affiliated with Marriott but is very much a boutique hotel. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is great, and the restaurant provides an outstanding gourmet experience. If you are interested in visiting the Biltmore Estate, stay here since this property is located across the street from the entrance to the Estate. My wife and I are looking forward to returning to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had stayed here a few years ago, and had a great experience. So, we decided to come back for our anniversary, since we liked the hotel, and wanted to visit Biltmore during the Holidays. Day one was fine; easy check in, got a complimentary bottle of champagne for the occasion, etc. On our second night we had to go through the humiliation of having our debit card declined at a restaurant, all because the hotel failed to let us know it was their "policy" to put a hold on funds of $100 per night for incidentals. This is in addition to the deposit we already paid before we even made the trip. Had we known about the hold, we would have made sure it could be covered. No where on the website, the email confirmation of our stay, or during the check-in process were we informed of this policy.

When we called the front desk, we were just repeatedly told it was the hotel policy and there was nothing they could do. The hold would be refunded up to 3 business days AFTER we left. I realize more and more hotels are doing this, but they should really have this policy clearly stated, so that guests can plan accordingly. The whole ordeal really soured what should have been a happy occasion. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your repeat business! We are very sorry for the inconvenience and misunderstanding on how the hotel and bank handles debit cards. Debit cards hold credit approvals differently than credit cards and we apologize that it was not better communicated. Your feedback has been reviewed with the entire front office team in order to take the necessary corrective measures to better communicate this information to future guests. We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Bohemian Hotel on your next visit to Asheville. If I can be of additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have nothing but nice things to say about my entire experience. It's a beautiful hotel and the staff is wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and I can't wait to return.The restaurant was delicious. The decor of the rooms inspired me to do some upgrades to my home.

Room Tip: Any room with a spa tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is extremely nice, beautiful in fact but way smaller than pictures online appear. When we first arrived all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. However we sort of felt like an unwanted stepchild when we were sent outside and across a busy street carrying all of our luggage to a separate building where our room was located. Everytime we want to eat, visit the spa, or do or get practically anything we had to go back outside and cross that busy street over and over again. Spa was amazing, the bar and lounge was pretty good, and the valets were quick and friendly. (Pricey though) a lot of people complained about the train late at night but we never heard it..the hotel is located very close to train tracks. Our first night there we arrive too late for dinner so we ended up walking a quarter mile to the Doubletree Hotel to have dinner at TGI Fridays which is attached to that hotel. All in all everything was good ...would have preferred a room in the main building... Everytime any service person would ask what our room number was and we would tell them it was the second building they would be like "oh ...okay"as if you are a second rate citizen...and at that rate per night...you're not low class. We had no clue which building the room was going to be in when we booked it...who knew?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others. We appreciate the nice comments about our friendly and helpful staff and hotel amenities. We do our best to communicate that our Manor House Building is located across the street from our main building. The two buildings are priced differently but the high quality room décor and amenities are the same. The website includes this information but we will continue to improve and enhance how this information is communicated to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Grand Bohemian offers great service and a convenient location that is close to the Biltmore Estate. I stayed at this hotel for business. The decor of the hotel is what I would call hunting lodge style and hence may not appeal to everyone. It may be almost over the top (e.g. the mounted elk heads, the antler light fixtures) for some folks.

I would describe this hotel as being very guest friendly. From the way you check-in, sitting at a desk rather than standing at a counter, to service at the Red Stag Grill restaurant...the hotel delivers on giving you a friendly service.

The decor of my room (one king bed) was just fine for me. The bathroom is large and offers separate enclosed areas for the shower and the toilet. There is no bathroom door, rather there are heavy curtains that separate the bathroom from the rest of the hotel room. The closet is a bit small and would be difficult if you were sharing the room with another person. My room was not designed for working, especially if you are using a laptop computer. It was difficult to access an electrical outlet to power computer. However, connecting to the Wi-Fi was easy and part of the room rate (no extra cost).

Ate at the Red Stag Grill for breakfast and dinner; breakfast was wonderful while I found the dinner menu to be very typical of a steak house.

The fitness center is small and there is no swimming pool.

The weekend rate for this hotel is not cheap (over $300) while the weekday rate was more typical (about $190 per night).

Overall, this is a nice hotel and I would recommend it for both business and pleasure travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share comments about your recent experience. We appreciate your feedback about our friendly service as we pride ourselves on delivering a great guest experience. We will continue to find ways to make our guestrooms more business friendly. On your next visit, we hope you get an opportunity to experience our Roomlinx in-room technology system. Thank you for recommending our hotel for both business and pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#4 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#10 Business Hotel in Asheville
#12 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.