We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay...with a few quirks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Winterville, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay...with a few quirks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is extremely nice, beautiful in fact but way smaller than pictures online appear. When we first arrived all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. However we sort of felt like an unwanted stepchild when we were sent outside and across a busy street carrying all of our luggage to a separate building where our room was located. Everytime we want to eat, visit the spa, or do or get practically anything we had to go back outside and cross that busy street over and over again. Spa was amazing, the bar and lounge was pretty good, and the valets were quick and friendly. (Pricey though) a lot of people complained about the train late at night but we never heard it..the hotel is located very close to train tracks. Our first night there we arrive too late for dinner so we ended up walking a quarter mile to the Doubletree Hotel to have dinner at TGI Fridays which is attached to that hotel. All in all everything was good ...would have preferred a room in the main building... Everytime any service person would ask what our room number was and we would tell them it was the second building they would be like "oh ...okay"as if you are a second rate citizen...and at that rate per night...you're not low class. We had no clue which building the room was going to be in when we booked it...who knew?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others. We appreciate the nice comments about our friendly and helpful staff and hotel amenities. We do our best to communicate that our Manor House Building is located across the street from our main building. The two buildings are priced differently but the high quality room décor and amenities are the same. The website includes this information but we will continue to improve and enhance how this information is communicated to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    161
    70
    29
    9
See reviews for
104
411
20
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Grand Bohemian offers great service and a convenient location that is close to the Biltmore Estate. I stayed at this hotel for business. The decor of the hotel is what I would call hunting lodge style and hence may not appeal to everyone. It may be almost over the top (e.g. the mounted elk heads, the antler light fixtures) for some folks.

I would describe this hotel as being very guest friendly. From the way you check-in, sitting at a desk rather than standing at a counter, to service at the Red Stag Grill restaurant...the hotel delivers on giving you a friendly service.

The decor of my room (one king bed) was just fine for me. The bathroom is large and offers separate enclosed areas for the shower and the toilet. There is no bathroom door, rather there are heavy curtains that separate the bathroom from the rest of the hotel room. The closet is a bit small and would be difficult if you were sharing the room with another person. My room was not designed for working, especially if you are using a laptop computer. It was difficult to access an electrical outlet to power computer. However, connecting to the Wi-Fi was easy and part of the room rate (no extra cost).

Ate at the Red Stag Grill for breakfast and dinner; breakfast was wonderful while I found the dinner menu to be very typical of a steak house.

The fitness center is small and there is no swimming pool.

The weekend rate for this hotel is not cheap (over $300) while the weekday rate was more typical (about $190 per night).

Overall, this is a nice hotel and I would recommend it for both business and pleasure travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share comments about your recent experience. We appreciate your feedback about our friendly service as we pride ourselves on delivering a great guest experience. We will continue to find ways to make our guestrooms more business friendly. On your next visit, we hope you get an opportunity to experience our Roomlinx in-room technology system. Thank you for recommending our hotel for both business and pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The room is beautiful, the atmosphere is very nice, yet a bit interesting. There are greco Roman pieces throughout the hotel, with deer antlet chandeliers. It is quite beautiful...just interesting. We were greeted as checked in with a glass of champaign which was a nice touch & the concierge when we checked it was quite helpful. (The one the next morning not as much.) It has been a pleasant stay. I was here with a friend...might be a nice stay for a couple.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Beautiful and interesting are a great way to describe our hotel. We have Swarovski crystals hanging from antler chandelier, chainmail curtains, a leather wrapped wall, and bone inlay columns from India; and that in the lobby alone. This is an incredible place for a couple to experience. We look forward to having you and yours as our guests very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville, MI
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were here entertaining some business guests. The location is perfect, right outside the entrance to the Biltmore. You can walk to plenty of great dining options and tons of shopping. The bar was nice for entertaining our business guests.

The rooms are very nicely appointed with solid, quality furnishings. A large bathroom. Heavy doors everywhere. Noise level is low.

Value is fantastic. I would return here and spend my own money to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for entertaining your guests in our hotel. We would love for you to stay with us again. I assure you that your money will be well spent. Maybe, on your next stay, you will have a little extra time to spend in our Poseidon Spa. It is one of the nicest spas in the Kessler Collection. Please give us a heads up when you plan to return. We would be more than happy to help customize your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

During a road trip of all road trips, we settled into this fine hotel after visiting the Biltmore Estate. It is similar to pairing steak and wine, after being engrossed with luxury at the Biltmore, nothing else could suffice other than the GB in this situation.
The rooms beautiful, the bedding pure luxury, the ambience eclectic, the bar area sophisticated, location superb.

One nice touch that really was out of the norm were the menus in the dimly lit bar. They were led backlit (illuminated). Well played Bohemian.

Was this helpful?

Room Tip: Save your money and book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many of the amenities that the Grand Bohemian has to offer. We too are very proud of our backlit menus. We feel that they match the unique décor and ambience of our lounge. I hope that you were also able to spend some time looking around in our Gallery. The Gallery has some very beautiful paintings from local as well as international artists, handmade jewelry and glassware. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I loved this hotel from the minute I walked in. It's definitely not your average Marriott. The lobby felt like a near mountain lodge...a perfect way to end our trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. It may be a little posh for some folks, but I felt the staff really went out of their way to make you feel at home. For one, check in isn't at you standard counter that's always too high for my 5'-2" self. The bellhop escorts you to a large desk with CHAIRS and the receptionist is on the other side. For someone who lives half my life in hotels because of business, this was an absolute treat. I didn't have to juggle my bags as I was trying to get my credit card and ID out. It also made more comfortable to ask questions of where to go and what to do because we didn't feel rushed.

Later that evening, we had drinks with friends in the ultra cool Red Stag Grille. They had a great selection of dessert wines...just what we were looking for.

The rooms were spacious and cozy. My husband and I even liked the music that was playing on the Bose sound system in the room. We don't even like jazz but the CD they had on repeat just added to the ambience. We kept it on all night! I loved the super large soaking tub and free lavender bubble bath samples every night.

The hotel is conveniently located in the Biltmore area so many amazin shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The Grand Bohemian is across from Biltmore gates.

This hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend away or vacation.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to share comments regarding your experience. We hope that you will plan another Blue Ridge Parkway trip soon and come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Awesome hotel with a very cool environment. Local artwork throughout the hotel makes it a very visual experience. Right in the heart of Biltmore Forest. Very CLASSY hotel except for one thing: the bartenders and the waitresses wear revealing "bar wench" tops which downgraded the environment to just above a Hooters, this surprised me considering the level of the guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#11 Business Hotel in Asheville
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Marriott, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.