We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verrrrry nice - a little pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Verrrrry nice - a little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The room is beautiful, the atmosphere is very nice, yet a bit interesting. There are greco Roman pieces throughout the hotel, with deer antlet chandeliers. It is quite beautiful...just interesting. We were greeted as checked in with a glass of champaign which was a nice touch & the concierge when we checked it was quite helpful. (The one the next morning not as much.) It has been a pleasant stay. I was here with a friend...might be a nice stay for a couple.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Beautiful and interesting are a great way to describe our hotel. We have Swarovski crystals hanging from antler chandelier, chainmail curtains, a leather wrapped wall, and bone inlay columns from India; and that in the lobby alone. This is an incredible place for a couple to experience. We look forward to having you and yours as our guests very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    161
    70
    30
    9
See reviews for
104
412
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roseville, MI
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were here entertaining some business guests. The location is perfect, right outside the entrance to the Biltmore. You can walk to plenty of great dining options and tons of shopping. The bar was nice for entertaining our business guests.

The rooms are very nicely appointed with solid, quality furnishings. A large bathroom. Heavy doors everywhere. Noise level is low.

Value is fantastic. I would return here and spend my own money to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for entertaining your guests in our hotel. We would love for you to stay with us again. I assure you that your money will be well spent. Maybe, on your next stay, you will have a little extra time to spend in our Poseidon Spa. It is one of the nicest spas in the Kessler Collection. Please give us a heads up when you plan to return. We would be more than happy to help customize your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

During a road trip of all road trips, we settled into this fine hotel after visiting the Biltmore Estate. It is similar to pairing steak and wine, after being engrossed with luxury at the Biltmore, nothing else could suffice other than the GB in this situation.
The rooms beautiful, the bedding pure luxury, the ambience eclectic, the bar area sophisticated, location superb.

One nice touch that really was out of the norm were the menus in the dimly lit bar. They were led backlit (illuminated). Well played Bohemian.

Was this helpful?

Room Tip: Save your money and book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many of the amenities that the Grand Bohemian has to offer. We too are very proud of our backlit menus. We feel that they match the unique décor and ambience of our lounge. I hope that you were also able to spend some time looking around in our Gallery. The Gallery has some very beautiful paintings from local as well as international artists, handmade jewelry and glassware. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I loved this hotel from the minute I walked in. It's definitely not your average Marriott. The lobby felt like a near mountain lodge...a perfect way to end our trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. It may be a little posh for some folks, but I felt the staff really went out of their way to make you feel at home. For one, check in isn't at you standard counter that's always too high for my 5'-2" self. The bellhop escorts you to a large desk with CHAIRS and the receptionist is on the other side. For someone who lives half my life in hotels because of business, this was an absolute treat. I didn't have to juggle my bags as I was trying to get my credit card and ID out. It also made more comfortable to ask questions of where to go and what to do because we didn't feel rushed.

Later that evening, we had drinks with friends in the ultra cool Red Stag Grille. They had a great selection of dessert wines...just what we were looking for.

The rooms were spacious and cozy. My husband and I even liked the music that was playing on the Bose sound system in the room. We don't even like jazz but the CD they had on repeat just added to the ambience. We kept it on all night! I loved the super large soaking tub and free lavender bubble bath samples every night.

The hotel is conveniently located in the Biltmore area so many amazin shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The Grand Bohemian is across from Biltmore gates.

This hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend away or vacation.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to share comments regarding your experience. We hope that you will plan another Blue Ridge Parkway trip soon and come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Awesome hotel with a very cool environment. Local artwork throughout the hotel makes it a very visual experience. Right in the heart of Biltmore Forest. Very CLASSY hotel except for one thing: the bartenders and the waitresses wear revealing "bar wench" tops which downgraded the environment to just above a Hooters, this surprised me considering the level of the guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

OMG, the menues light up---can you believe it? We stopped in for a cocktail after visiting The Biltmore Estate. Very close to everything...The lobby & bar are elaborate and the holiday decor was breath-taking. Cocktails were delicious. Enjoyed the carolers in the lobby, although you really had to strain to hear them in the bar. We may just have to stay here at least once to really enjoy the hotel and well as the artwork it's known for

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments. We are very proud of our bar. I hope you noticed the petrified wood top and the collection of unique German and Austrian beer steins that it boasts. I’m happy that you were able to spend some time with us during your Asheville visit. The next time you are in the area, please stop in and see our guest rooms. I am sure the rooms will entice you to stay with us. They are decorated with marble counter tops, hand carved wood vanities, Bose radios, soaking tubs, luxurious bedding and more art work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Bohemian for Thanksgiving. The room was very nice, spacious, quite and luxurious. Staff (reception, bar, restaurant, valet) is very professional, smiling and welcoming. Ideal hotel to visit the Biltmore house. Restaurant is expensive, nothing else on a walking distance. Overall we recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnLuckett, General Manager at Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanksgiving is an exciting time to stay at the Grand Bohemian. The hotel location is perfect! We enjoy being located at the gates to Biltmore Estate in Historic Biltmore Village. I hope you are able to come back and enjoy the holidays with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Boston Way, Asheville, NC 28803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#10 Business Hotel in Asheville
#12 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Bohemian
Grand Bohemian Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.