We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer But ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of French Broad River Brewery

French Broad River Brewery
Fairview Road, Asheville, NC 28803
(828) 277-0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 102 Activities in Asheville
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Good Beer But ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The tasting room and outdoor area needs a very serious upgrade if they are going to compete with the other breweries for your tasting dollars. It's really just that simple. I am confident they'll get there over time but for now and at minimum the least they can do is clean up the outside area. It is not very appealing. Having a food truck onsite would be a good idea too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An Asheville Classic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just love this place. While I can't say the beers here are my favorite, they are very, very good. Their Barley Wine is one of the best around, actually; but what keeps me coming back, week after week, is the atmosphere.

Aerial is the best bartender alive, pints down. My husband and I both adore her, and while that's a big part of it, there's more to it than that. It's the atmosphere in general, I suppose. I feel like I am among family, even though I don't always talk to the other customers. It's like being in Minnesota ice fishing, minus the ice and the polka music. I keep thinking I'm on the set of "Grumpy Old Men."

Your visit to Asheville would not be complete without a visit to French Broad. They are open daily from 1 pm until 8 pm, with lots of great restaurants within either walking distance or a few blocks' drive to Biltmore Village. French Broad Brewery is a classic, one you will want to read over and over again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hang out with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went here during my short visit to Asheville. We loved the flight $7 tasting of different local brews. I think its a great place to come afterwork or during the weekend for some good beer and good music.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great local brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

If you are like us we seek out tasty local craft beers when traveling. Asheville has it all, hard to narrow it down. French broad handsome great beers including IPA my favorite. Small, good bands and pretzels. Worth a taste or two.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great selection and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great selection, service and prices. Mon. special $2.50 pints.
You can buy a "flight" for $7 which gives you a descent sample of seven of there beers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad River Brewery also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to French Broad River Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Broad River Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.