We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, safe, and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville to your Saves list
Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville
816 Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eclectic, safe, and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed in the cottage which was great! There is a bathroom, kitchenette, pub style table and chairs and a DOUBLE bed. They happily brought in a twin cot so that we would be more comfortable. There is no A/C in the cottage (not sure about the rest of the house) so consider this if staying in the summer. We were comfortable after dark with windows open. Bathroom was pretty clean but the bedspread needs to be updated and the towels were gross so bring your own. We thought there was breakfast included but were not told about it (we forgot to ask while someone was at the desk) and we didn't see any breakfast out in the morning. This may have just been a communication error though. They DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS so plan accordingly. This info is nowhere to be found on their website or hostelworld nor on the confirmation page you print at time of booking. It is listed on the bottom of the email they send you the day before your stay, but we didn't get this before our stay which caused a little confusion. The hostel is located in a cool neighborhood in West Asheville and is a perfect location if you're hiking SW of the city. We really liked West End Bakery which is within walking distance.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonpaul_and_sharkys, Manager at Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello there,
Thanks for your review. It's always helpful to know what our guests think while they are with us, and after they've had time to reflect on their experience afterwards. I'm sorry to hear that your needs weren't fully met. I'd like to address some of the questions/issues raised:

-the cottage does not have A/C, but we rarely need it in the NC mountains. We do have plenty of fans. The Main House does have A/C for the summer days.

-In effort to be environmentally conscious, our house laundry is hung to dry. This can make our towels a bit less snuggly, but we believe it's worth it. But I will add softener to the soap and hope for the best.

-there is a small breakfast of bananas, toast, jam and pb, and hard-boiled eggs set out in the Main House dining room every morning, which guests may help themselves to. Tea or coffee may be brewed anytime.

-we accept cash or check at this time. This is printed in the confirmation email that is sent automatically at the time of online booking.

-yes, guests may get a clean, albeit "outdated" blanket or sheet. The Miss Piggy sheet is my favorite, followed by the Power Rangers towel. This makes us the quirky and cozy HOSTEL that we are. We are a hostel after all.

Thanks for your feedback!
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
8
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, VA.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Hostel was nice and the staff were helpful. We had a private room upstairs. The hostel is in an old house in walking distance to some neat restaurants and shops which was a plus. It was a little small for me though, and this may just be personal preference. We had a private room which was nice, but it felt like a lot of people in the house for the space. I have stayed at several hostels and I think I prefer the larger ones. If this doesn't bother you, than you would probably enjoy it here. I don't know if they have air conditioning or not, but it was not on when we were there and we had the windows open and it was still a bit hot in our room at night. The mattress was very, very soft--not in a good way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonpaul_and_sharkys, Manager at Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hi, thanks for the feedback.

Sorry to hear that you were too warm in your room. We do have a/c running in the summer, but not typically in the cooler early spring. We keep fans in every room, and are glad to bring more in per guest's request.
Guests should know that we are busiest in the spring, summer and fall, especially at weekends. We get interesting travelers from all over the world.
Perhaps a better option, should you choose to return, could be our private cottage behind the main house. It has it's own kitchenette and private bathroom and a really nice front porch.
Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed 2 nights and had a great time with the staff and other travelers. This is a very safe hostel with free, safe parking. It is kind of small and not fancy, but I like that. It is an old house that has been turned into a hostel and the staff members live in the hostel, ensuring that all goes well (along with the locked door and safe neighborhood). There are places to walk to like a coffee/sandwich shop, restaurants, etc. The hostel even has a hot tub that is very clean and nice at the end of the day! There is a fridge, stove, and more on site for your use. The staff is very helpful with answering questions about the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was amazing, I loved it, everyone was very welcoming and friendly and got along great. It's located just down the street from some great cafes and local shops, the area in general is charming and is great for a weekend getaway or for a week stay like I did. The hostel has free wifi and 2 computers for guest use, as well as a hot tub on the spacious back deck, a sweet front porch with a swing, and a great spot in the back for their fire pit. There's also 2 bathrooms so you usually don't have to wait long to get into one, if it's not already open. They also provide a breakfast with toast, jam, hard boiled eggs, bananas, and coffee! The only thing that could have used improvement for me is the beds, as they are a bit hard to sleep on, but overall it was great! I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The first contact with BP&S is Jeremy's friendly and laid-back tour of the house. He certainly is a great asset to the place, and very knowledgeable about the area. The beds look (and feel!) like they've been built by a dedicated amateur carpenter who came across a supply of odd planks. The facilities are ageing but kept very clean, but two bathrooms for the house is not really enough. The wine shop opposite does wine and beer tastings, so go say hello to Barrett. We really enjoyed our time there. Oh, and did I mention the hot tub?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at BP&S for a few days on our cross country trip and fell in love with it immediately. The people are awesome and there are many nice places to go within a short walking distance. Seriously, you can't go wrong with this place, give it a go.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed here this past weekend and had a great time. We were initially looking at a different hostel but ended up booking Bon Paul and Sharky's due to the homey vibe we got on their website. This hostel is located in a lovely older home in a funky neighborhood. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance which was a nice bonus. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about them. There is free WiFi in the hostel as well as two computers on the main floor. We stayed in a private room on the second floor. While this room could be noisy as it was next to the bathroom, it really wasn't an issue for us. The room had hardwoods, a TV with VCR and videos. There was a pleasant front porch and back deck. There was a pretty sweet hot tub on the back deck. Beer and wine are allowed in the hostel so it was very nice to have a glass of wine and relax in the hot tub on a chilly Asheville summer day. Guests are allowed to pick ripe vegetables in the garden and use the ktichen facilities. I would obviously recommend this hostel. I hope to be back soon!! Thanks Bon Paul and Sharky's!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville

Address: 816 Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Paul and Sharky's Hostel of Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.