We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG, what a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Campfire Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campfire Lodgings
Save
You added Campfire Lodgings to your Saves list
116 Appalachian Village Road, Asheville, NC 28804   |  
Hotel amenities
Blairsville, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OMG, what a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Cabin rental was a joke, no views of anything it could have been in the woods anywhere, not like it was advertised. The cabin was advertised for 5 people, it should have been for 2 adults and 2 children, my son-in-law is 6'1" the upstairs beds were for kids not adults, he ended up sleeping in the floor on a sleeping bag. The T.V. was old and no DVD player as advertised. This cabin was very small and not worth the $177.00 per night. There was nothing about this place that I would ever go back to,

Spending time with my family was wonderful, sorry it was not better accommodations for them.

Room Tip: Choose another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
These are the first complaints of this kind since the inception of this campground! The beds upstairs are standard twin size beds not baby beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    12
    2
    8
See reviews for
27
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in Yurt 3. The location is perfect, nestled in the trees with a nice porch / balcony. The views of the mountains and river from the top of the property are great. Checked in after hours - checking out was a breeze. We didn't really see but a handful of people while we were there and didn't need anything from the staff as our Yurt was perfect accommodations for us. It wasn't 5-star, but staying in a yurt in the woods never is - had to clean up a few bugs and catch a giant spider - but no problems. I really liked the thermostatically controlled gas-fired fireplace.

Room Tip: Yurt 3 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

First, let me say that the view is beautiful for the all P locations, but P1 (where we ended up by booking online) which is right by the office, the entrance and view is largely blocked by the trees and shrubs.
The grounds were well kept, but the bathrooms were pretty warn and not that clean.
The kindness of the two gentlemen that came by our site could not make up for the woman in the office. Three people in our party tried to reason with her and just came out shaking our heads. You just expect a smile and someone to take just a minute to talk to you when you arrive at a campground.
I'd say, if you can put up with a bit of crankiness, this is a nice place.

Room Tip: Choose P 3, 4, 5, or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
P-1 is a lovely site and requested by many of our guests.
Our bathroom's are cleaned 2 x's daily because we can't be in there 24/7. Apparently the reviewer was in the bathroom just before a cleaning. This is a very nicely kept campground and individual bathrooms are kept clean. This is not an office building.
After the 3rd complaint regarding P-1, and now, after the 2nd review by the same people, it is increasingly more difficult to not be a bit cranky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Came early on Friday to get one of the great sites with a view. When we walked in the office, the woman at the desk was too busy folding t-shirts to greet us. When we gave her the paper work showing her we had reserved a spot 2 months ago and would like to pull into P-5, a beautiful empty site. We were told that that site was reserved. So we asked for another site. We were told that that site was also reserved. We were told our site was the one right by the office and if we didn't want it she would give us our money back. We were not happy, but decided to make the best of it since we were going into town a lot anyway. To make a long story short, the site was very noisy and no one ever came into site P5 while we were there. I can only assume that she had decided she was putting us where she wanted us and she really did not care if anyone showed up for P5 or not. Good location and some great views, but customer service training is greatly needed to say the least! No southern welcome here.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay at Campfire, do not book online. Call and request your site. P1 is the worst s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yurts, Manager at Campfire Lodgings, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
The reviewer did not understand that this campground honors previous reservation, especially if all nights reserved, were already paid in full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back after 3 nights and 4 days at CL. Had a premium site with a view that was mezzmerizing! Great staff...Andi, Stormy and Jason. Well maintained grounds. Close to Asheville area attractions, but removed enough from civilization to totally relax. We're going back next month to soak in the fall colors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved this campground. Nice sites, especially the premium sites. The premium sites have million dollar views, however, if you don't score one of these sites you can enjoy the view at the camp's communal viewing area. Here, they have thoughtfully placed some benches and Adirondack chairs. We spent our evenings here sipping wine and watching the sun set behind the mountains. We stayed on site D9 which is next to a premium site and had partial views. The bathrooms were individual which was nice and they were adequately clean. The staff was extremely professional and friendly. We were told by friends to go into downtown Asheville for dinner, but we simply did not want to leave our camp. Steak on the grill after watching a glorious sunset beats going into town any day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at Campfire Lodging in September for a week. We were not able to get a Premium campsite as they book up quickly. The Premium campsites are small but have amazing views. The downside is that they offer no shade. However, in the D sites, you are in a shaded area and surrounded by woods. For those who are not able to secure a Premium spot or even for those to wish to partake of it, there is a very short walk to a small outdoors area with an amazing view of the mountains and water. There is limited seating but you can bring a few folding chairs to sit and take in the sunset. The RV's and pop up spots are separate from the tent camping and Yurts which are like a little bungalow surrounded by woodsy views. They are large sites with decks. There is a trail leading to a stocked catch and release pond. The gift shop offers camping amenities, ice, propane gas refills and firewood for sale. There are 4 bathrooms (single use - unisex), one of which is handicapped. There is also a laundry area with a coin operated washer and dryer. The best times for showering is right after they are cleaned which is around 12:30 everyday. Jason who works there will deliver a bucket of firewood to your site for around 6/7$. Ice is $4 a bag. There is a place for bike riding and jogging as the road is well maintained. Ande who works at the reservations and office management is great! There is a grocery store (Ingles) and a Citgo nearby. The Biltmore is only a 15 minute drive from the campsite. In Weaverville (nearby city), there are a number of restaurants as well. The mosquito's are not bad here at all. I would recommend this campsite. It offers a relaxing environment good for families or singles. Quiet time starts at 10pm. We felt like we did not compromise what we wanted to do at all. A great place to stay! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campfire Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campfire Lodgings

Address: 116 Appalachian Village Road, Asheville, NC 28804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains with panoramic views, 4-5 miles of hiking trails and a "catch and release" fishing pond. Come experience the peacefulness and calm of nature on top of Goldview Knob while being in such close proximity to downtown Asheville, whitewater rafting, horseback riding, waterfalls, and the Biltmore Estates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campfire Lodgings Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campfire Lodgings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.