We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabin and plenty of room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campfire Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campfire Lodgings
Save
You added Campfire Lodgings to your Saves list
116 Appalachian Village Road, Asheville, NC 28804   |  
Hotel amenities
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cozy cabin and plenty of room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Smooth visit and well organized. Good directions to cabin especially when arriving at night. Cabin was pretty clean and plenty of space. Loved the loft area for the kids. Could have had more variety of utensils for a fully equiped kitchen but overall very nice visit. Nice 1 mile nature trail close by the tent site. No mountain view from the cabin but overlooking a lot of pretty trees. Be careful when acorns are dropping as some cars have dents on the roof now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    12
    2
    8
See reviews for
27
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The location is great, no doubt. But I won't be camping here again. The lady at the registration is rude, and the campground has plenty of rules that don't make a whole lot of sense. For example, even if you want to pay the higher price for RV site price, you cannot pitch a tent. I think there is another camp ground by the french broad river close by thats better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Tuck away on the side of a mountain overlooking the French Broad river, this camp site is the jewel of Asheville. With 19 RV sites, 10 tent sites, 3 yurts, and two cabins this boutique facility sports the best views in the area. It is quite, clean with nice walking trails and as anyone who had read my other reviews knows it is "dog friendly". Consider yourself lucky to find a space here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is by far the best campground we have ever stayed at. Wow, the views are incredible. We would recommend to anyone to visit this campground. The helpful & wonderful staff also made this stay so wonderful. Ande was very helpful with places to visit and directions & Jason was also very helpful he went out of his way quite a few times to help us.They just help make the stay better. This is the best campground anywhere. If you have a chance to go I highly recommend it.The views from the premium sites are the best, you can see the beautiful mountains from these. We are already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: The premium sites have the wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We camped here in our motorhome. This campground is now in the top 5 we've ever visited. The view from our site was amazing. The premium sites are arranged so that you really have privacy even though they are not over large. Paved, with concrete pad for the table and room for lounge chairs. It was quiet, peaceful, relaxing and very well maintained. Customer service was excellent. Just one hint - if you are towing a vehicle behind your motorhome, disconnect before going up the mountain! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose one of the premium sites. They are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night but we wish we could have stayed longer. The views were fantastic. The entire place was immaculate and each camp site had a private outside area. There's a nice walking trail too. Would certainly recommend it. We stayed in our RV but this site requires you answer all questions.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Julie, Quebec
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We pulled into Campfire Lodgings at 7pm on an August summer night to find the office closed. We had not called ahead to make reservations because we were driving about 8hrs from the Outer Banks and weren't sure we were going to make it to Asheville as planned. Because we were tent camping and all of the tent sites were empty, we decided to set up camp, leave a phone message at the office indicating which site we were on, and just pay in the morning. I have to say that they seemed upset in the morning that we had done this. Personally I was a bit surprised that the office was closed by 7 in high season.
Aside from that, the views are everything that is promised - especially at 6am when the kids got up! The best spots are reserved for RVs which was disappointing for us, but understandable since this RVs represent most of the clientele. We got to stay in a lovely wooded sight with the bears (We luckily didn't spot any but one was seen just before our arrival on the site).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campfire Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campfire Lodgings

Address: 116 Appalachian Village Road, Asheville, NC 28804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains with panoramic views, 4-5 miles of hiking trails and a "catch and release" fishing pond. Come experience the peacefulness and calm of nature on top of Goldview Knob while being in such close proximity to downtown Asheville, whitewater rafting, horseback riding, waterfalls, and the Biltmore Estates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campfire Lodgings Asheville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campfire Lodgings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.