We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leulla's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luella's Bar-B-Que

Luella's Bar-B-Que
501 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804
828-505-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Leulla's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Again...it was great! Service and our waiter, Kyle, was friendly, efficient and showed us all the different sauces. Bob had pork and I had their turkey and there was a plateful and all very very good!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    143
    46
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Try the Brisket!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on a Friday after hearing good things from several people. There was a little bit of a line, but for good reason...good food! We shared the 3 meat plate (12 oz. of meat per the menu) choosing the brisket, chopped bbq and smoked turkey. The brisket was great as was the smoked turkey. The bbq was good as well, but the brisket was right. The plate came with 2 sides so we chose jambalaya and potato salad and we also added a side of the brunswick stew. All was very good. Apparently some of the sides change from day to day, so we didn't get to try the grits I'd heard about, maybe next trip. They have several sauces that you can use as well, our favorite was the "lusty mustard". Would definitely go back again when in Asheville.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DGR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My spouse and I have eaten at Luella's on several occasions and have never been disappointed. the staff is excellent. They are knowledgeable about the menu and take the time to explain the items available. The food is excellent, the turkey is exceptional. There are many local beers and you can have a taste before you order! The portions are plentiful and we normally have to request a container to take the excess home. This is probably the best bar-b-que we have had in a restaurant. Try it and we are sure you will go back for more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The sweet and the spicy sauces blended together are great on the chopped pork, which is served lean. The fried okra is fresh-made, the mac and hoop cheese is creamy and the calico baked beans are a taste kaleidoscope. Try the dry-rubbed sweet potato chips for something different. Highly recommend a stop here! There was a wait for Sunday brunch, but they provide corn hole, hula-hoops and free wifi for your amusement.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had lunch here with the family. EXCELLENT BBQ! Prices were good for what you received. I had the brisket, while other members had pulled pork sandwich and spicy sausage. If you order the plate, you get hush puppies on the side. (I'm from California, so hush puppies are a big deal to me) I would totally return.
Service was friendly and prompt. We also ordered pimento cheese sauce (can't remember the name) and chili fries as an appetizer (we went all out). The server brought us different sauces to try. We ate outside on the patio which was fun. I recommend Luella's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luella's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Luella's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luella's Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.