We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ridge Parkway

Blue Ridge Parkway
Asheville, NC
828-298-0398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 176 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 469-mile scenic drive links Shenandoah and Great Smoky Mountains National Park, while protecting the cultural and natural features of the Blue Ridge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exhilarating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'm sure it's beautiful year round, but we like to visit the parkway in the Fall to view the foliage. The scenery is spectacular and you can find some nice wineries and places to eat along the way such as The Chateau Morrisette in Floyd, VA. If you're not afraid of heights, you can get some amazing camera shots. I can get to the Parkway in right at 2 hours from NC and this is an inexpensive way to recharge my energy and leave it all behind.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,444
    438
    68
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery of the Blue Ridge Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Driving thru the Blue Ridge Mountains was very beautiful with a stop at the Folk Art Center which has high quality art objects for purchase such as corn husk dolls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a beautiful drive and goes all the way into virginia, there are lots of trails for hiking ,and scenery and turnoffs,also waterfalls to hike to some easy,intermediate and difficult

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't go until leaves are on the trees!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went in mid April and were very disappointed. It was very barren and cold with no leaves on the trees. We will definitely go back in prime season!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We travel the Blue Ridge Parkway in all seasons, although they will close sections if the roads become icy or snowy. Beautiful mountain scenery. We always look for our house from the overlook for our valley. The Blue Ridge Parkway in fall, with all the fall color, is not to be missed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Parkway also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Blue Ridge Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ridge Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.