We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Mile

Nine Mile
233 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1659
828-505-3121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The restaurant is in a residential neighborhood right next to downtown. Parking is in the street but was not difficult to find. The service was excellent we had a very helpful waiter. The food was absolutely delicious! It was my first time eating Jamaican inspired food and I loved it! The inside is kind of small and cozy and the food is all made to order. I would definitely recommend this place and will be back again

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    221
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fresh, unusual, and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Because of the reviews here, my husband and I came for a late lunch on a recent trip to Asheville. We were seated right away, and well cared for the entire time. Our server, Kaz, was helpful, smiling, and attentive. I had the Negril Nights tuna over spinach fettucine. The coconut lime sauce was delicious, and made the entire dish. My husband had the Soon Come, and enjoyed its unusual flavors. We both had local beers that were tasty. Everything seemed fresh. The lunch portions were satisfying, and reasonably priced. We will be back to try more of their unusual offerings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very very good! Definitely going back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The atmosphere was spectacular, especially for my bf because he loves reggae. The painting that are hung up around the dining area are beautiful and are fun to look at while waiting on your food. Like many other reviews say, the entrées did take a while to come out, but well worth the wait. I got a seafood dish with tilapia and the fish was so perfectly cooked, I was very impressed. The price was a bit high on the majority of the meals, but since everything is freshly made I understand. Parking was a but rough since the restuatnt doesn't have a lot of it's own, but not a big deal. Overall, I enjoyed my experience very much and will be taking my family to try it soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great casual dining with relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived late into Asheville and were looking for a quick, simple and light bite to eat. We saw Nine Mile reviewed on Trip Advisor and decided it was probably what we wanted. We were dead on. They had several options that satisfied our desires, but the full menu had us wanting more, so we came back the next night for a full meal. We left happy both nights!. The beer and wine menus had a great selection and we came back with new favorites to have around our home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Busy busy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The place was really packed. But the staff moved everyone along nicely and professionally. This is a destination. It is on a residential street not in the center of town. Parking is on the street and no problem.

The food was really good. I has the signature dish with chicken and linguini. My husband had the Bushman which is tilapia. Both were nicely spiced. They will tweak to your taste preferable. Prices were very reasonable. Well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mile also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Nine Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.