We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Mile

Nine Mile
233 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1659
828-505-3121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eclectic charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's said to be a Caribbean seafood place, I'd call it a little bit of a heavenly beach shack plopped on a tree lined residential street. With the reggae playing and the amount of saucy, spicy goodness in your bowl. You will leave with a smile, and a lot of great memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    221
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Nine Mile was recommended by a sales person in a wine store. She said we wouldn't be disappointed....and we weren't! Primarily seafood and chicken....and fresh ingredients. EVERYTHING was excellent. Although this is over an hour away from home, we will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun and funky place for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

While visiting my parents near Asheville, we decided to try something new and check out Nine Mile. They have a lot of pasta dishes, but everything has a very Caribbean slant and many of the dishes contain seafood, although there's jerk-style chicken on the menu as well. Our server was very friendly and went over his favorites from the menu in detail. They also had a great selection of local beers and he offered us samples to help us choose. The food was all good, particularly the "Soon Come" pasta which had bananas and apples in a pumpkin sauce and would probably satisfy a lot of fall cravings. The restaurant is located in a pretty area of Asheville; it is small inside with a lot of fun art on the walls. If you're looking for something a little different, Nine Mile is a cool place to check out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Argh! Couldn't even get in the door! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Not wheelchair accessible! 6" step at the front door and when my son went in to ask about it, they acted like he was stupid for even asking! Skip it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a Serendipity .. An unbelievable find along the street..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The aroma from the street was enough to beckon us inside. We were here for lunch and saw they had a nice crowd for an early Sunday afternoon. I love spicy food and certainly was not disappointed. We had the triple dip... from the appetizer menu. mango salsa, hummus, quesadilla cheese... wow More chips please... We had the chili.. jerk chicken, Chicken Alfredo bread sticks.. Off the charts with flavor.. Wow why didn't we discover this place before. The service was excellent too.. No doggy bags today... all gone..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mile also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Nine Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.