We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Mile

Nine Mile
233 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1659
828-505-3121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Vernon, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We chose this restaurant because of the reviews on Trip Advisor! It was a great choice!

The Caribbean style menu is a nice change from the typical cuisines offering a variety of flavors and spices. They also had several vegan options.

The service was great, food excellent all in a quaint inviting atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    221
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fusion experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

What an amazing restaurant and certainly worth every bit the wait. A fusion of Jamacian and well I don't really know what. The meal was excellent. The wait staff great. Even though there was a line we never felt rushed. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not your usual run of the mill restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The menu contains mostly dishes from the Caribbean so the choices were unusual. Most were made with either jerk chicken or tofu. This was a change of pace from what we usually eat and we really enjoyed the food. We arrived early for dinner so didn't have any problems being seated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great food w/ a Caribbean vibe/flavor. This is located near the visitors center....more residential. But if ur looking for a little spice then this place is it and worth the trek. Casual and funky w/ great service too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Chill out, Relax, & Enjoy the Local Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nine Mile was recommended to me from the people from our Bed and Breakfast in Asheville, 1900 Inn on Montford. The laid-back reggae atmosphere appealed to me, as I really love reggae. Beyond the chill beats, I so enjoyed the colorful local paintings on the walls and the delicious food!

My food was really great. I had the Nine Mile specialty- and it did not disappoint. It took some time for the food to come out, but it was worth the wait- as it was all freshly prepared. My husband got the Raggy Road, and it was very good. So good in fact that I came back again in the evening for a repeat of the Raggy Road. Tip: Watch the heat! Medium spicy is actually quite spicy. Yum! The owners deserve a pat on the back for making this great food affordable in a relaxed setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mile also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Nine Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.