We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerk tofu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Mile

Nine Mile
233 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1659
828-505-3121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 629 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Jerk tofu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This little place serves flavorful Jamaican dishes, and as a vegetarian I was very pleased that many of the entrees offered tofu as an option seasoned with the same jerk spices as the meats. Entrees come with a nice salad with very tasty dressings and seasoned bread. Many entrees allow you to order the amount of heat you want in your dish, and I was grateful the waitress suggested that I not order "hot" because the "medium" was plenty spicy - and she was right!
The place itself is a tad noisy, so it's not the place to go if you want to engage in a lot of conversation with your dining companions, but if your goal is a good Caribbean meal, this is a good choice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    206
    27
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I would eat here everyday if I could!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is my second review of Nine Mile because it has to be the best food I have ever eaten. Seriously, My husband and I considered going back two evenings in a row and ordering the same thing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Yummy and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I found Nine Mile to be not only very good but affordable. A short wait and we had our seats. Each entrée comes with a salad and natty bread. I wanted more of the bread. We had Pressure Drop and Cool Runnings and both where good. If you are not too hungry you could share. A good, fresh meal for a good price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate here for the first time recently. As reported by many other diners, the atmosphere is casual and the food is fresh, well-prepared, and is offered at a variety of levels of spiciness. Our party of 4 contained 2 who like it spicy and two who don't and we were all very happy with our food choices. Many of their dishes are pasta-based and they will just bring you a bowl of freshly cooked pasta with butter or marinara sauce if that's what you want. Their signature bread was yummy, yummy and loaded with garlic. It's a crowded, popular place and you may have to wait but the wait is well worth it. We went without reservations around 7:30 on a very rainy Sunday evening and had to wait only about 25 min. We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yummy for the tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What can I say, only in town for three days and dined here twice! The food was really good, the beer cold and the coconut cake to die for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mile also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Nine Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.