We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty exotic food in great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Mile

Nine Mile
233 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1659
828-505-3121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tasty exotic food in great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went here last night on the back of a recommendation by as Asheville local who knew we wanted tasty/spicy interesting food in nice atmosphere. Arrived 7 pm on Thurs eve and it was packed. Bustling, noisy, great food smells - it was buzzing. Managed to sit at bar and served promptly by the excellent Bastien - merci pour le Bon service mon ami. Fine selection of local beers and good wines. Food looks and tastes delicious. Prices reasonable. Really enjoyed it.
The only slight downside was the air conditioning units on the customer side of the bar which blow down and make it feel cool. These may be required to clear the kitchen smells but mean that you need a light sweater to stay warm

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    221
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Fave Dinner Spot in AVL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'm a local and eat here often. The staff, food, service, and atmosphere is all wonderful. I recommend the Raggy Road, the Soon Come, and the Concrete Jungle. I am addicted to the Raggy Road. I like to eat there at 3pm on a weekday if I can, really enjoy the reggae music and slow pace of that time of day. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Happily Recommend !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nine Mile is a bright and happy taste treat with great food and long waits.
(No reservations, small dining room)
Grab a drink at the bar and be prepared to hang there or outside and wait - its worth it.
Interesting flavor combinations and generous portions. Go really hungry or split an entree
with your friend. A great value for the $.
Really want to give it 4.5 stars with only .5 detraction for 50 min wait on a Friday late night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Extremely good appetizers, very good service. Be prepared for a wait which isn't bad if you saddle up at the bar. They have a nice outside seating area. The food is very good. However, be warned, they make it hot if you ask for it. For me it was perfect because I like food but if you get it hot you get an infusion of lemon grass, jalapeno and habanero. Their one hiccup was they confused which plates to make hot and which ones to make mild, I ended up trading with my fiancee half way through our meals when we realized the mistake. Luckily her dish was delicious as was mine so I didn't mind doing it. I did feel bad for my friend who was enjoying it but felt it was a bit too brutal. I don't think they took my word on the mistake because no correction was made or was offered hence the 4 star and not the 5 star. All in all it's worth visiting and it's very very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Biggest problem is choosing among the menu items. Even the lunch menu was two pages! Zucchini strips as a substitute for noodles AT.A.RESTAURANT? Unheard of...believe me, I've looked. It was about $20 for two lunches with water...and worth it to me but he portion was likely a little small for my husband. Reggae music...and not too loud. Cute bistro outdoor tables on the sidewalk in fashionable Historic Montford. I'll go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mile also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Nine Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.