We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dry rubbed ribs overcooked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 12 Bones Smokehouse

12 Bones Smokehouse
5 Riverside Dr, Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-253-4499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Panama City Beach FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dry rubbed ribs overcooked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Ribs were overcooked. If burnt crusty ribs are your thing, you will live these. Still, the flavor was good and they did fall off the bone. Mac and cheese is out of the box. Thought it would be homemade. Collards were great. Well seasoned. Cornbread good as was the sweet potato. Place was packed and servings plentiful.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    189
    71
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meh, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ditto to reviewer iselynjenniep's comments, except that I went to the original location down by the river. I had smoked chicken, bbq, and sides. Smoked chicken was a bit odd - almost sort-of wet, the bbq was ok. 12 Bones is a cute, chic kind of place (especially the Sweeten Creek Rd location which is a converted gas station) - decent food, but more for telling your friends that you went there, or that you went for bbq. If you want REAL yummy BBQ pork, you will have to go to Clayton, Georgia.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“honestly, i thought it was a bit overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place gets so much hype, especially since it's Obama's favorite restaurant. It was good, but not THAT good. I enjoyed the sides more than the BBQ. It's a casual order-at-the-counter place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious kind of Gourmet BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Although we live +- 80 miles from this place, every time we go to Asheville we try to have lunch at this place, my favorites: ribs with blueberries chipotle BBQ sauce, jalapeno cheese grits and their unique cole slaw. Great place to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Arguing about the best barbecue is almost as much fun as...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

as arguing about the best baseball team (my all time favorites are the Ridgewood in Bluff City & the 1950 Phillies). But that doesn't mean that I wouldn't eat at one of these fine restaurants at lunch or take out for supper weekly. It's not quite "go fetch"- one stands in line to order (usually with the nicest strangers)' and carries off one's beverage (great beer selection) and cutlery. very pleasant wait staff bring your victuals to your table and remain attentive. I usually get a pork sandwich and my wife and son order the ribs and they are always been perfect too. I am not usually a collard fan but somehow these folks make them so tasty. The beans also are so good, both kinds.
I have eaten at both locations and both are great. The grandchildren love them. The line goes go quickly. A friend tells me that he calls to have take-out ready at 4 to take home. good idea, Brian.
Please be advised that my rave recommendations for the two 12 Bones are independent of the fact that a national hero, Senator and later President Obama chose to dine here. Good idea, Barack.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 12 Bones Smokehouse also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to 12 Bones Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 12 Bones Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.