We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dissapointment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 12 Bones Smokehouse

12 Bones Smokehouse
5 Riverside Dr, Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-253-4499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“what a dissapointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

we were looking so forward to good southern bbq ribs, etc. and were more than dissapointed by the below-average food. the ribs were overcooked and dry. the brisket was on the dry side also. both were served warm. the macaroni and cheese "soup" was awful. the baked beans were right out of the can (and, yes, i even saw the cans).

12 bones is in the outskirts of downtown asheville, in the arts district. it's actually a former gas station. it's claim to fame is that obama has eaten there.

the way it works is that you wait on line at least about 15 minutes, order your food, pay for it, get your own drinks and flatware, find a table, and just about the time you do all that, your food arrives. i am shocked at the high ratings that this restaurant receives. unless we had an incredible off day, the food was nothing less than sub-standard. i would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    190
    71
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch today, sure glad we found this place!! I had the "Hogzilla", best BBQ sandwich I've ever eaten. My wife had a smoked turkey sandwich, it was so moist and flavorful. The place doesn't look like much when you drive up, but don't let that scare you off. They serve some seriously good food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The rave reviews for this place are well-deserved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went to the original 12 Bones location in the Arts District. The line was about 50 folks ahead of us. It was worth the wait. I had a 1/2 slab of ribs with the blueberry chipotle sauce, jalapeno cheese grits, collard green, and corn bread. Plus a draft local craft beer. At at a picnic table outside, and it was a glorious experience. Had I arrived nearer to 2:00 pm (when I left), the line was fewer than ten people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“My second favorite BBQ joint of all time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I love 12 Bones. They do their meats right - slow cooked all morning, good sides, large drinks, and a really good selection of sauces. The place is only open for lunch and usually has a solid line a few minutes after it opens. But the staff are super friendly and get they get folks through quickly. I am partial to the pulled pork platter or the brisket platter, either with the Blueberry Chipotle sauce. Occasionally, I'll get a take away order of ribs for dinner too - their ribs are excellent. I've only had better ribs one place (Twin Anchors in Chicago, and that was many years ago).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Went here for the first time. The food was very good. Will definitely go back another time. The restaurant was unique.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 12 Bones Smokehouse also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to 12 Bones Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 12 Bones Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.