We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff, but Good Coffee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of High Five Coffee Bar

High Five Coffee Bar
190 Broadway St, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
(828) 398-0209
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 626 restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude Staff, but Good Coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I absolutely love the coffee and their efforts to make all their syrups in house (the vanilla is amazing)... but, I've been in many, many times and I have yet to get good service by the people at the register or the baristas. They look like they are perpetually angry at something and very often make rude remarks like I'm bothering them by wanting coffee. I have a love-hate relationship with this place and am probably not coming back... But if you like angry hipsters then by all means go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay w, Owner at High Five Coffee Bar, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
I am sorry that you seem to have a bad experience when you visit High Five Coffee, but I would like to point out a couple of key components of giving useful feedback. First of all, as the overwhelming number of reviews indicate, we have a friendly and professional crew of baristas. Your implication that they appear angry and you are treated with a rude response every time you come in seems not only unlikely, but much more reflective of your own expectations than of the service you get. I find it difficult to believe criticism that is both over generalized and rude. Your name calling of my staff being "angry hipsters" is not only akin to childish name calling, but is not effective as a form of critical feedback. Please consider providing more productive feedback in the future...of any business you choose to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    3
    3
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Different Name for a Great Coffeeshop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

High Five Coffee Bar on Broadway in Asheville is still one of my favorite coffee shops, although they changed their name from "Dripolator (which was one of my all-time favorite coffee shop names) last December. It's the same friendly staff and the same great coffee. They know me even though I live in Chapel Hill and only visit every few months.

Some nice outside seating and a lovely space indoors. There's free parking in the lot across the street and some on the street.

I've always liked their selection of sandwiches and I had an amazing macaroon last visit.

It'll probably take years for me to stop thinking of them as Dripolator, but I still love the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay w, Owner at High Five Coffee Bar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dirk,

Thanks again for your review and even more so for your thoughtful feedback in general about operating a business and how keep on the positive side of customers and feedback. Cheers to you! jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love the espresso ... if you have the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Best espresso in Asheville based on my experience, but of course I use Counter Culture coffee at home so they have an advantage there to start with. Nice location and cafe with plenty of room. Only issue is they are on the slow side. So if you have some time and don't mind a short wait then this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just returned from Italy and found high five coffee to have coffee/espresso/cappuccino that stood up to ridiculously high Italian standards. Treat yourself with a beverage from High Five.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great espresso, typical food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love good espresso and this to me was the best espresso I've had outside of the Pacific Northwest. The espresso had a nice creaminess to it and a little citrus as well coming through. The food was okay, nothing to write home about or reccommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Five Coffee Bar also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to High Five Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Five Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.