We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and safety issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Asheville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Asheville to your Saves list
Courtyard Asheville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Buckstone Place, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service and safety issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The toilet seat was loose. This was reported as soon as we found the problem, which was about 3 pm on the day we arrived.
It was still not fixed correctly when we left a day and a half later. Management tried to make up for this by offerring free breakfast. That was okay, but the problem should have been fixed. The hotel was also undergoing roof repair or maintenance,
My husband and I also felt that the bathtub was very difficult to get into and out of for a shower, because of how close the toilet was to the tub. It felt unsafe, so we had to help each other do that. In the vanity area, the only electrical outlet was under the towel rack, so you had to reach under the towels to use the outlet. They should have been on opposite walls.

Room Tip: Inspect the room and check the bath, toilet, and vanity areas for safety and ease of use. Be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Asheville. Please accept my apology that our maintenance team did not address the loose toilet seat as they should have during your stay. I have spoken to both the front desk staff and the maintenance staff of making sure any type of issue is addressed immediately to be corrected. From your review, I would guess that you were in one our rooms with the spa tub in the bathroom. Due to the enlarged tub, the toilet is close to the tub. The tub also has a higher step to get in and out of the tub. I am hoping that these issues can be resolved during our next renovation. I agree that the location of the outlet in the vanity area, right below the towel rack was a poor design choice. We have doubles up our towels when the hang so as to not cover up the outlet. We will try to correct that as well during the next renovation. Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    57
    29
    12
    1
See reviews for
32
51
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a stop off on the Parkway drive, we didn't make a reservation in advance but based our choice on TA reviews.
The desk staff were welcoming, providing local information and extra toiletries when requested.
The room was clean, light, fresh smelling with clean linens and comfortable beds.
My wife and our young daughter enjoyed using the swimming pool, my wife also enjoyed the gym.
Our only criticism-soundproofing, to be specific, the ceilings. We were bothered by the 'elephants' on the floor above, the creaking and almost shaking of the ceilings. This was also noticed in the corridors and other guests mentioned this as well, a shame in such a newish building.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I made last minute reservations for a trip to Biltmore Estate to attend a wedding. The package included the stay at Courtyard Marriott. Check-in was easy, all staff were friendly and the room was wonderful. The beds are so comfortable that I slept well both nights we were there. Room condition was excellent, roomy & clean. The b'fast was really good. I had the b'fast BLT with fruit and orange juice. The food was fresh and hot. There was a Carrabas right across the parking lot that was also excellent and very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet but the backside has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I went for a get away to the Biltmore. We stayed at this hotel because I like to stay at Mariott's when I travel. The hotel was clean, the room was average size, but SMELLED! After opening the window the odor left, but still was musty smelling. The front desk when we checked in was not helpful and although not rude, definitely not what I am used to with Mariott's When we checked out the Assist. Manager and the front desk worker were VERY nice and helpful. I do not know if I would stay at this hotel again, but would definitely stay at another Mariott. Also, they did not clean our room the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackM-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Asheville, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were visiting the Biltmore Estate. Please accept my apology that our desk clerk at check-in did not seem above average. All clerks have been reminded of what is expected of them and how our guests should be greeted. I am glad that your departure experience was much better. Also, with regards to the odor in the room, we do not use any chemicals to mask over any odors in the room, but they certainly should be odor neutral. We certainly could have swithced your room for you or treated it mechanically had we been notified. Why your room was not serviced by housekeeping, is hard to figure out without knowing what room you had stayed in. Sometimes we get our signals wrong from our guests with regards to service, for example of "do not disturb" signs left on the doors by mistake. We will always do what we can, even after housekeeping has left for the day when we find this out. Thank you again for staying with us while you were in Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This was a great overnight stop. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. The indoor pool was nice for the kids after a day of hiking. There was chain restaurant next door for easy supper. Great night stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Enjoyed the mountains, and found the Courtyard to be conveniently located with just a short hop through the tunnel to Downtown. Nicely situated too, for easy access to the Mall just a couple of minutes away. Had a nightmare with the wifi at this hotel, though, and after an initial couple of hours where as was fine it became flakey. We tried everything to get it to work properly and eventually gave up. The following morning in conversation with Jack, the General Manager it became clear that the wifi is in need of replacement. You mentioned, Jack, that it needs some customer complaints to get something done, so please take this as one (although in a nice way).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am a Marriott member and requested a king bed. When I reserved my room, they only had rooms with two full size beds. At check-in I asked about a king and they didn't have any, but the manager said give me a minute to see what I can do and he gave me a free upgrade to a corner suite. I didn't expect this and was grateful. Breakfast staff gave outstanding service. Marriott has an extremely good customer service program. The lobby has been updated at this location.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back side of the hotel for a better view and less noise from the parking lot.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Asheville

Address: 1 Buckstone Place, Asheville, NC 28805
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Asheville 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Asheville Hotel Asheville
Asheville Courtyard
Asheville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.