We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse International Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse International Inn to your Saves list
GuestHouse International Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Hendersonville Road, Asheville, NC 28803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
plains of northern indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

This was my second stay at this Express. It is not the typical Holiday Inn Express. This is an older property, so it does not have all of the extras that most have, like an exercise room or spa (how often do you really use them). The rooms all have exterior doors, so you most likely will have several flights of steps to climb. It also can make for a cold walk down to breakfast in the morning.

My room was clean and comfortable. There is road noise, but just turn on the fan in the ac/heat unit to block that out. I never heard any noise from the other rooms, and it was nearly full every night I was here. The toilet/tub cubicle is small, and the exhaust fan does not work well, but I have been in many hotels that have that problem. Otherwise the room was good size. The breakfast was the usual items, well cared for and kept full. The breakfast area was also clean.

Overall this is a good value.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    97
    41
    13
    21
See reviews for
65
99
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Staying at this Holiday Inn was tiring. After a long day of sight-seeing, we were ready to crash. The parking situation at this hotel is extremely inconvenient. Because of the shape of the property, there are not enough parking spots close to the room entrances. We had to lug all our belongings more than .1 mile to our room. We couldn't drop off our luggage in front of the room, then find parking because there were too many people circling, trying to find a parking spot, and there wasn't enough room for them to go around us. Elderly or disabled guests, or parents trying to keep track of children, would find this situation challenging.

There were no extra outlets in the room and the internet cord did not reach the desk area. The air-conditioner was difficult to control. Otherwise, the room was clean, the breakfast fare was the usual nice selections, the beds were comfortable.

  • Liked — The usual clean Holiday Inn atmosphere
  • Disliked — Inconvenient parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

No little fridges available. Tiny parking lot. Tiny bathroom. No closet. Had to park in next door restaurant's lot. Damp, damp, damp. Did I mention it was damp? The sheets were damp; the towels were damp; the carpet was damp and after one night, our clothes were damp too. The maid had left the shower head pointed out of the shower, so when I stupidly neglected to check it's position before I turned it on, it sprayed me and the toilet and floor with more DAMPNESS. Very inferior. In my opinion, should not be allowed to call itself Holiday Inn Express as all the others I have stayed in (except Seattle) have been superior. Good location, but my stay left me grumpy.

  • Liked — it's location
  • Disliked — it's dampness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

The hotel is in the perfect location for all Asheville sites - Grove Arcade, Biltmore, Tourists Baseball, and even a good jumping off point for Chiminey Rock, , Mt Mitchell, Cherokee, and the National Park. As with all Holiday Inn Express hotels, convenient complimentary breakfast is a good start to your day.
The hotel has no elevator, so be aware you may be required to carry luggage up 3 flights. Pool is small, but clean. $89 price fits any budget.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georga
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

The service was no existant, waited in line for 20 min to check-in and I am a Gold Priorty Club Member. The Parking lot was very small and the rooms were small also. The road side rooms are very noisy with traffic.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

Good location, near entrance to Biltmore Estate and on-ramp to I-40! Clean rooms, restaurants nearby!! Overall, good stay for a good price!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Close to road, so a little noisy at night.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to stay on the back side of hotel, away from main road.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2004

Stayed here for two nights in March. This is a basic but clean and well run motel, very close to the Biltmore Estate and Village.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse International Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse International Inn

Address: 234 Hendersonville Road, Asheville, NC 28803
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse International Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GuestHouse International Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse International Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.