We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Munster, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stopped in Asheville on our way to South Carolina. The Holiday Inn had one of the better rates in the area. Hotel is very clean and up to date. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful.
Our room was standard for this type of hotel, but I do like that they have queen size beds.
My wife was impressed with the comfort of the beds and pillows.
Breakfast was somewhat standard, but they did have scrambled eggs and sausage in addition to a pancake machine.
Overall this is a very good value for the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your good review. Our hotel does have a great location with a wonderful conscious staff. Asheville hotels can be a little pricey on the weekends but we try to keep our rates at a reasonable level. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Mamager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    113
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
89
104
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for a weekend trip to Asheville. Great proximity to the Biltmore Estates, Blue Ridge Parkway, and downtown Asheville. Clean and comfortable. Hot tub was a plus after a day of hiking. Breakfast had a lot of variety. Included yogurt, cereals, sausage, eggs, juices, and yummy cinnamon rolls. Room was a little humid but was remedied by turning AC down colder than I would have liked. Would stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us & for your great comments about our hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay in Asheville. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel while in Asheville, NC and I would stay again. The hotel is spotless, the staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is wonderful and the location is very central to everything Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review. Our staff takes great pride in keeping our hotel clean, well maintained with a wonderful attitude. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time staying here as we normally stay at the Hampton Inn next door. Hotel is very nice and clean. Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable, not so sure about the pillows labeled "soft and firm" felt the same to me. Room was nice and roomy. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I am so glad that you will choose our hotel again in the future. We have a lot of guests that return again & again. It is important to feel comfortable when you are away from home & know everything is clean & well maintained. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel was nice and the room was modern. The breakfast was great with both hot & cold options. The neighborhood was safe and the hotel was conveniently located close the highway. My family had mixed reviews on the comfort of the mattress. The room was a bit pricey for this type of hotel ($188 including taxes), but we price may have been increased since it was July 4th holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We do have a great location & we are very convenient to many attractions. I agree that holiday weekends are expensive everywhere but I am glad you chose us. We just had a major renovation this past winter & we have all new mattresses. They are rated as medium so we try to please both preferences. Come back if the off season b/c Asheville is fun all year round. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Clean, fresh, quiet (full of families, so quiet is much appreciated). We took a jacuzzi room, but the bathroom was again better appointed than the typical HIE. We paid in advance for breakfast but there were plenty of seats without reserving. Breakfast is relatively expensive buffet @$10 and is frankly convenience food, but when in Asheville have the meat and milk which is as good as some of the best to be found. Also, a few miles past the interstate is the local Krispy Kreme distributor - hit em up at 22:00 for hot donuts.

Holiday Inn express (HIE) has kept my business through it's extensive, not expensive, attention to guest needs. This is a beautiful property and better appointed than the typical downtown HIE. This location near central Asheville is a hidden gem -- I say somewhat wryly because of another HIE commonality here, I expect that the entrance to the hotel is nearly impossible to see from the road. HIE guys!! Your ginormous sign visible in three counties from the interstate can't be seen from the street; even with GPS there're some limits to what the human eye can make out.

Room Tip: I don't know why, but HIE does not seem to update its TV channel guides. The guide did not matc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am glad you are a loyal IHG Rewards Member. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown. It is a great hotel! Next time try our Holiday Inn Express in Asheville. We have a wonderful complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday afternoon to start our week long vacation. We were spending 3 days here and the hotel was great. Quiet room, spacious suite, staff super pleasant. Came in everyday to a clean room. David (front desk attendant) has a great sense of humor and was very sweet. Breakfast hot and plenty of choices. Hubby said coffee was good. We had a balcony and a partial view of the mountains. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We really try to make our guests very comfortable so they can enjoy Asheville. Our staff is terrific and love to give our guests 'local' events & restaurants to go to. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall

Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Asheville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#26 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.