We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just ok!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I mostly stay at hampton inn but found the holiday inn express to be a great value at this loc. The hotel was clean, breakfast was great, room was decent! The difference, which is a deal breaker for me,is the front desk staff! They were not friendly at all except for the Saturday morning male employee! From the male night front desk employee to the lady, Megan, who checked me out of the hotel, I found them robotic, not friendly, and definitely, did not want to be there! They didn't smile at all! Please note, front desk employees should smile! It's a must!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for your review. Our staff takes great care of our hotel and our guests. Sometimes when we are especially busy their caring attitude maybe doesn't show but it is there. Please come back again because we are the best choice at our location. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    94
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
71
94
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Calvary, WI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. What I liked: The small balcony had great views of the mountains surrounding the town. Our family thought the breakfast selection of hot and cold items was very good (we loved the warm cinnamon rolls). There was one employee who took care of the breakfast bar, and she did a great job - she replenished the food and drinks as needed and kept the area very clean. The bathroom, beds, and floor in the room were clean. What I didn't like: It seemed like there was a lack of attention to detail. For instance, while the carpet, beds, and bathroom were clean, there was a spider near the ceiling and cobwebs in the corners of the room. My husband killed the spider because I wouldn't be able to sleep knowing it was roaming around in our room! Overall, this hotel was not bad, the price was reasonable (other hotels in the area were very expensive), and I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Linda_in_Wisconsin,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel and staff are fine. The location is not great-- on a busy road with few local food options and no possibility of walking anywhere.
The breakfast is pretty awful. Omelets with nasty squeeze cheese food in them, rubbery boiled eggs, too-sweet proceeded pastries, cheep and unsatisfying bread. I wish there was a no breakfast option to save a few dollars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Our location is very good for people that want the convenience of having two interstates nearby. The downtown hotels are excellent for walking around and a lot of local restaurants. I am sorry our breakfast didn't meet your standards but it is a typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast. Thank you for taking time for the review. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

To celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary my wife and I planned to visit the Biltmore Estate, I booked a room (in early July for a mid July stay) in this hotel simply due to its proximity to Biltmore. My wife has been ill for some time and we were unable to make the trip. We have seasons passes for Biltmore and visit it and the surrounding Asheville area as often as her health allows. I called the day before to cancel the reservation and was informed it was non-refundable; that I would be charged for the room whether we stay or not. I was told "Mr. Patel" was the only one who could cancel my reservation. I asked to speak to him and was connected to his voice mail. I left a message and he never returned my call. We don't use credit cards but secured the room with my father in law's cc. I never heard from Mr. Patel but the charges showed up on the credit card anyway. The CC company told us that the charges were made prior to our stay and there was no way to refute. This is an outrage! I will never patronize any property owned by IHG ever again. And I can assure you I will let everyone I know and those I don't, of this unscrupulous, shady, underhanded way this organization conducts business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I got your message and refunded all of your deposit. I talked with you today and explained that it will take some time before the refund shows up on your credit card. I am sorry for the delay. Your type of a reservation is usually non-refundable but we always refund guests deposits if they cancel before the date of arrival (like you did). I hope you come back and stay with us in the future! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this property in conjunction with a Biltmore family package and were quite pleased. It was clean and about 10 minutes away from the Biltmore house if even. We had a 2queen room which with 4 people wasn't the roomiest but what is these days. Friendly front desk staff, nice selection of hot and cold items for breakfast in the morning. We had our reservations after reading recent reviews but it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad everyone enjoyed themselves. Please come back soon because there is so much to do in Asheville! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel was very clean and well maintained. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast room was very clean and well stocked. The location was easy to find and very convenient to the horse show we were attending. We would definitely pick this hotel again and we are looking forward to our next trip to Asheville NC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are looking forward to your return! There is so much to do & see in the Asheville area. Our hotel has a great location to get around easily. Thank you for the great review. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I booked this for one night on their website. Rest of stay will be at a b&b.

Pros: the price. This city is pricey for lodging. This was almost half the downtown accommodations.

Beds are comfy, room size is large as is very nice bathroom.

Cons: the carpet(in room) is really filthy looking and the halls smell like something masking odor.

The a/c doesn't get cold enough.

I requested a room w a balcony and they said the were all booked up. I recommend calling before hand if you booked via their website to ensure you get one.

Location- good and bad: took us about 10-15 mins to get downtown. Downtown is fun but I also don't mind staying out of the area, it was packed when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I understand your concern regarding the damp smell but Asheville has had a lot of rain. I hope you enjoyed our area and return soon. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall

Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Asheville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#28 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.