We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Asheville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Asheville South

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Asheville South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Asheville South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rocky Ridge Rd., Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Wingate Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #34 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Asheville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Fairfield was a nice place to stay. Although its in a great location in the outskirts of Asheville and is convenient to all major highways in the region and some major shopping areas, the hotel area itself is not particularly scenic location.

I would recommend your staying here if you are looking for nice, clean hotel near Asheville and with convenient access to Asheville, the Biltmore Estate, Asheville Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    60
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
38
59
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, RI
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is an approximately 15 year old 6 story property (formerly a Wingate) located conveniently off I-26 (and 2miles from I-40) in a small pod of 3 hotels on a slight hill with good access to plenty of service (gas, restaurants, etc). Hotel is in excellent shape- rooms are clean, comfortable and somewhat spacious (I had a suite). Rooms have a small fridge, microwave, 2 LCD TVs, fast internet. I even noticed brass fixtures which is unusual for a Fairfield as I’ve stayed in over 100. Small indoor pool and exercise room, typical for this Marriott brand. Pleasant and accommodating staff. Free breakfast includes 3 hot choices and fresh fruit. Good launch point if you’re looking to visit or do business in Asheville, only a 10-15 minute drive. If you’re looking for BBQ, try Moe’s Original BBQ in the downtown area, just superb.

Room Tip: Suites are your best choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Check in was easy and fast (they even let us check in 2 hours early). Coffee and tea are set out ALL DAY AND NIGHT! Rooms are clean and odor free. Gym is small but does the job if you want a good workout (we got 3 good days in). Indoor pool is kinda small but they also have hot tub. Breakfast selection is perfect (eggs, sausage, boiled eggs, waffles, oatmeal, grits, cereal, sausage and gravy, muffins, bread, fruit)
Has been a very pleasant visit. Will return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville South, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Brandyrn
Thank you for taking time to comment on our hotel. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you will be returning in the future. We will look forward to serving you in the future.

Kim R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is one of the cleanest Fairfield hotels I've stayed at. The staff was super friendly. The pool area was small but that's pretty par for the course with the Springhill Suites and Fairfield Inn line from Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville South, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
TeachTN73,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review!! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return soon !!

Kim R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We checked into the Fairfield and our room had an odor. We told the staff on our way out to dinner and they asked us if we wanted them to febreeze the room. We said we check it out again on our return and let them know. When we got back the odor (bad body odor smell) was still present so we called the desk and asked them to come up. After a couple of minutes I felt like the odor was getting stronger so I called back and told her I didn't think I could sleep in the room. She said her co-worker was on her way up, but that they would put us in a different room if I'd like. I asked for a new room and they upgraded us to a king one bedroom suite with a whirlpool. The other desk person was at our door before I hung up the phone and she completely agreed with us about the odor. They never hesitated to move us, we're extremely polite and pleasant through the whole process. This hotel has excellent service! Breakfast options were good, pool and outside seating are are nice, and hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville South, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Letter68
Thanks for the great review. I am glad that the staff handled your issue promptly and helped you enjoy your stay. We hope you will return to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Asheville South location for your next visit to Asheville.

Kim R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this Fairfield for an out of town wedding. This was the recommended hotel by the bride & groom. The room was nice and specious and the breakfast the pretty standard complimentary breakfast. The indoor pool was nice. The location was convienent to where we needed to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel was nice and convenient to Asheville, the Biltmore, and Hendersonville. It was also a nice drive to/from the dragon. Staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. It was nice to be able to enjoy a quick breakfast before heading out for the day. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Asheville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Asheville South

Address: 11 Rocky Ridge Rd., Asheville, NC 28806 (Formerly Wingate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Asheville South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn Asheville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Asheville South Hotel Asheville
Fairfield Asheville
Asheville Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Asheville South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.