We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

I booked this hotel online early last week, received my confirmation number and then cancelled the reservation online later that same day. I received a cancellation number and email as a result. I looked at my credit card online statement on Monday to find that they had charged me $200 as a no show. My room was cancelled and I had confirmation of it from THEIR system but they will not make this right. Beware!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 30, 2009
I am sorry to read about your experience. I want to make this right, please contact me at the hotel with your cancellation number and I will immediately correct this error.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Andrea Behrens- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    199
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
227
292
30
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Rate quoted at booking was higher than rate quoted to another visitor at check-in (for the same room). Breakfast area was congested and did not flow smoothly. The new "pre-packaged" and frozen "breakfasts" Hampton's are offering are really sub-standard, not at all healthy and use a tremendous amount of paper, styrofoam and plastic.

  • Liked — room was clean and the staff let us change from double beds to a king
  • Disliked — breakfast area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

I stayed here one Sunday night for work purposes. This hotel is definitely not as good as most Hampton Inns where I've stayed.

The room is large and the bed is comfortable, but the TV's remote control didn't work, there were no bags in the garbage bins, and it was tough to find extra electrical outlets for laptop/cell phone charger/etc.

Walls are fairly thin, too. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 30, 2009
Dear Melanie,

Thank you for being our guest during your trip to Asheville, NC and for taking the time to write a review. We truly value the feedback we receive and use it to continually improve our guest's experience. We have recently upgraded all of our televisions to the new flat panels. We would love the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to the Asheville area!

Sincerely,
Andrea Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, MN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for 5 nights in May-June. The hotel is nice but not as nice as some other Hamptons I have stayed in before.

The room was ok. The carpet looked liked it was not as clean as it could have been. The beds were great!!

The breakfast area was clean and not crowed at all. The breakfast offerings were very good, all except their microwave items. The pancakes were like cardboard and the items were just not very tasty. Other Hamptons I have stayed at had full breakfasts already cooked and delicious. Hamptons need to get together and do something about these microwave items. All in all the Hampton on Tunnel Road was a nice place to stay.

  • Liked — The beds were great
  • Disliked — Breakfast and the pool was cold
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

For a few bucks extra, we chose the Jacuzzi room. After a day walking around Biltmore, we were happy to have it. The room was reasonably clean – not immaculate, but livable. There’s some grout missing in the bath room. Even though the carpet ends a ½ inch from the wall, it looked new. The wall paper and drapes also looked new. Our room was quiet even though it was close to the ice machine, pool and sauna. To me, quiet is a really a huge plus.

Over Packers may have a problem putting stuff away. There isn’t much storage, just one closet and 3 drawers. The bath is very small with almost no space at all. I think the Jacuzzi is taking up most of the allotted space in there.

I’ve never cared for Hampton breakfasts. I must say, this Hampton's breakfast was better than usual. There was a choice of 3 nuke yer own mini breakfast entrees. Mmm, frozen breakfast.

One really nice thing was the 5 page listing of near by restaurants. It’s in alphabetical order with cuisine type, price range, phone numbers and driving directions.

Despite its few faults, this Hampton is a decent place to stay.

  • Liked — jacuzzi
  • Disliked — could have been cleaner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel twice this year - once in August and again the first weekend of Oct. 2007. This is your typical Hampton Inn with comfortable beds, clean and ok breakfast. Hot food has to be microwaved and isn't very good. Carpet in room needed to be replaced or at least cleaned otherwise rooms were nice but nothing special. There is only one small window in the room which doesn’t open which bothers me but my family didn’t care. Price was $50 more for Friday and Saturday nights.
The location was good as it was easy to get downtown and lots of restaurants near by.
One thing I didn’t like was there isn’t a separate business center. All they have is just one pc in the lobby on a very small desk and no printer available. No printer makes it difficult when trying to get directions or your airline boarding passes. Also no privacy as anyone can see what you’re accessing on the computer as they walk by.
We have also stayed at the Homewood Suites by Hilton in Feb. 2007. Homewood is just a few blocks away from the Hampton Inn on Tunnel Road and is much nicer but no rooms were available there this time.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We visited the Hampton Inn on Tunnel Road, in Ashville, North Carolina in August 12 to the 15, 2007.
The hotel is just wonderful, the staff was great,
and they have a computer you can use to email your contacts.
The breakfast was great , too.
Close to a shopping mall, and downtown Ashville,
great restaurants nearby, Have to eat at the Corner Stone,
Cracker Barrel too. So much to see and do.
I recommend this Hotel !!! and the area.

  • Liked — Very nice place to stay
  • Disliked — The hill to climb from your car, if you park in the front
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Address: 204 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.