We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here Now - Very Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #4 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Ellicott City, MD
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Here Now - Very Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We try to stay at Hampton Inns a lot of the time, as they are consistently good. This one does not disappoint. It's in a great central location for exploring Asheville and all it's sights including, of course, the Biltmore Estate. There is always the free warm breakfast and free parking and free Internet. Our double queen room is quite roomy and has a fridge and microwave. AND, this is the first hotel room we've had with so many lights! Usually, hotel rooms are poorly lit. There are other amenities that we're not using, including workout room, pool, etc. Our room seems nice and quiet; beds and pillows very comfortable. We would definitely come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    149
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
176
220
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a 4-night midweek stay at this Hampton Inn and were very pleased. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is clean, attractive and comfortable. It sits off the highway, up a hill, and is surrounded by trees and pretty landscaping.
It is about a 15 minute drive to the Biltmore Estate and to downtown Asheville. Although we used our own car to drive to Biltmore we did take advantage of the hotel's shuttle service to go downtown and out to dinner in the evenings. This was a nice benefit for us, as it allowed us to avoid traffic and parking issues. The only thing to remember is that they would like at least 30 minutes notice when you want to go somewhere or return. This was never a problem for us and we enjoyed visiting with the staff who shuttled us to and fro. (Be sure to check with the hotel as to the hours that the shuttle is available....on our visit it was from 8a.m. to 9:30pm)
The indoor pool/jacuzi area is spacious and very pretty with comfortable chairs. We made use of this area, as well as the adjacent outdoor patio. This was a great place to relax and unwind after a long drive to Ashville.
Just a short drive down Tunnel Road there are many of the usual chain restaurants. There is also an Italian (chain) restaurant right behind the hotel, about a one or two minute walk so no need to get back in the car.
We found the complimentary breakfast to offer a good variety of items and it was more than adequate for our needs. If you are in a hurry they also provide a to-go snack bag with a muffin, bottle of water, breakfast bar, apple and some mints. There was always hot coffee and hot water for tea or cocoa provided. It was nice to come back after dinner and enjoy a cup of coffee along with the complimentary fresh cookies.
Every staff member with whom we interacted was friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions and concerns and certainly enhanced our visit. We felt that we received very good value and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

For just a few dollars more per night than other nearby hotels, we enjoyed a two-room suite. The room as well as the public areas were exceptionally clean and well kept. The staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Breakfast offered numerous hot and cold choices and my wife, who has Celiac Disease, found items she could safely eat. Lots of nearby restaurant choices as well as a grocery store if you'd rather cook in the suite. Easy five-minute drive into downtown Asheville. I would highly recommend this property without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I rarely ever give 5 out of 5, but this property deserved it! All the staff were completely awesome. Vanessa (I believe that was her name) and her assistant at the front desk, gave us a quick and welcoming check in. Our room on the 4th floor was very clean. I'm not real picky about details at most places I stay. Clean and friendly is all it takes to please me. Because I know that other people on trip advisor have different standards than myself, I went out of my way to look for the "dirt". I looked in corners, under counters, in drawers, in the refrig and microwave, in the tub and finally around the toilet. All spotless. Towels were white and fluffy and linens were in good shape. While this is not a resort, it did have some nice views and they were thoughtful with their landscaping. It was set back off the main road enough, that we felt safe and it was quiet. My son enjoyed the indoor pool. I thought breakfast was above average. The breakfast crew were very attentive and really took pride in doing a great job. One gentleman on the Sunday morning crew, really went above and beyond by checking on all the guests and keeping the tables clean. For a free breakfast, I thought the choices were well thought out. For example, they had a big pot of oatmeal and for toppings they had walnuts, cranberries and raisins, and sucanat (dehydrated cane juice). This was oatmeal worthy of Whole Foods. Of course, they had the other usual offerings of waffles, 2 types of eggs,meat, fresh fruits, fruit salad, and various breads. Oh, and they had real butter, not "buttery spread", to put on the baked goods. Like I said, lots of attention to detail. It was a little pricey in stay here, but because of the outstanding service we received, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are 5 floors. We stayed on the 4th floor and had some nice views considering the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very nice clean comfy and quiet.We stayed here on our way back home. Hampton got the right idea with their clean comfy beds. Good building design putting the elevator at the end of the hall instead of the middle - we never heard the ding of the elevator. The shower had plenty of water pressure. The hotel was very neat and clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Driving on a very busy commercial road to get to the Hampton Inn you wonder if the hotel will be stock between a mall and a car wash. As you drive up that hill off the main road, it is a real peaceful area with three hotels and a restaurant, like a secluded oasis.

Plenty of parking, coffee and cookies near the reception are a nice touch, easy registration and pleasant staff, super clean room and comfortable bed. What we really appreciated was to read that the duvet covers are washed after each occupation of the room so you feel you can sit or strech on it.

Spotless bathroom well equipped as usual for a Hampton with everything you need. Brakfast was the regular Hampton fare in a pleasant and large area.

Everything is positive about this hotel especially the proximity to the Biltmore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a welcoming place. The staff is quite professional and very willing to meet every need. The rooms are very clean with nice amenities. The rates are competitive. The breakfast buffet offers many choices to satisfy morning hunger. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd

Address: 204 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Business Hotel in Asheville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Asheville-Tunnel Rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.