We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“body odor on bed spread...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Biltmore West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Biltmore West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Crowell Rd., Asheville, NC 28806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“body odor on bed spread...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

have been meaning to write this and staying at a fantastic hotel in DC this weekend prompted me to report to folks our experience back around christmas. checked in (no problem), laid down on the bedspread to be greeted with the smell of body odor. all over the bedspread. ick. so we removed it & placed in the closet. only to be met with the hotel blanket with blood on it, in several spots. staff swapped it out for another blanket, which was also dirty. made us question if the room had (ever) been cleaned, and if the sheets had been laundered. we selected the hotel for the price & location, but sure won't return to it. just beware of these things if you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    51
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
62
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Just needed a cheap, easily accessible hotel for one night on our way to Myrtle Beach. Should have slept in the car! We checked in very, very late at night, and the desk clerk was very friendly and accomodating, but we could barely understand his English. Not his fault, I just hope he keeps working on it. We had several issues with our stay, but because of the language barrier, opted not to complain. It seemed like it would have been an exercise in frustration for both of us!

The room was big enough, but the odor nearly knocked us over as soon as we stepped in the door. It was some sort of weird, chemical, slightly smoky smell. It was suppposed to be a non-smoking room, but it obviously was either formerly a smoking room, or was next door to a smoking room, because the smoke smell was there, underneath the noxious chemical smell. We couldn't quite figure out the smell--maybe the room had been fumigated for something? I hate to imagine what it might have been for!

The walls were paper-thin--at 4:00 in the morning, our neighbor apparently couldn't sleep and turned his TV on very loud. We tried stuffing towels under our adjoining door, but it didn't help. Our room was close to the front desk, and around the same time our neighbor decided to watch TV, the desk clerk's homeboy popped in and they held a very animated, very audible conversation in the lobby.

The room itself was fairly clean (except for the carpet), but in bad repair. Lots of little nicks and damages all over the room and bathroom. The carpet felt tacky, we were afraid to walk on the floors barefoot.

All in all, avoid this place. For the rate (around $90 bucks), we could have had a good night's sleep at any number of other hotels in the area.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
502 helpful votes 502 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Great stay for the money. Large rooms. Clean rooms with free wireless internet. Fridge and microwave in the rooms. Pay per view movies and HBO. Decent size parking lot but not super large. Just a few exits from the Biltmore and right off I-40. Lots of restaurants nearby. Grocery store also nearby if staying for longer times. Free breakfast in the morning with some hot items, although the breakfast room is a bit small. Great budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

Quiet and quite modern. Great king bed and a sofa. average breakfast but sufficient. Friendly staff. Lots of place to eat within short walk.......we ate at the Cracker Barrel next door and it was fine.

Just off I 40 but the road in was a bit trickly to find.

Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Well managed Comfort Inn with good furnishings.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed two nights (Wednesday, Thursday) at this hotel while in town from Wisconsin for a concert at the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium. Check in was fine, but even though the staff saw we were from Wisconsin, they didn't seem too welcoming. No offering directions or even a simple "feel free to ask if you have any questions". Just "here's your key, you're room # ___."

I think we had two double beds. They were pretty small. Room smelled (slightly) of cigarette smoke. Rooms looked worn, but for $64/night (after taxes, with AAA), I can't complain too much. It did the trick and was clean. Can't really give much of an opinion on the continental breakfast, we got down to the lobby area 1/2 hour before breakfast ended and there were only 2 sad looking donuts left.

The hotel is a short drive from downtown and nearby attractions, but there isn't much right by the hotel except for a Cracker Barrel next door and a Burger King across the street.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Friendly staff. Basic room. Good price. Reasonably quiet. Comfortable bed. Great location near 240 and 40 and 19/23.

We reserved a non-smoking room, and was given one on the 3rd floor (the top floor), close to the elevator, but not too close as to hear it. For some reason, the hallway smelled heavily of cigarette smoke and that smell worked its way in to our non-smoking room on the 2nd of two nights.

Also, one of the heating control knobs was loose (it rotated fully but was not supposed to), so you had to make a guess as to the proper setting. First we had it on the AC setting -- in winter!

The refrigerator made a quiet but very annoying rhythmic clanking sound, so we unplugged it and the problem was solved.

On a positive note, we slept late and kept the do-not-disturb sign up the entire time, and the staff respected this.

We have stayed at this hotel several times before. We might look into another hotel next time to see if we can find one without a smoky hallway.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK CITY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

This is a perfectly normal Comfort Inn. No charm, but a step up from Motel 6. We found the lowest price ($49.95/night) by calling directly & booking with AAA discount. Rooms are clean and not brand new or worn out. For some reason our room had no clock in it. The pay-per-view system is odd: you have to pick up the phone & press a series of numbers in order to see what movies are available - kind of cumbersome. Also, the front desk staff is very neutral - not friendly (no "hello" or "goodbye" as you come & go throughout the day) The only negitive encounter we had was when my wife tried to get a muffin at 9:35am. The muffins were still out, but breakfast was over & my wife asked nice if she could still take one & the clerk wasn't particularly nice about it. ALSO on both nights we were there the night desk staff sat in chairs in the lobby area & talked with friends loudly, and blasted the large screen TV - ALL NIGHT LONG. We had to ask then to keep it down as our room was close to the front. So ask for a room away from the front desk. Like most motels of this kind, its just of the interstate, sandwiched next to a million chain business (with construction happening right behind) and you cant really walk anywhere from here - but Cracker Barrel which is a few feet away and open till 10pm (11 on weekends). For the price we paid we got exactly what we expected.

  • Liked — Price vs. location ratio
  • Disliked — Location a bit far from the sights
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Biltmore West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Biltmore West

Address: 15 Crowell Rd., Asheville, NC 28806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Asheville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Biltmore West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated as of 2014 - ALL BRAND NEW ROOMS!!! Newest renovated property in Asheville! Rate includes free delicious hot breakfast. Located just minutes from the Biltmore Estate and Historic Downtown Asheville. Close to Blue Ridge Parkway, UNCA, WNC Ag. Center and Asheville Airport. We are in close proximity to everything around Asheville and the beautiful Western Carolina Mountains. Several restaurants, movie theaters, local breweries, music venues and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. Within walking distance to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. Every room also has spacious work desks and free high speed wi-fi. All rooms offer great value and include fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, full HD LCD TV's with HBO. Our rooms have 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, king suites available. We also have handicap accessible king rooms. On-site fitness center, guest laundry and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn Biltmore West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Asheville
Comfort Inn Asheville
Asheville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Biltmore West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.