We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are going to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Jackson, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We are going to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We are still in our room dreading the idea that we must leave. Spacious and clean and well furnished and very good staff make this perfectly located hotel a great place to explore Asheville from. You are close to scores of shops and restaurants. We are already making plans to return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    72
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
63
224
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Haywood Park, converted from an old Ivey's Department Store, has large, comfortable rooms. This boutique hotel provides personalized, friendly service that makes the stay there a special pleasure. At the convergence of Battery Park, Wall Street, and Haywood, the location is close to many of the great restaurants in this remarkable foodie town. The glass of champagne on arrival is a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our recent stay at the Haywood Park Hotel was excellent. Great service, beautiful rooms, very accommodating staff. It is in a great location, walkable to everything.
Asheville is great and this is a wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We are regular visitors to Asheville but this was our first stay at the Haywood. For the particular weekend, the Haywood was less expensive than where we normally stay. The room was huge and even though in the middle of town, it was very quiet. The bathroom has two separate rooms and had three sinks. The staff was friendly and the valet service for our car was very efficient. When you throw in the free breakfast, not offered at the other downtown hotels, it is even a better deal. Admittedly, most of the chain hotels in the Biltmore Village area and on the freeway are less expensive, but they are not as convenient and you have to deal with the downtown parking. If it is in your price range it is a great hotel. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at The Haywood for two nights this weekend. We decided to get away and walked into the hotel after we arrived in town. There was availability and we were offered a room on the 4th floor billed as "the New York view" along with a slight discount. Front desk staff was very pleasant and told us the room had no view as it was beside the condos next door. We really didn't care about that so we took it.
Room was ok, certainly spacious but was a little dank and damp smelling. Bed was fine but the kicker is the 7am wake up call from the trash trucks in the alley downstairs! At 7 am on Monday morning, it went on for what seemed like forever before the compacting and bursting of glass bottles stopped.
I was willing to overlook that once and did not mention it to the desk staff as I thought it would only be after the weekend "pick up". BUT NO!!! Again onTuesday morning, 7am, same thing!
I was really disappointed and wished I had been told I got New York street noise and trash pick up with that New York view.
I did decided to mention it to the desk staff (after we checked out) and told Ed about it. He apologized and went on to say he was surprised they were letting them in the alley and apparently folks were willing to pay a million dollars for the condos next door were willing to put up with it. Ok, but I didn't buy a condo….I paid for an upscale hotel room and wanted a good night's sleep and to not to be awakened.
He said to ask for a street view next time….so..if you are planning a trip to Asheville, the location is great but Aloft and Hotel Indigo seemed to be more "happening" places. We walked to both of them to check them out for our next stay. Nightlife and outside seating areas with cocktails. Made Haywood Park look stuffy and old.

Room Tip: According to Ed at the front desk, ask for a street view to avoid being awakened by trash collection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, ky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are traveling to Asheville, there really is no better place to stay than the Haywood Park Hotel. The location is perfect, you literally walk out the front door and you are in the heart of everything. I researched many different places before booking and this hotel exceeded all expectations. The perks include free parking, free internet, truffles at turn down, champagne at check in and fruit throughout your stay. The staff is among the most friendly and helpful I have ever encountered and their restaurant is amazing. The rooms are gigantic and comfortable and the history associated with the hotel is simply charming. Additionally, the rate was lower than other hotel in the area that did not have the prime location or other perks. If I ever return to Asheville, the Haywood Park Hotel would be a highlight of the triip

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Asheville is one of our favorite places to go for a quick getaway, and normally, we tend to stay at one of the chain hotels on Tunnel Rd. This time, we opted to stay downtown, and I can't stress enough how delighted we were with the Haywood Park.

We were greeted by friendly, professional staff at the front desk, and possibly the hardest working valet I've ever met, Brian. We were offered champagne or a bottle of water upon arriving, and we took the elevator up to the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, absolutely immaculate, and every need we could have had was anticipated and met. It was quiet, relaxing, and it just made our weekend!

On a side note; the hallway to the atrium backs up to the back door of the Chocolate Fetish, another must-visit place in Asheville. The hotel is only a block away from the Grove Arcade and a quick pop around the corner put you at Tupelo Honey, one of the most popular breakfast places in Asheville, We had dinner reservations at Table, which was a 3 minute walk from the hotel's front door. Yes, it's more expensive than the chain hotels, but your towels are soft, the bubble baths in the spa tub are awesome, there are free chair massages during check in time from the Spa upstairs, and you don't have to try to find a parking place in downtown Asheville. It was romantic, relaxing and frankly, it's worth every penny. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#1 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#23 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywood Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.