We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in the heart of downtown Asheville.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Bloomfield Hills MI
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in the heart of downtown Asheville.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I had a very pleasant two-night, weekend stay in late Aug. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown so the streets were alive and happening. Fri night is drum night in Asheville, so the streets are a giant party with drummers and crowds of people everywhere. At first we didn't think we would like it, by the end of the evening we having a great time. We stayed in one of the Haywood's smallest rooms and it was large, I think over 450 square feet, with a huge bath. The room was on the 4th floor, with a city view and mountains in the background. It was well decorated, and had a wet bar, with a well stocked Keurig coffee machine and refrigerator. The service was excellent. The bellhop/valet manages to be everywhere at once and was very helpful with selecting places to eat and bringing us everything we needed so quickly it was amazing. The front desk and housekeeping were also excellent. You are offered Champaign on arrival, turn down service with great chocolates at night, and a bag of water and goodies on departure, all very nice touches. It is a converted department store and they kept some fun features, such as the elevator that announces what department your going into. My only complaint was that the mattress seemed old or just not very comfortable and needs to be replaced. Also know that because this hotel is in the heart of downtown, it is a bit noisy. But very glad we stayed, it is fun to walk a block and have endless good restaurants to choose from and we had a fun time just walking on the streets in the evenings after dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    71
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
61
221
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A boutique hotel right in the center of downtown Asheville. Rooms are spacious. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. out the front door and there is so much to see and do right there!. Valet parking is wonderful. A great choice for our get away!!

Room Tip: We went for the basic king room and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Incredible Hotel. The service was excellent, the location was the best. The hotel room was huge and comfortable. Beautiful hotel with a lot of history, as it was a department store in the past and they took advantage of that with little trinkets, photos and signs, that made it even more charming. Also the complimentary glass of champagne like european hotels, made it feel like you were in a very fancy hotel out of the US. Also the chocolates left when the beds were turned were not your usual ones, they were truffles as good as the ones in Belgium or France. The staff was wonderful and very attentive. Can't wait to go back in the near future. The restaurant, Isa's Bistro had the best food in town by far, and we spent 7 nights there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very large. Ours had two queen beds, and a sofa bed. The beds were comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Haywood Park Hotel is perfectly located in downtown Asheville. Independent shops and restaurants are all in the immediate vicinity. The rooms are spacious and the Staff is quite friendly. We definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent three nights in this wonderful boutique hotel located in a historic building (formerly a department store) in the heart of downtown Asheville. It's always a good beginning when you are offered a glass of champagne when you check in. The desk staff was very friendly. Our room was very large - a king size bed, a three seater couch and a large chair in addition to a desk with lots of room to walk around. The bathroom was also large with two sinks and in a first for me, a large flat screen TV. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room and a small refrigerator. Parking is free and you do not have to use the valet. There is also free wireless. We especially enjoyed the delicious truffles from The Chocolate Fetish left on our beds each night.

Our room was located right on the main street and it was a bit noisy, especially the night we were awakened at 2 in the morning by a street sweeper that sounded like a freight train, so you may want to ask for a room off the street.

The primary reason I gave this hotel four stars instead of five is that the decor in the room is a bit dated and could use a face lift. There were also light bulbs out in the bedroom and the bathroom. Other than that, this is a great hotel in a terrific location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in July at the HPH. My husband and I were greeted with a glass of champagne, with every effort made to show true hospitality. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were extremely clean and had ample space. Be sure to stay in one of the rooms that has a curtain partition. They have very nice furniture in the rooms and the partition gives you a little extra privacy if someone wants to go to bed a little earlier or sleep in. The location is very convenient to many of Asheville's unique shoppes and restaurants. Only complaints were the noise from the alley (hotel has no control over the trash and recycling trucks) and the sagging mattress (which didn't bother my husband in the least). The positives more than made up for these 2 issues. When we checked out, we were given "goodie bags" for the ride home. The personal touch is intentional and sincere. We will definitely return and recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms with curtain divider are huge. Alley-side rooms are noisy with trash/recycling trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was fabulous! The room was very nice and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and knowledgable about things to do and places to eat in the area. One small change - put coffee pots instead of Keurig coffee makers in rooms- and our stay would have been perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#23 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywood Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.