We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 hotels in Asheville
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Walking distance to fantastic restaurants & bars - you can not beat the location!!! The rooms are huge and the service is excellent !!! The valet service is fast, Keurig in the room with a nice selection of coffee, 3 sinks with a nice vanity area - luxurious with the perfect location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    60
    18
    12
    15
See reviews for
58
195
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location is perfect--right in the heart of Asheville. The rooms are huge and we were never bothered by any street noise. The bathroom was luxurious, with a large tub, separate 2-head shower, TV and large vanity space. The staff was fabulous--we were given complimentary champagne upon arrival and a goody bag upon checking out. We would definitely stay at the Haywood Park again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Right in the heart of downtown! Beautiful palatial rooms! Sitting areas, desk area, bedroom area, and fabulous bathroom! The staff is everything you could want or need, making any accommodations that they can. Walking distance to EVERYTHING from arts, shopping to amazing foods and breweries every few blocks. Something for everyone.

Room Tip: The street side rooms are the most fun. There is street entertain all day sometimes. But the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were visiting from Oregon and spent 4 nights at the Haywood Park Hotel. It was a very unique and beautiful hotel experience. Unfortunately, unlike other reviewers before us, we did not receive champagne at check-in nor did we receive a gift bag upon checkout, but we did receive delicious chocolates in our room each night! I can't say anything to the valet service as we didn't rent a car, but I can speak to the quality of the rooms. The rooms are extremely spacious and clean. The bathroom is huge with a two-headed shower (always a plus). I also enjoyed being able to watch the news in the bathroom as I got ready for the day each morning. Overall, it's a very lovely hotel right in the heart of downtown Asheville. However, if you are looking for somewhere quiet, this probably isn't it. The nightlife is jumping in Asheville and we could often here people outside until 1 or 2 in the morning. This is a great place to stay for couples on a fun, romantic holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had two huge, clean, lovely rooms at the hotel, one room for my parents, and one for my husband and me. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The location is great for visiting the city and for visiting our Asheville relatives. Although we did not need to use our car much, we especially liked the convenience of having the (included) valet parking and the quick response time when we did request our car. The hotel is unique and interesting...much like the city! We would have liked the option of having a room with grab-bars (bathroom, shower) for my parents.
The tile bathroom floors can get slippery, and grab-bars could be a benefit for all rooms. Water temperature was difficult to control in one of our rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Clean, quiet, close to everything. Friendly efficient staff. Great stay. I did not want to check out.
Staff provided maps and outlined directions. Valet was quick. Staff offered restaurant suggestions that proved to be accurate.
We honeymooned here and I could not have been more pleased with the hotel. Unique history- hotel had a long life as a popular department store in the day. Great photos of restoration.
Very nice bathrooms- roomy and clean.

Room Tip: street view to take in the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Haywood Park was our hotel of choice for a girlfriends' getaway. We wanted a hotel that was set right in the city and within walking distance from all the shops and restaurants. We also needed a place with enough room for women, with lots of luggage and toiletries, to spread out and be comfortable. We passed on the Aloft hotel because the rooms were WAY too small and the price was the same. The Haywood Park was perfect.

We booked a queen double and the room was perfect. Sleeping area with two beds and super comfy pillows. A separate living space with comfortable seating. Plenty of space for suitcases and bags; a dressing area with a sink and vanity bench. A huge bath with an enormous counter space and makeup mirror. The shower and tub are separate as well.

The staff was absolutely fantastic--from check in and valet to maid service. No complaints at all. You valet your car and they will retrieve it whenever you need it. Champagne at check in; a gift-bag at check out. Wonderful chocolate each night at turn down.Very very nice.

Just a few little issues. The workout room had no towels or water. Not a huge deal, but for a hotel at this price point, it's expected. Also, one of the treadmills didn't work. There were people waiting to use the one that does.

There is a LOT of external noise from the street. I couldn't figure out where it was coming from but it wasn't people, it was loud banging sounds and heavy-duty trucks backing up. Sounded like trash pick up maybe? But...it was before 5 am every morning. I even sleep with a sound machine, and it still woke me up every morning.

The morning we checked out--and we had to be on the road exactly 45 minutes after we woke--the shower water was scalding hot. We let it run for nearly 15 minutes and it never got cooler. It was too hot to shower. So, we had no shower and had to drive home unbathed. (It's an 11-hour drive.) So, that really sucked. True, we didn't alert the front desk, but we had no time to wait for a repair either.

The bathroom had a weird moldy/musty smell. Also couldn't locate the source (not the towels). Everything looked really clean, but that smell was always present. I wonder if there is a moisture problem or a leak?

Also, when we checked in the front desk received a call for a reservation. While we were standing there, the manager told the valet who answered the phone to offer the caller a "walk in" special that was $55 cheaper per night than we were paying. I get it that when they are not full, they can offer special rates....but that was pretty tacky to announce right in front of us!

Overall--I would stay here again and I would recommend the hotel. It's so conveniently located to everything cool to do and see in Asheville. I'll just bring ear plugs next time :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face toward the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#1 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#23 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywood Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.