We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and great friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Davidson, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and great friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Located in the heart of the Asheville downtown, this may not be the place for you if you want a quiet get away. But if you are like us and want the city experience (including being able to hear the street music in your room) and be able to walk to most of what is great in the downtown area, this is completely worth every penny.

My husband and I went for a weekend without kids and were greeted at the hotel with champagne, followed shortly by chocolate truffles delivered to our immaculately clean room. We came and went all weekend, easily able to pop in and dress cooler or warmer as weather changed, or drop off purchases or left-over food. We grabbed an after dinner cup of coffee with the in-room Keurig and were back out to a wine bar on recommendation of the hotel staff.

Valet parking is free and you can get your car out as many times as you need. They even let us put our luggage in our car after checkout and park it with them for a few hours before we left town.

The atmosphere reminded me a New York boutique hotel, which was a refreshing change from chain hotels. We felt that we did more than we normally would staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    75
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
65
232
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are so thrilled with the time we spent in Asheville and the folks at this hotel added to the experience in so many ways. Everyone was kind and so helpful and the facility is wonderful! Right in the middle of downtown and convenient to everything! Valet parking and loading and unloading of our luggage - they catered to our every request -not an uncomfortable moment. A special thanks to Ed at the front desk for his recommendation for Tupelo Honey Cafe for lunch - it was great! We will definately be going back to Asheville and specifically to Haywood Park!

Room Tip: The room was large and so comfortable - great room service and all the amenities you could want! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was an exceptional hotel. It was extremely clean, quite and very, very friendly. The rooms were very large and well maintainede. The persons on the front desk were well informed and helpful about the local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here a couple weekends ago for a mom/daughter weekend and both my mom and I loved it. Here are some pros/cons:

Pros:
- Fantastic location right in the middle of downtown Asheville. We walked to our spa appt, to all the shopping, and to all the restaurants.
- Staff was incredibly friendly. My mom arrived an hour before I got there and the valet/bellman and woman at the reception desk both knew my name before I said anything. Very helpful and had great recommendations for local restaurants.
- Our room was enormous which I expected after reading other folks reviews. We had a room with 2 queens and a huge bathroom.
- Huge flat screen TV
- Champagne at check-in is a really nice touch. Great way to start our stay.

Possible Cons:
- The hotel is in a building that started as a department store almost a century ago. So it's old and if you prefer a modern place, you might want to look elsewhere. I thought it was neat, but I love history.
- Water pressure in the shower was a little low. Ok for me, but others might not like it.
- Valet parking can be slow to get your car. I wasn't in a big hurry, but if you are, you can call down to the front desk ahead of time and it should take care of it.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again and am trying to figure out when to plan the next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is not an ordinary hotel. It is an oasis in the center of downtown Asheville. I love coming with my husband and I love coming alone. I have even come with one of my teenage children. I feel safe and pampered. It's a great place to relax and recharge. The staff are both discrete and attentive to every detail. The rooms are luxurious and so so comfortable. Great light, magnificent beds, a couch to stretch out on and windows that go on forever. The bathrooms are even better.... The valet parking allows me to have access to my car without having to worry about parking. I savor any chance I get to stay at the Haywood Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at the Haywood Park Hotel twice now and both times were just delightful. Terri, at the front desk, greeted us by our names on the 2nd visit and gave great suggestions on restaurants according to our taste. On the second visit we had our kids with us and although the 2 Queen rooms were already booked when we made the reservation, she put us in a King with a pull-out Queen sleeper sofa. The rooms are very large. Our room had a great view of the hustle and bustle of the town but was perfectly quiet. We plan on visiting Asheville again in the near future and will stay at the Haywood Park again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a gem. In the heart of downtown this wonderful is in a great location. The staff was awesome and everything is taken care of for you. Parking, chocolates on your pillow, great suggestions for dining and activities.
The hotel is updated and clean with nods to the department store the building use to be. Very clever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#1 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywood Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.