We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Hotel in Asheville!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favorite Hotel in Asheville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have to come down to Asheville at least once a month for business and whenever I do I book a room at the Haywood Park Hotel. The staff could not be nicer and more accommodating, the rooms are homey but spacious, the linens are luxurious and the location ideal for someone like me who would prefer not to drive...you can walk everywhere. It is close to a great local bookstore, a cozy coffee shop and lots of clothing and gift stores. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable and convenient home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    72
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
63
224
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in March. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Both Terri and Ed were so helpful and courteous when I booked the rooms over the phone. Bambi (at the front desk) and John (the Bellman) were extremely cheerful and accommodating. We were greeted warmly every time we saw them.

The hotel is in a lovely historic building. Our room was extremely spacious and the hotel location could not be beat - you are in walking distance of all the great downtown restaurants and about 6 minutes by car to the Biltmore Estate.

The champagne at check-in, the delicious chocolate truffles left on our pillows each night and the goodie bag at checkout were just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the nicest hotel in Downtown Asheville. The staff here are wonderful and eager to please. If I could give it 4.5 stars, I would. My only complaint was the street noise. We did choose a street side room knowing this might be an issue. Our suite was very large at over 1200sf. The room was absolutely perfect and relaxing. We had 3 televisions, a bar area, large bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom had a large Jacuzzi tub and separate glass shower with 2 heads. Even the smaller suites are quite large. If we ever choose to revisit the wonderful town of Asheville again and choose to stay downtown, we will stay at the Haywood Park Hotel. Thank you to all the fine staff for an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you are looking for a quiet room. The Grand Suites are Phenominal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent a Tues and Wed here in March. We arrived around 2 pm and were greeted by a friendly valet and desk clerk. The valet parking is free and a great perk. They unload your vehicle and deliver it all to your room in a fast way. Check in was pleasant and quick. You are offered a glass of champagne or a bottle of water, which you can take to your room. WOW, the room. It was over 700 sq feet of luxury and comfort. It had a large window overlooking downtown and the mountains. We had a couch, oversized chair, ottoman, desk and chair, and king bed. The bathroom had a separate sink and vanity outside with the closet behind. The actual bathroom was huge with a sink, tub and large shower plus a TV. The TV in the room was hidden behind doors with a safe and drawers. Another door hid a wet bar and keurig coffemaker plus a small refridgerator. We had trouble with our TV and someone was there in 5 min to fix it. We needed more coffee and they delivered more pods and half and half in 5 minutes. The staff was quite friendly, esp Ed, and went out of their way to assist you with directions, restaurant suggestions and other requests. It is the absolute best location. You can walk to numerous restaurants, cafes, shops and parks within minutes. You are literally steps from two great breakfast places, numerous other restaurants and the Grove Arcade. It was not far to walk to the Thomas Wolfe Memorial or the US Cellular center. We visited Biltmore and it was an easy 15 minute drive away. I highly recommend this place and would stay here again next time I am in Asheville.

Room Tip: We booked a superior with separate shower and tub. It was worth the extra money. Ask for a room look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed two nights in March of 2013. The room cost was about $300 per night. The location is ideal for exploring and walking downtown, but it appears the management/ownership knows it and slouches on everything else. The rooms are unremarkable; bed hard; tv and tv selections poor. I would have rather had a nicer place, which I could have easily gotten for the money, and been a few minutes drive time from downtown. If the place was $150 a night, it would be worth it for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenHaywoodPark, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are pleased that you appreciated our ideal location in the heart of downtown Asheville. However, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in other areas. We did just complete a room update in 2012 where we updated our mattresses, carpeting, upholstery, added 43” HDTVs in the guestrooms and 27” flat panel TVs in the bathrooms, Keurig® coffee makers, iHome docking stations and much more.

We apologize that you did not find the bed to be to your satisfaction. That is a subjective matter, as the reviewer right below you said “the bed was super comfy” and we had a guest just last week ask for the make and model of the bed because she wanted to purchase one for her home. As for our TV selections, we have all the usual cable stations, so we’re not sure what selections you were looking for that we did not offer. Sorry you felt they were lacking.

Additionally, we feel that we offer services that other area properties do not, such as complimentary valet parking, champagne at arrival, nightly turndown with Chocolate Fetish truffles, guest robes and slippers, and a small gift at departure, which add value to our rates. We are sorry that you did not find all this worth it.

We would value the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and have you experience a great stay. The vast majority of our guests leave more than satisfied and it would be our privilege to count you among them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was a little nervous about staying in this hotel because I usually stay in better known brands, and like 5 star quality. However, I felt from the reviews, it would be worth trying based on the location. So, we arrived...and it was FABULOUS...we highly recommend the hotel and will come back to Asheville and this hotel! It has fabulous, spacious rooms, very clean, huge bathroom with seperate nice shower and big bathtub, which I used twice! They treat you like royalty, starting with champagne on arrival, chocolates at night, and will deliver anything you need such as ice, sodas, etc...They are very accomodating and friendly. The bed was super comfy and we could not of been more happy with the location. It is close to lots of restaurants, bars, shopping, etc...It is also located in a Promedate that has a Starbucks, amazing girlie giftshop, and other stores. Loved the free valet parking too. Overall, it was a great getaway and highly recommend this lovely, botique hotel. ( Ed the front desk assistant was super nice and helpful!)

Room Tip: It was a little noisy, as we were facing the front of the hotel, where it was busy with people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Haywood Park Hotel and had a fabulous time. It is located in the heart of downtown Asheville and it's just a short drive to the Biltmore Estate. We were surrounded by shops, galleries, restaurants, bars, parks etc.... Our room had a great view of the city and had a sitting area with a comfortable sofa. The bathroom had double sinks, a jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The staff was friendly as well. And for all of you dog lovers out there, the Haywood Park Hotel welcomes your dogs too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#1 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#23 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywood Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.