We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed at the Haywood while attending the Asheville Film Festival. We chose this hotel because of its central location to everything in downtown Asheville. This is a charming hotel with large, nicely decorated, and comfortable rooms. The bathroom was very spacious with two vanities--one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. Upon arrival, we were given a glass of champagne (nice touch) and when we checked out we were given a gift bag for our trip home. The first night of our stay we attended the Manager's reception in the lobby and enjoyed a glass of wine and great hors d'oeuvres. The Manager took time to chat with us. Probably what stands out the most from our weekend at the Haywood would have to be the wonderful staff. They were all very helpful and accommodating. When we asked for restaurant recommendations, they made several suggestions, gave us a notebook of restaurant menus, and made reservations for us. We did not want for a thing. My friends and I will definitely stay at the Haywood Park when we return next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel is one of the nicest I've stayed in--pleasant, helpful staff, tastefully decorated, large rooms and large bath, with all the very nice things that make a stay special (chocolate on your pillow, complimentary valet parking, wine and hor dourves). And the location is so convenient--center of Asheville and has the trolley office right in the hotel. And it's not a big-box cookie-cutter hotel--it has its own distinctive personality and they capitalize on its being a grand department store originally. I'll definitely stay again! It was comfortable and fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbryant7714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
397 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Exceptional service as we checked in offered water or glass of champagne. Free valet parking offered and we did take advantage of this service. Stayed in the deluxe 2 queen room on top floor. Extremely large rooms with sitting room, mini wet bar with kerig coffee service and mini fridge. Very large flat screen TV. Large bathroom with TV, large soaking tub, walk in shower that was in need of a place to put your toiletries. Would be nice to add shower shelf as we had to put everything on the shower floor. Two separate vanity areas. Hair dryer that was placed WAY too high in the wall for my short self. Had to get my daughter to reach it for me. That needs to be adjusted. Great light up makeup mirror. Towels were in need of an upgrade. Beds and linens were of good quality. The place is in need of some upgrades. It has a tired look to it. There were several dirty carpet stains throughout, curtains were stained in a few areas, one curtain was stuck and could not open it on one side. Problem with the tracking on that. Our bathroom floor looked like it was not properly cleaned.
We did enjoy their wine and hor d'oeuvres offered each Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Very walkable to all downtown has to offer

Room Tip: Ask for top floor on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichiSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a brief 3 day weekend, but was one conitnuous stay of delight. The upclass feeling when you enter the hotel, soon turns to a personable experience with a visit from the hotel owner. The renovation process has a different theme on each floor. All within the ideals of former department store of old. We were blessed with a corner suite that was more spacious than most peoples apartments. Most of all, the bed and linens were top shelf. We felt as if we were floating on a cloud.
The chef at the restaurant gave us a personal tour of the facilities, along with cooking lessons.
Overall, the experience was one to remember and glad to have shared with others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A stay at the Haywood during Asheville's Fall Festival Weekend again proved to be an enjoyable experience. The staff again was professional and helpful, and the room again was extremely comfortable and spotless. During this visit we took advantage of the hotel's self-parking aspect and it was very, very convenient. The parking deck is accessible from the hotel, it is covered, and a key card allows for immediate entrance and exit. Just one amenity is missing - early morning coffee in the lobby, since the area coffee shops do not open early on the weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms 01 - 03 face another building, if a view is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureTimeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Girlfriends weekend, and our large room was perfect for us to spread out. Complimentary champagne upon checkin, and a nice care package checking out. Everyone was very warm and accomadating! There isn't a better location in downtown Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently spent 5 days here and thoroughly enjoyed it, with only a minor complaint about the thin firm pillows. However the rooms were sizable and clean and well appointed. The lobby was comfortable when needed. The staff was more than pleasant and helpful. Chocolates at night and champaign in the afternoon were a nice touch. We interacted mostly with Ed and Terry behinf the desk, who were always helpful and easy with recommendations, directions, good wishes and even reservations when necessary; always with a smile. The bell-staff was just as nice and made the valet parking a pleasure. It's conveniently located and walking distance form all the downtown thing-to-do. We ever glad we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 58 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 58 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#2 of 58 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing