We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service,location, and accomadations with attention to detail.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service,location, and accomadations with attention to detail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Girlfriends weekend, and our large room was perfect for us to spread out. Complimentary champagne upon checkin, and a nice care package checking out. Everyone was very warm and accomadating! There isn't a better location in downtown Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    63
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
59
203
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently spent 5 days here and thoroughly enjoyed it, with only a minor complaint about the thin firm pillows. However the rooms were sizable and clean and well appointed. The lobby was comfortable when needed. The staff was more than pleasant and helpful. Chocolates at night and champaign in the afternoon were a nice touch. We interacted mostly with Ed and Terry behinf the desk, who were always helpful and easy with recommendations, directions, good wishes and even reservations when necessary; always with a smile. The bell-staff was just as nice and made the valet parking a pleasure. It's conveniently located and walking distance form all the downtown thing-to-do. We ever glad we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent a total of four nights in the Asheville area....two in a log cabin in Maggie Valley and two at the Haywood Park Hotel. Both stays were wonderful!

In downtown Asheville we were looking for a hotel that was centrally located so that we could walk anywhere. This was an excellent choice. We were within walking distance of restaurants, bars, and shops. Unfortunately, we were not there long enough to do them justice!

More than the location, we loved the vibe of this boutique hotel. It was previously two different department stores, but rather than completely disguise that fact, they used it as a their theme. There were mannequins in the lobby dressed in the clothing of the various periods when the department stores were open. On every floor there was a glass case with mannequins representing what had been sold on that floor. When we exited the elevator on our floor, a lady's voice in the elevator said "Third Floor, Children's Wear". Sure enough, the glass case contained two child mannequins, dressed in retro clothing. How fun!

There were also photos all over the hotel showing the building and rennovations of the two department stores. I enjoyed looking at these, as well as the photos of the various celebrities who have stayed here.

The room was as large as the suite we had recently stayed in at the Hampton Inn and Suites and it was decorated very nicely. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was awesome.

Since this was our first trip to Asheville, we relied on the staff, who were very friendly and helpful, for ideas of places to sightsee and to eat. The hotel had a fun bar and restaurant as well as a nice gift shop. They were in the process of adding more shops as well. We parked in a garage attached to the hotel.

We will definitely stay at the Haywood Park Hotel when we go back!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the "Wall Street" side of the hotel. The architecture was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My friends and I spent a delightful weekend at the Haywood Park Hotel in October, 2012. The hotel is situated perfectly in the midst of all the restaurants and galleries in downtown Asheville. The hotel has complimentary valet parking; so all you have to do is check in and forget your car. Everything that's fun to do (other than the Biltmore Estate and the Folk Arts Center) is in walking distance of the hotel. The staff was attentive and helpful. The rooms are spacious, modern and beautiful, The building used to be a fine department store and the current owners have cleverly kept to an old fashioned department store theme: at each elevator stop, a voice announces, for example "second floor, children's clothing". The lobby is welcoming (including the lovely wine, champagne and fruit that greets you upon your arrival on a Friday evening.)

Room Tip: The hotel allows dogs but they are restricted to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Located in downtown Asheville, the Haywood Park Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Asheville offers something for everyone, and this hotel makes it a trip to remember! The staff, spacious rooms, and amenities went beyond our expectations. It didn't surprise me to learn that celebrities Jerry Seinfeld, Robert Redford, and Daniel Day Lewis (and many more) have been patrons of the Haywood Park Hotel. We will definitely stay at this hotel often as my family and I really enjoyed our trip to this charming property. Please browse the Haywood Park Hotel's website where you can see pictures of the lovely rooms and hotel. You will not be disappointed with this unique and special hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been to Asheville several times but never stayed downtown. This hotel is in a perfect location. An easy walk for shopping , outdoor venders and activities and wonderful restaurants.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We slept great on very comfortable beds and we are picky about our mattresses. It was nice that the valet parking was not an extra cost. It was also easy to access our car when we did want to take it out. Our 2nd room over looked the busy street but we could see the sun rise and the mtns. in the distance... so pretty! There are just 33 rooms so half face an alley and half face the street. We had a couple problems with the toilet and room door keys not working one day but they were happy to help out and fix the problems quickly. We also didn't have a lot of control over the room temperature except for the fan. The windows are secured closed(FYI)...I am sure for safety. I would recommend this place to others because overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are big....but half have a street view and half an alley view. We loved our location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has all the amenities, including a large room with huge 5-piece bath, TVs in bed and bath, and plenty of lounging room in which to enjoy the champagne provided at checkin and the truffles provided at turn-down. The hotel provides easy access to shopping as well as anything you could want to eat or drink, which can generally be found within a 3 minute walk. I have never provided a hotel review before, but when the checkout concluded with a doggie bag of granola bars and water for our trip home, I couldn't help myself.

The only downside may be for more rural people, the sounds of downtown may result in a loss of sleep. If you are used to peace and quiet, bring some ear plugs and enjoy this cool, old department store-turned-hotel. We will never consider staying anywhere else in Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#1 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#24 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywood Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.