We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asheville at your Door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Haywood Park Hotel to your Saves list
Haywood Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Sayreville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Asheville at your Door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Being right in the middle of a city is a delight, and staying at the Haywood Park just makes it better. From champagne at registration to a travel goody bag at departure, the staff of the Haywood Park cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. They not only answered questions and offered suggestions, but went on line to investigate information and print maps. The valets were also very professional and quickly delivered the car for touring the area, such as going to the Biltmore.

The hotel itself is unique, having started as a department store in the 1920's. The Haywood focuses on this uniqueness, having clothing display cases with historical outfits in the lobby and on each floor. And, when you arrive on your floor, the elevator announces, "Fourth Floor - women's clothing."

The room we had was huge, with a sitting area and a separate dressing room with sink. There was some noise from the streets below, but this is Asheville, known for its street activities. And, it was fun to see the changing musicians and performers throughout our stay. For sleeping, the beds were very comfortable and the room darkening drapes fool you that it's still the night. The hotel does offer all the amenities that are listed on its site and the staff always asked if anything was needed.

The Haywood is at the intersection of three main streets, all filled with excellent coffee shops, restaurants, and galleries. It is also within walking distance of one to three minutes of about everything that Asheville offers. (The hotel has a map with the times circled on the map.) The hotel is the most convenient place to relax after strolling through the city and then going out for the evening.

We will be returning to Asheville in Sept., and the Haywood Park will be our home once again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    71
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
61
221
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just stayed at the Haywood Park Hotel in downtown Asheville (suite 406) and overall enjoyed it. We booked the Master King Suite (their middle level option) and it was very spacious and well furnished. The decor is masculine and traditional in style--understated browns and beiges. It had a nice tray ceiling and chandelier. Our room was on the 4th floor with a view of the city with the mountains in the distance. The mattress was comfortable and I liked the sitting area with full size sofa, chair and ottoman. The room had a keurig coffee maker (Love!) with half & half, rather than the powdered stuff some hotels provide. The in-room safe was large enough to fit a Macbook Air and iPad as well as some other small items. The marble bathroom is really large and I liked the separate sit-down vanity area where I could do my make-up while my husband was steaming up the other room. The bathroom also had lightly scented Gilchrist & Soames shampoo, conditioner, lotion and bath gel. The room had free wifi as well as plenty of plugs for charging iphones, etc. There are flat screen TVs in the main room (in view of both the sitting area and the bed) as well as a small one in the bathroom. A negative with the room was the street noise--it didn't bother us too much. The main areas of the hotel are a bit dated and reflect the history of the building--former department store. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown and close walking distance to lots of great shops, art galleries, restaurants, etc.

Stand out restaurants that were nearby:
Early Girl - Very good homestyle cooking--good place for breakfast
Tupelo Honey - Love this casual restaurant with southern style menu--good place for lunch
Chorizo - Latin/mexican food with some of the best margaritas I've had (I'm extremely picky about my margaritas)--good place for lunch or dinner
Modesto - Italian with a nice outdoor seating area; I had the hanger steak (which was a well seasoned steak/seafood combo and my hubby loved his specialty pizza)

I was impressed with the number of non-chain restaurants in Asheville. I liked that most bought organic produce locally. The restaurants tended to have some vegetarian options, which was good for my husband.

In addition to the great downtown area, we visited Biltmore Village and Biltmore Estate. Biltmore Village is a quaint collection of shops, eateries, and art galleries and is a fun place to walk around. Biltmore Estate is not-to-be-missed. The mansion is amazing and the property has lots of other cool stuff--great restaurants, winery, gardens, etc. You can easily spend a day there.

If you plan a visit, be sure to check on festivals and special events in the Asheville area. They have a lot of fun stuff scheduled. Summer and fall are great times to plan visits. The temperatures tend to be more mild in the summer than many other places (mid 70s) and the fall has beautiful scenery when the leaves are changing color.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I originally booked this hotel because it was dog-friendly and in the heart of downtown Asheville. What I discovered was a breathtaking suite with a friendly, professional staff at a reasonable price.

Things I enjoyed about this hotel:
+ Staff: I arrived at the hotel after camping for two days. I was a sight for sore eye. And yet the staff was very kind and courteous. Also, some places seem "dog-tolerant." Haywood Park is dog-friendly. Staff members stopped to pet my dog and even brought treats for her.
+ Location: You're within walking distance of dozens of nice restaurants and shops.
+ Atmosphere: The hotel is a converted department store. The rooms are not your average cookie cutter cells.
+ Room quality: Everything was ship-shape clean. The bed was super comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the Haywood Park Hotel for an overnight on our way across the state. We live two hours from Asheville and often visit just for fun. We have stayed twice in one other hotel and in a very upscale condo all of which were downtown. The Haywood has become our new favorite. The room was enormous for the money, clean, the front desk was helpful and friendly (thanks to them we discovered the good breakfast at the Mediterranian Grill), the turn down service was very nice as was the person who did it, we loved the touch of the announcement of which floor we are on and the location can't be beat. The only issue I had was that I could not get the shower head to adjust to the spray I wanted. I got clean anyway.
We look forward to staying there again on our next getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is an excellent hotel -- the service is great, location couldn't be better and what a wonderful experience to stay in a building that used to be a department store.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I'm puzzled about the "middle of the pack" TA ranking for this hotel. Despite the good reviews I read on TA, I was hesitant about the hotel because of its relatively low ranking on TA. Were we ever surprised! The hotel was far above our expectations.

The lobby is beautiful as was our room--404--a Master King. We were floored about how large the room was--and the bathroom was fantastic with a huge granite countertop with double sinks. I've read reviews that said the furnishings were dated, but we found them to be extremely nice. Having a sofa as well as a (large!) easy chair in the room was great--especially since the room was spacious even with these large pieces of furniture. The TVs (one in the bathroom) were flat screen and perfect for the spaces they were in. We loved the luxury linens on the bed.

We were "serenaded" in the afternoon by singers on the street. My husband was bothered by this so went to the large sitting area right outside our door and read. Most hotels don't offer sitting areas this large and nice on each floor--a definite plus.

We also were pleasantly surprised that even though we were right downtown (a real boon for us), our room afforded a view of mountains off in the distance.

We loved our stay at the Haywood Park and would not stay anywhere else. We drove out to the Biltmore Village area and felt that staying downtown rather than the BV area was the right decision for us. Other than that drive, we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just a quick note on this - this was a last minute "google" search for a place in downtown Asheville, and it couldn't have turned out better. Anything you want to see or do in the small downtown area is accessible from here, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier. I highly recommend staying a night or two there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: 1 Battery Park Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#23 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywood Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.