We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find nicer owners anywhere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   37760 W. US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
at78rpm
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“You won't find nicer owners anywhere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is not the fanciest motel you'll stay at, but it may be the friendliest. I have a unique experience to share which showed me the difference between this motel and others you might know.

While in Leadville, about 150 miles from this Rodeway Inn, I gassed up -- and got distracted by something or other, and left my wallet on the trunk of my car. Whoops. Not knowing this, I drove off toward Buena Vista. When I got to Gunnison, I got ready to check in...reached around to my wallet...and, in shock, realized it wasn't there. No credit cards. Nothing. No license. No way to pay for the nights I was staying.

Did the owner turn me out? Nope. I had reserved the room using a Chase Visa, but as soon as I realized the wallet was gone, I cancelled the card. But the owner showed such a gentle understanding; I stopped hyperventilating long enough to hear him tell me he'd honor the card I'd reserved with. Need I tell you more? No motel, no hotel, would have gone that far.

That alone -- the concern of the motel's owners -- is enough to cause me to return to this motel when we return to Gunnison.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    61
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
86
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Both my Mom and I love this place! We have stayed here before - 4 years ago when Andrew first started the business. He and his wife have been the best hosts you can have! The rooms are so clean, environmentally friendly, and great breakfasts! The staff and management go out of their way to assure that you and your family have a pleasurable and nice visit. Oh! Don't forget to bring a swimsuit for the hot tub - and the water pressure is amazing! Reasonable for dogs too! Nice grassy area to walk them.

Room Tip: Probably the best are no pets rooms, but even the pets allowable rooms are comfy and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I've stayed at the Rodeway Inn a couple of times and recommend it. The rooms are fairly large and have the standard amenities. The motel owners and their staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. It's a mile west of town and there's no swimming pool, but I don't regard either of those things as detracting from the pleasantness of staying there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Margaret and Andrew were most helpful to Diana and I . Margaret was kind to print out my boarding pass. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here for one night on the way to Denver. Amazingly good value for money. Clean, simple, large rooms. Hot tub across the car park looked great, although we didn't use it. Surprisingly good breakfast selection, including waffles! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my daughter while visiting my son who attends Western State College. Friendly service, clean room, great rates. What more could I ask for?

Thank you!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Norte, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

This hotel was very quiet, very very clean and we really enjoyed staying there. I found it on Expedia and the reason I chose it was I read the other reviews about how nice the owners were and how clean it was and they were right!!! We were in Crested Butte for a basket ball game which got out about 9:30 p.m. We went to the hotel hoping to sit in the hot tub due to my teenagers aching backs from playing ball all day. The hot tub was already closed but the owner (very nice gentleman) said for us to go ahead and use it and he would clean it in the morning instead. This was very accomodating in my opinion. The breakfast was good and a good variety. The rooms were very clean and beds were in fact comfortable.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 37760 W. US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
#3 Family Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Gunnison
Gunnison Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.