We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Alpine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Alpine Inn to your Saves list
The Alpine Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1011 Rio Grande Rd (Hwy 50), Gunnison, CO 81230 (Formerly Gunnison Ramada Limited)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Not sure what the other reviewers are smoking. It is a cheap hotel - 1 to 2 star at best. Beds are like sleeping on plywood with springs underneath. TV's are Tube - time to upgrade. Free internet is one saving grace. Gunnison certainly has to have a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
43
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Saline, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Some friends decided to go on a motor cycle trip to Gunnison and we all booked here at the Alpine Inn, Great place to stay, very nice family , the beds are really comfortable. we had a great stay and they really took very good care of our group. Thank to John and Teresa, they were the best.

Room Tip: The only thing I can say is get closer to the back because we had the first room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsteacher1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here 7-11-12. We had a king bed room. It was very clean and had everything we needed. I liked the ceiling fan in the room. The staff was very kind and friendly. The price was great, $79 a night. I recommend the Alpine Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Gunnison valley and nearby Crested Butte offer 2-million acres of national forest for mountain biking, hiking, then shopping at unique boutiques. Nearby Blue Mesa reservoir and waters of the Gunnison, Taylor and East Rivers are great for rafting, canoeing, and kayaking. So where do you stay especially if you are on a budget? Alpine inn for our family is the best value in lodging. We have stayed at several other places on the "main strip" and have become regulars at the Alpine, staying at least six times this past year since we have family living the area. If you are driving into Gunnison from Monarch, keep going to the end of town and it is on the left.
This 2-story motel was formerly the Ramada and is now family-owned and operated. They show great pride in its upkeep and it seems as though they are continuously remodeling. Just recently a new patio was added and the front entrance has great curb appeal. Rooms have all the amenities and are very clean and nicely decorated. We have found that prices range from $59 and up depending on the season. There is even a small pool off the lobby area that is great for children but probably too small for lap swimming.
Breakfast is included and served from 6-9AM and I can tell you that Teresa the owner does a great job (milk, by the way is in a frig below the breakfast counter). The lobby area is decorated Colorado mountain style: rustic with pine log furniture and a fireplace. It is a nice area for reading and eating breakfast.
I should also add that there are no "night clubs" that we are aware of in the area. This is a peaceful rural spot. The only structure we saw was a small log cabin/local bar called "The Last Chance" that was on a dirt road several blocks away from the Alpine Inn and there has never been any loud music coming out of this place in all the times we stayed.
In the winter, it seemed like many hunters also stayed here. As for the construction crews who also stay, keep in mind that locals and workers know the best value; and also deserve a nice clean motel with a good breakfast in the mornings.
I gave this motel five stars because it is the best value in Gunnison and has everything our family needs and wants in lodging.

Room Tip: It is 2-story, so if you have trouble walking up stairs, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Staff members were quite accommodating and friendly. The room was basic, but clean and contained all the basics. Nice to have internet at no charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The whole hotel is nicely decorated. I especially liked the lobby/breakfast area. The room was very clean and had all of the common amenities. I asked John if he had a corkscrew I could borrow. He was nice enough to look around until he found one and loaned it to me. I slept very soundly in the comfortable bed and had enough room to stretch out with all of my electronics.

I was disappointed in the breakfast. I got the impression from a sign or ad that there would be a full, hot breakfast. I expected scrambled eggs and perhaps more. The only hot things were waffles and whatever you put in the toaster. Also, it would have been nice to have had milk or half-and-half instead of powdered "creamer".

Although it didn't really matter to me, I should comment that my second floor room overlooked some kind of contruction company junk yard. Again, I personally didn't care because I was not expecting to see the grand views of Colorado from my hotel room. But some people might find it off-putting. A first-floor room probably wouldn't have the view I had.

Nonetheless, my stay was a great overall value. On this trip, all I really wanted was a comfortable, clean room with decent coffee along with breakfast. if I am looking for the same kind of thing the next time I am in the area, I would considern staying here again.

Room Tip: The view from a second floor room on the right side (South, I think) might not be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

On our family vacation through Colorado we chose this hotel for our stop over in Gunnison based on the good reviews and reasonable price. The reviews are right, the Alpine Inn was really a great value with the clean and well furnished rooms and not to mention the better than typical motel breakfast. If we pass through Gunnison again the whole family agrees we will definitely stay here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Inn

Address: 1011 Rio Grande Rd (Hwy 50), Gunnison, CO 81230 (Formerly Gunnison Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alpine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel Gunnison
Alpine Hotel Gunnison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alpine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.