We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better accommodations for some than others” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Tomichi Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Tomichi Village to your Saves list
The Inn at Tomichi Village
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41883 Hwy 50 East, Gunnison, CO 81230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United States
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Better accommodations for some than others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This motel (not really an Inn) is not good for those with respiratory problems because it has outside seating and a fire circle in the lawn. If leaving window open for fresh air, you can have problems if you are sensitive to heavy wood smoke even in summer. Inn is located about 1 mile east of Gunnison right on the highway, but sign is hard to spot so you could miss it. View out of back windows is beautiful to the prairie, no development. Location outside of town is quiet from city/commercial noise although you can hear the highway especially if front window open. Having a microwave and refrigerator was very convenient, as well as a laundry on premises. Front desk provided laundry soap free of charge. Free breakfast buffet nothing special but convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The I, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We're so sorry to hear that your respiratory problems didn't allow you to enjoy our beautiful courtyard area. With Gunnison's cool evenings (even in the summer) the firepit is one of our most popular amenities. Our guests love to relax in the evening around the fire.

If you stay with us again, please alert us to your condition. We can get you a room far from the fire which would be much more comfortable for you. We'll even deliver a couple of S'mores to your room so you don't have to miss out on the best part of the firepit experience.

Thanks for staying with us and thank you for mentioning the elements of your visit which you enjoyed.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
47
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

As we were travelling around southwestern Colorado we made no pre-plans and stumbled into the Tomichi Village. Melinda greeted us and was professional and pleasant as she provided what was availble. The room she suggested was very good. I reserve excellent only due to size of shower. The price was excellent and the room was large (for area), quiet and pleasant. Larger name chains were upwards of 50% more in cost for a smaller (albeit newer) room. This is an excellent location to base your southern Colorado exploring.

Room Tip: Tomichi Village is just a bit out of town to the east, but this helps in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The I, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Sean,

A sincere thank you from us to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

A+ Lodging.....this place is a Gunnison treasure! Location, location, location! Recently remodeled, immaculate grounds & pool, mountain themed rooms, little touches like a welcome gift at the front desk & rubber ducky in the bathroom, attentive & friendly service, top notch included breakfast off of the lobby with scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage, waffles & fresh blueberries and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. It is the perfect distance (2 min.) from town, which makes it peaceful, but accessible. If you get a chance to eat at Blue Mesa Grill next door, they offer kitzy fare like brussel sprout & kale salads, huge burgers, sushi rolls.....Will be back & I highly recommend The Inn at Tomichi Village & my only wish is that I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The I, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Moondrift,

Wow-we're so happy you enjoyed our stay with us so much! Thank you for coming and maybe you'll get back our way again sometime when you CAN stay longer. : )

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We found this place on Trip Advisor. Loved it. Clean. Updated Rooms. Beds were comfortable. The grounds were well kept. Breakfast was included. Friendly service. The restaurant on property was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The I, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Tammie,

Thank you for taking time to review us, but mostly for choosing us while you were in Gunnison.

Thanks and happy trails!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is set a little bit outside of Gunnison and is a very peaceful hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room had everything needed, comfortable chair, desk and we were on the second floor so we had a nice view. The pool and hot tub were nice to use as well. They offered a nice grassy area with beautiful trees surrounding a large fire pit and lovely wood chairs, rockers and table to sit around at night with friends or early in the morning with a cup of coffee. A hot breakfast was served each morning with tables inside the lobby or outside under a covered patio. With beautiful weather I would offer outside sitting...it is so peaceful. The employees were all courteous and helpful as well. If I had anything negative to say is that the air conditioner inside the room was a bit loud. It is located above the bathroom vanity and while you are standing there you're unable to hear anyone else in the room. The other bit of information needed is that if you are unable to climb stairs ask for a downstairs room as there is no elevator. Overall is was a pretty, peaceful, comfortable hotel and I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a downstairs room if you can't climb stairs. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The I, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying here. Thank you for taking a moment to post a review!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a comfortable motel with very friendly staff. The room was spacious and had a micro fridge. Beds were very large and the location is surprisingly quiet, despite being close to a main road. We did not eat at the restaurant but chose to go into Gunnison for pizza. The parking lot was full of cars at dinnertime we noticed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The I, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear CayFitz,

Thank you!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Who could ask for more? We arrived without reservations, and the desk clerk , Jessamine, could only offer us one night, but she called in the manager, Alejandro Guitierrez , who spent considerable time juggling things around and gave us a lovely room for the 2 nights we needed.
He even brought treats out into the yard for our dogs.
The grassy area with lounge chairs, trees and 2 BarBQue pits in front provided a really nice place to relax with our dogs. Also behind the Inn is another grassy area where our dogs played off leash. And the Inn provides pet pick up bags Altogether a totally pleasant experience!
Oh yes, they do provide continental breakfast: eat in the dining area or at tables outside under the portechache. The management and staff set the tone so that the guests were all friendly with each other too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The I, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much! Such kind words.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Tomichi Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tomichi Village

Address: 41883 Hwy 50 East, Gunnison, CO 81230
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gunnison
#2 Business Hotel in Gunnison
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Tomichi Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SPRING BREAK 2015 Starting at $65 Rates have never been this low! BALANCE...everyone is looking for this in their life and you might be surprised when you find it at The Inn at Tomichi Village. Fancy rooms...not really, but from our simple exterior you will be surprised by the tastefully appointed furnishings, the luxurious bedding, the large flat screen TVs, and extra outlets and data ports, in case you're not lucky enough to be able to unplug while you're with us. You'll be far enough out of town to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of your surroundings, but close enough to civilization in case you get an urge for a vanilla latte with soy! But there are so many reasons not to leave the property, once you are here. You can wake up to our delicious, complimentary hot breakfast. At the end of your day, unwind in the atrium enclosed pool and hot tub offering panoramic views of the areas. Sit out and relax in our beautiful, tree lined courtyard where we host outdoor movie nights on weekend nights during the summer season. You need another reason not to get back into your car? Well, you can dine right on property at Gunnison's newest restaurant, Blue Mesa Grill, featuring coastal inspired seafood dishes, fresh sushi, mouthwatering steaks and in-house ground burgers. The carefully selected wine list will provide you with the perfect compliment to your meal. Our newly renovated dining area is spacious enough to host meetings and social events for up to 100 guests. Let us coordinate all your event planning requirements and ensure you receive outstanding service from your first contact through the end of your event. We look forward to seeing you at The Inn at Tomichi Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Tomichi Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Inns @ Tomichi Village Hotel Gunnison
Tomichi Village Gunnison
Best Western Gunnison
Tomichi Village Hotel Gunnison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Tomichi Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.