We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Holiday Inn Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gunnison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Gunnison to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Gunnison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   910 E Tomichi Ave & Adams, Gunnison, CO 81230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average Holiday Inn Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

When I first walked into the hotel, I was impressed by the lobby/reception area. Very nice but when I got to the room I quickly realized that this was just a typical average HI Express. The rooms were clean but very plain and looked like it needed a cosmetic refresh. The staff on the other hand was very friendly and courteous. They made sure they stopped to say hi and ask how your day was and if I needed anything. The weather was extremely cold (-17) and several days of snow. They did a nice job keeping the walkways free of snow/ice and the parking lot plowed. The breakfast was the standard boring HI Express breakfast. Not a lot of choices for hotels in Gunnison but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express-Gunnison. It is hard to hear that you found our hotel just "average" but next time you visit, we hope that we can exceed your expectations. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and will work on the issues you addressed. We hope to have you back again in the future!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    51
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
48
62
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castricum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a fine, new hotel on the highway outside Gunnison. Our room was comfortable, spacious ans spot clean with all the amneties one would expect from the Holiday Inn.
The restaurant is only for breakfast. For a good dinner you have to drive to downtown. The receptionist recommended an Italian restaurant further out of town that was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback on your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express-Gunnison. I am very glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our rooms and that our staff recommended a great place for you to eat. We hope to have you back again in the future!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Overall, I was really pleased with my stay. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful- I appreciated that they were able to accommodate my early check-in! My room was very clean, had a lovely view, and was quiet. The bathrooms are quite nice and the Bath and Body Works products were a nice plus. During my 4 day stay I also made use of the games in the main lounge area, which is a comfortable area to meet with other friends and family staying at the hotel. A few areas of improvement: the carpets were vacuumed upon arrival, but were not vacuumed again during my stay. After a few days of exploring around town shoes are bound to track in grass, dirt, etc. Also, on the day of check-out, housekeeping knocked on the door at 9:00 a.m. I notified her that I wouldn't be leaving for the airport until 11:30 so I would be packing in the room until close to that time. At 10:55 a.m. housekeeping again (!) walked right into the room- without knocking, or apologizing. At 10:59 a.m. I walked to the front desk to check-out (11:00 a.m. is the posted check-out time) and housekeeping was mopping the floor right in front of the check-out area. While, it may be argued that there is no "good" time to have wet floors in the entrance area, check-out time seems to be a particularly poor choice! Note: I was not the only guest checking out at this time so the front lobby was busy with guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for you 5-star review about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express-Gunnison! I am very glad to hear that had a positive experience for the most part here in Gunnison. As for the other issues, I sincerely apologize and those issues were addressed immediately. We truly do appreciate any negative feedback so that we are able to better our hotel for you for future stays as well as other guests. We hope to see you again in the future!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room was extremely nice and very clean. I loved the bathroom that was quite big with a nice large vanity to accommodate me with all my cleansers, lotions, and make-up. I really appreciated that feature. Breakfast included which I think is a very nice feature. The food was good and the dining area was extremely clean. Overall, it was a very nice experience and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor across from the swimming pool. Had an entrance from the back that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express-Gunnison! I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your room and breakfast among other things during your stay. We would love to have you back again in the future!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We go to Gunnison every year with our son's hockey games. We always try to stay here because the location is close to the rink. The accomodations are clean and friendly. The breakfast is top notch. What a great property!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! I am so glad to hear that you are able to enjoy our location, amenities, and accommodations. We are looking forward to having your hockey back at our hotel!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Room 325 has the worst beds I've ever slept in and we are elite gold members of holiday inn and have never had these problems. They felt like they were literally broken in half, could not sleep more than 20 min at a time. The shower head was also broken and dribbled out the side more than the head, ugh. The pool is great, it's big and heated, kids loved it and the staff is really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express-Gunnison. I sincerely apologize that your beds were so terrible. We try to be accommodating for all of our guests by having mattresses that are firm yet have a nice soft pillow top. Next time, please alert front desk, and we would be more than happy to have you move to another room if we have the space. Also, I am very sorry about your shower. That issue has been addressed by maintenance. We hope to have you back in the future so you can have a much better experience at our hotel!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Strafford, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I graduated from Western in 1990 and have been returning to Gunnison for Homecoming for many years. The Holiday Inn Express looked like the cleanest and most reasonably priced on the internet. I must say that the service was outstanding from the desk clerk to the GM, who was nearby when I checked in. The room was immaculate and the breakfast above average. The indoor hot tub and pool were very nice after playing in the alumni rugby match, a game changer amongst local hotel options in my opinion. The room rate was very reasonable and I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Gunnison.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review about our hotel here in Gunnison. I so glad you were able to appreciate the value we try to provide with our rooms. Cleanliness, value, and great customer service are our main goals. Thank you again for staying at the Holiday Inn Express-Gunnison. We hope to have you back again for next year's homecoming or maybe even before then!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gunnison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gunnison

Address: 910 E Tomichi Ave & Adams, Gunnison, CO 81230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gunnison
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gunnison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnison's newest and finest accommodations with 107 hotel rooms, including 4 two room suites and balcony suites with over sized tubs and steam showers. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gunnison is located just off Highway 50 and features a complimentary airport shuttle between 7AM and 7PM for the Gunnison/Crested Butte Regional Airport. Our hotel has interior corridors with rooms on the first, second, and third floors. We do offer a COMPLIMENTARY, FULL HOT BREAKFAST featuring our cinnamon rolls, eggs, bagels, oatmeal, and cold/hot beverages. Our hotel does not have a restaurant, but it is located less than a mile from downtown and most restaurants, and several restaurants deliver to our site. We have a pantry stocked with drinks, snacks, and frozen meals that is open for guests' purchases at all hours. We also provide in room coffee/tea, MICROWAVE, and REFRIGERATOR. All of our rooms have new flat screen, HD TVs, HBO, and DVD players with a free DVD rental located in our pantry and RedBox rentals immediately adjacent to our property. We also have FREE WIRELESS INTERNET throughout the hotel and in guests' rooms. Our onsite services include our FITNESS CENTER with Nautilus equipment, indoor/outdoor JACUZZI, and the largest heated INDOOR POOL in town. We have an ONSITE LAUNDRY room and offer off-site dry cleaning services. We do have a BUSINESS CENTER with computers and a printer, and our staff is more than willing to make copies or send faxes per the guests' request. We have meeting space available to accommodate 10-50 people. Our staff here is friendly and eager to provide recommendations to you during your stay, including Gunnison's best dining locations and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gunnison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gunnison Hotel Gunnison
Holiday Inn Gunnison
Gunnison Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gunnison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.