We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip to Gunnison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   910 E Tomichi Ave & Adams, Gunnison, CO 81230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburg, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quick Trip to Gunnison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

nice property with a great location directly across the street from the museum and right next door to the local university.
Was greeted by staff politely, even though I arrived very late at night. I was assigned a room on the second floor with a balcony! Even though it was mid July 2013...the weather was so nice that I was able to leave the door open. (but I did have to put up with the sound of heavy trucks leaving town overnight, but they were few)
Breakfast was standard holiday inn fare and staff working the bfast were very polite.....and the hotel was very busy due to the rodeo just finishing up..
Extra pillows were nice, and they were labeled soft or firm....which was nice...
Parking was easy and checkout was quick....Kinda pricy for a holiday inn, but it was vacation season and most rooms were booked with travelers.

Room Tip: Be careful about the rooms that are on the front side of the hotel, as you are going to have to list...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback on your stay with us. Your compliments are greatly appreciated by all of us here at the hotel. Hopefully we can have you back at the hotel again soon!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    51
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
48
63
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've had some terrible experiences at some other Holiday Inns in the past but this one is on the mark. The hotel looks very new to me and could have been recently updated. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was very friendly despite being very busy. We spent two nights here the weekend before the 4th of July and loved it. The free breakfast was better than most for this class of hotel. The automatic pancake machine was pretty cool and a nice respite from the standard waffle machine. Beds were super comfortable and the rooms were very clean.

The only thing that was a little uncomfortable was the fact that the air conditioning seemed to be not working in the hallways on our floor. We did see an employee training someone to do maintenance in the building so hopefully it was just a staffing issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so thankful to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and the issue with the air conditioning in the hallways will be dealt with right away. Hopefully we will be able to see you again here in Gunnison!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent two nights in this facility as it became a base of operations for our trip. The hotel is older but has been completely redone in the last few years. Only complaint was the size of the vanity in the bathroom. It was very small and did not offer much space on top for toiletries. But the room was very clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Gunnison. We are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel and hope to see you again some time in the future!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped here on our way through. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and laundry room was close by. Needed extra change for washer and dryer and they were accommodating. We were on a motorcycle so space was limited. Other hotels have detergent for you but you have to purchase it here. That was only negative we had. Good hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am going to share your review with the General Manager of the hotel. We will discuss your comments about providing laundry soap for our guests. We hope to accomodate you on your next trip to Gunnison.
Autumn Boomershine
(Asst. General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We upgraded our hotel due to hard beds at the last place in town. The beds here were hard as well and we got a wake up call at 1 am which was not good at all. The walls were so thin we could hear everything the guests next to us. When I told the front desk about the unwelcome 1 am wake up call she didn't do anything. I would have expected some kind of discount or something for the next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I am extremely sorry for your bad sleeping experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Express-Gunnison. A wake up call in the middle of the night is unacceptable and we apologize for the rude awakening. We truly appreciate your comments on the issues you experienced at our hotel. We have addressed the issues and hope to have you again sometime in the future. If there is anything we can do to accommodate you better when you arrive next time, just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed one night on a long driving trip. Exactly as we expect a Holiday Inn, especially a new one, to be. Plus it had a guest laundry, which was clean and a blessing. Hot breakfast okay, a bit below some of the other similar chains, but they did have an automated pancake machine. Great fun, although the pancakes were just okay.

Room Tip: faces the main road, but we didn't find the noise a problem. So all same priced rooms are proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear that you were able to appreciate the guest laundry. Guest laundry can be quite helpful when it is really needed. I will talk with our General Manager about your views on our breakfast. Maybe there is something we can do with regards to changing vendors or changing some of the breakfast choices. We would have to follow the Holiday Inn Express brand choices. I appreciate that you took the time to share with us about your stay. Thank you so very much.
Autumn Boomershine
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great hotel in Gunnison, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and had games in the lobby that you can play after a long day traveling. Breakfast was also good. The room was large and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob4955, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for such a great review for our hotel! It is great to hear such nice comments about our staff and the accommodations you experienced while visiting Gunnison. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you again!

Laney Burns
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison

Address: 910 E Tomichi Ave & Adams, Gunnison, CO 81230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gunnison
#5 Family Hotel in Gunnison
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnison's newest and finest accommodations with 107 hotel rooms, including 4 two room suites and balcony suites with over sized tubs and steam showers. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison is located just off Highway 50 and features a complimentary airport shuttle between 7AM and 7PM for the Gunnison/Crested Butte Regional Airport. Our hotel has interior corridors with rooms on the first, second, and third floors. We do offer a COMPLIMENTARY, FULL HOT BREAKFAST featuring our cinnamon rolls, eggs, bagels, oatmeal, and cold/hot beverages. Our hotel does not have a restaurant, but it is located less than a mile from downtown and most restaurants, and several restaurants deliver to our site. We have a pantry stocked with drinks, snacks, and frozen meals that is open for guests' purchases at all hours. We also provide in room coffee/tea, MICROWAVE, and REFRIGERATOR. All of our rooms have new flat screen, HD TVs, HBO, and DVD players with a free DVD rental located in our pantry and RedBox rentals immediately adjacent to our property. We also have FREE WIRELESS INTERNET throughout the hotel and in guests' rooms. Our onsite services include our FITNESS CENTER with cardio equipment, indoor JACUZZI, and the largest heated INDOOR POOL in town. We have an ONSITE LAUNDRY room and offer off-site dry cleaning services. We do have a BUSINESS CENTER with computers and a printer, and our staff is more than willing to make copies or send faxes per the guests' request. We have meeting space available to accommodate 10-50 people as well as a conference room. Our staff here is friendly and eager to provide recommendations to you during your stay, including Gunnison's best dining locations and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gunnison Hotel Gunnison
Holiday Inn Gunnison
Gunnison Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.