We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Holiday Motel

Save Saved
You added Long Holiday Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Holiday Motel
1198 West US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Gunnison
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stopped in Gunnison on a road trip around southwestern CO. This was our last night. I wasn't expecting much, but this place was great. It was a pretty simple motel, but the rooms were exceptionally clean.

I was impressed with the beds, TV, Microwave, fridge, wood furniture and cleanliness. The owner/operator was extremely friendly also. There was no pool and no free breakfast, but for the price, this place was great.

We ordered some pizza for our last night and hung out in front of our room sitting in chairs and talked to some neighbors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder area, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Other reviews nailed it. Friendly , easy to find, very clean and warm hospitality. And if you are so inclined, you can walk to the river and fish. Super value and very comfortable place. Proprietor is also very accommodating.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I loved the place. So clean, and the owners so friendy. Nice things you don't find in an average motel - very nice sheets and towels, cute decorations, nice chairs outside, beautiful flowers on the porch. However some glaring defects that can't be ignored no matter how nice the above: the plumbing and walls are thin so you hear all the adjoining flushes/ showers all night and the neighbors' TVs blaring. Plus no hair dryer in the room (who packs them anymore?). But I did like the place a lot. Really want to give 5 stars. I guess those are the things you give up for the great price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this motel in 2011 and this year 2012 as well. The rooms are always very clean and the staff is very friendly. For those of you that are fisherman/woman the motel is right across the street from excellent fishing spot on the river. The motel is very dog friendly for those who like to travel with them. Some of the amenities that your chains have are missing, but the value exceeds the inconvenience to keep this motel up to it's high standards. Quaint and homey feeling to say the least and I would highly recommend this motel to anyone stay in the Gunnison area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr, michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This motel has been nicely redone. I loved the colors of the room and bathroom. However the bed was very uncomfortable and the AC very loud. Also the towels were not white but a lovely shade of avocado which though nice to look at, the face wash I use has peroxide in it and I'm afraid there was some bleaching of the hand towel. The owner is great and super cheerful and provides cookies and coffee in the office starting at 6am! Super clean motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night here on our way to Cortez, Colorado. We had ample time on this return visit to the delightful mountain town of Gunnison, so after a brief tour of the area, we returned to our room with food and wine, taking advantage of the chairs outside our room and splendid weather to enjoy the view of the Hartman Rocks Recreation Area. The Gunnison River flows beautifully just 20 yards or so away (though not visible from the motel), and a bike/hike trail passes in front of the motel, following the river and heading toward Hartman Rocks. One could bicycle from the motel to Hartman Rocks, which is a gorgeous area. (http://www.blm.gov/co/st/en/fo/gfo/recreation_information/hike-info/hike-trails/hartman.html) The other reviewers here accurately describe this motel. Nothing fancy here, but If you're looking for value and clean, basic comfort, the Long Holiday Motel will serve you well.

Room Tip: We selected a two-bed room and found it to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, NC 28607
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had selected this little motel due to very good reviews on TripAdvisor. We arrived in this town much earlier than anticipated, but the delightful owner said, no problem. She was just wonderful and takes such pride in her motel. We had an end room with two beds. There is also a little bar with two stools. All of this and the headboards were handcarved. No white sheets here. Wonderful new sage colored sheets and seemingly new towels. The place was exceptionally clean and the price was much less than other nearby places. Our schedule got changed a little, and we could only stay one night. We picked up some picnic food and drove about 15 minutes away to the Blue Mesa lake and picnicked. If ever through this area again, I most definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Holiday Motel

Address: 1198 West US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home and relax at our Inn with a personal touch and created with your comfort in mind. Affordable and newly remodeled rooms with brand new beds, showers and AC. Each room is beautifully appointed and includes refrigerators, microwaves, Cable-TV, and phones. Sweet table and fresh coffee is always waiting for you in the morning... Come visit us and enjoy the scenery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Long Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Holiday Hotel Gunnison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Holiday Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.