We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fall Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Acres Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Acres Resort Motel
Save
You added Island Acres Resort Motel to your Saves list
38339 US Hwy 50, Gunnison, CO 81230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Gunnison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Fall Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an AWESOME place to stay. Very quiet. Always a clean room to return to every night. Very Comfortable bed. And in the early morning you might get to see a family of Deer running through the property. I enjoyed watching Pam & Tim and some of the other guest sit around the fire pit, Enjoying the cool evening and enjoying all the stars. I must say we will be back. Thanks again for a GREAT stay..♥

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Island Acres Motel is probably the best experience I have had. The place was clean, comfortable and the beds and pillows were wonderful. Pam will get you anything you need. In our case we really didn't need anything. Just help with our WiFi. Fully equiped with dishes, pot and pans, flat ware, you name it. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All one level. The units on the east side are more shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy that Island Acres worked out well for you. And please do come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed there a week. It was the best. Great rates, clean, nice big rooms. The rooms have kitchens with everything you need. The owners and employees are friendly and will go out of their way to take care of all your needs. The setting is peaceful and relaxing. It is centrally located. We took a scenic trip everyday. It was so relaxing to return everyday to Island Acres. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy that Island Acres worked out well for you. And yes, please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnhart, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed overnight here after spending a day at Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. It looked very inviting as we turned into the shaded drive and the first impression continued as we saw our cabin. Our unit had a full kitchen, table and chairs and a very comfortable king bed. It is an older resort but that adds to the charm of the place. Needless to say it is well maintained. The staff was friendly, helpful and easy to talk with. We enjoyed it so much we would like to go back for an extended stay in the near future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetman, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family of 4 was taking our annual trip up to Colorado and had a wonderful stay at this small and quaint roadside Motel. We pulled in with our car over heating and had a very nice room within minutes. They allowed us to check out the rooms first and pick the one we liked the best considering we had 4 people staying. The rooms were very clean, neat, and the beds were very comfortable. We opened up the windows and let the fresh mountain air in and enjoyed the area around the motel as well. We made a campfire at night with wood provided by the motel. We were going to stay two nights because of the car trouble, but we got the car moving again and headed on our way. We would definitely stay here again, due to the friendliness of the staff, the cabin-like feel, comfort of the rooms, and the cleanliness. There was a river near the motel that we enjoyed as well. All in all a wonderful stay!!! Highly recommend this little Colorado gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannover
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we had been camping all over the west mainly in the back country. this would be our last night before flying out of denver; so we looked for something special in the sense of accommodating our wish for small and authentic, quiet and having character, having the pleasures of showers etc conmbined with the feel of outside, nature, and camp.... we found all that together with great people in the island acres resort. we just loved the approach of eco-friendly combined with people friendly; the privacy together with the intimateness we entered with the owners in just 24hrs. we chose the latest acquired house in the back, an old farm home i believe and it was just perfect with its front porch for unpacking, the large double room and comfortable bed. under the trees in front of the house we 'celebrated' our last bbqed steak at the table and chairs provided and got easily together with a fellow traveller next door. we then moved over to the big fire the owners made under even more big old trees that give the whole property this very nature-set feel even though it isn't in the woods but easily accessible from the road to denver. what made tis resort a real hit for us were the friendly open owners and their way of handling things and people. we left our camp gear and food we could not take along for the student workers they employ and could discard other things in separate bins for plastic, metal, etc (something very much a matter of heart for europeans ;-)). all in all we could not have found a better place to have a farewell night and we are still very grateful the people at island resort created and keep that place the way it is. THANKS!

Room Tip: forgot the house/room number but it is the little wooden log house set back behind the others with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our first trip to Gunnison for vacation and Island Acres is pet friendly. The rooms are retro 50's, rustic, and clean. Beds are very comfortable. The staff is friendly, professional, and very helpful. The off season pricing makes the units a good value. Being on the edge of Gunnison, the location is quiet and readily accessible to downtown Gunnison. Very good TV and Internet signals. Pet fee is $10 nightly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Acres Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Acres Resort Motel

Address: 38339 US Hwy 50, Gunnison, CO 81230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Acres Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.