We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet for American dining in Gunnison. Good food, lots of local color.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ol Miner Steakhouse

Ol Miner Steakhouse
139 N Main St, Gunnison, CO 81230-2330
970-641-5153
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 46 Restaurants in Gunnison
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Phone number = (970) 641-5153
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best bet for American dining in Gunnison. Good food, lots of local color.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've dined at most of the Gunnison restaurants. Garlic Mike's is good for Italian (although a little expensive and a little full of itself). Twisted Fork does a commendable job on Asian. But some nights you just want a good steak or burger and some local color. The Ol Miner is that place. It's located right in the main block of downtown. The decor is an updated interpretation of western: plank floors, knotty pine walls, animal mounts on the wall. The bar and dining area are one large room--which keeps things lively. The owners (a former NFL player and avid hunting enthusiast and his wife) are usually working on-site and they seem very involved, conversing with the locals and out-of-towners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    61
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

4 of us had dinner there in September. Food was good, hot and as advertised. Had their Filet and it was very good. The service was a little slow, but all in all a decent place to have dinner. Prices were average.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Neat Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My hubby and I enjoyed the" Miner" decor of the place, as well as the wide variety of food choices. Friendly staff. Good food. I really enjoyed the Mushroom Swiss Burger, my husband liked his Buffalo Burger. Price was average, not too bad. Good location as well. I would def visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest usa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nothing fancy, just a big saloon-type atmosphere. My husband ordered trout and said it was delicious and he is a picky fish eater; most places overcook their fish. I had shrimp. Yes, we were in a steakhouse and didn't have steak, but did enjoy our meal. The waitress was a student at the local college and was friendly and courteous. This appeared to be a place the locals enjoy as many people knew each other.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Recommended by Motel Owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

And we were glad to have followed their advice! Located in the heart of the business district, it was obvious that this restaurant is heavily supported by the "locals". Our steaks were seasoned just right and cooked exactly the way we had ordered them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ol Miner Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ol Miner Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol Miner Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.